Jump to content

Photo

Full Color ANSI VBXE terminal in the works

Terminal Emulator ANSI VBXE 80 columns 16 color

52 replies to this topic

#1 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Sun May 4, 2014 9:55 AM

Sometime last year, I realized what great potential the VBXE has for BBS'ers. Having a full 256 character font, 80 columns, and the potential to support 8 background and 16 foreground colors means it could be used for a full ANSI/ECMA-48 terminal emulator.

 

Right now, I have a demo program which does 80 column 16 color text on VBXE, with an IBMPC font (lots of ANSI BBS'es assumed this font for the extended graphics characters), interprets ASCII control codes (otherwise known as the C0 control character set as defined by the ECMA) and I just got scrolling done yesterday. It reads from a file right now, rather than an R: device.

 

So I have zipped up the files with the source (don't copy without crediting me please) and put them here for people to see.

Attached Files



#2 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Sun May 4, 2014 10:34 AM

NOW I Suddenly want the XBXE and somehow make it work with my incogneto.  :)

 

Can you supply pictures of this in action?   Show some screen shots of the Prison Board if you don't mind at telnet://rdfig.net

 

Truly great news!



#3 venom4728a OFFLINE  

venom4728a

    Dragonstomper

  • 607 posts

Posted Sun May 4, 2014 6:20 PM

This is going to be awesome. 



#4 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:48 PM

I've done some more work. The terminal now reads from R1: at 9600 baud. It also accepts keyboard input. The extent of the testing I've done with it is to run it in altirra and log in to irc.atarinet.com (port 400) which is a pure ASCII text gateway to the ##Atari IRC channel on the Freenode IRC network. Attached is an ATR, the program to run is ANSIVBXE.XEX

Attached Files



#5 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:54 PM

So, anyone get a VBXE to work in a beige 800 yet?  :)



#6 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,556 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:58 PM

So, anyone get a VBXE to work in a beige 800 yet?  :)

Clu - I just got a plasma cutter.  I bet I get to be first :)



#7 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Sun Sep 14, 2014 12:02 PM

Since I don't yet have ANSI support, there aren't too many pages that look right, but here are a couple screenshots from the prison board BBS for doctorclu.

EDIT: forgot VBXE screen shot scaling was weird, but you get the idea (640x192 is a pretty odd ratio)

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1.png
  • 2.png

Edited by Joey Z, Sun Sep 14, 2014 12:03 PM.


#8 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,802 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sun Sep 14, 2014 12:06 PM

Joey: enable interlace in Altirra and the screengrabs will come out right.

EDIT: took the liberty.

post-27376-0-86913300-1410717752.png

post-27376-0-96960600-1410717763.png

Looks great. :)

Edited by flashjazzcat, Sun Sep 14, 2014 12:13 PM.


#9 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:13 PM

Changes:

improved keyboard input (no more dropped keypresses as far as I can tell)

improved reception of characters: Before, I was calling CIO twice for each character, first to check if there were any characters ready to be read, and the next to get just one character. This was only ever intended to be temporary. Now, I check if there are characters, and read a whole buffer (up to 255) and thus reduce the time used in CIO calls. It's MUCH faster now. Running in altirra, I get over 70kbaud (took 4.88 seconds for 35K to scroll by). That was just purely normal characters though, I can't say what would happen if some of those were control characters, and what it'll be like when I finally add support for ANSI escape sequences.

Attached Files



#10 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,144 posts
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:17 PM

So, anyone get a VBXE to work in a beige 800 yet?  :)

That's what I want, as a companion for my Incognito.  A VBXE/Rapidus combo CPU card would be AWESOME:) But, I don't expect miracles.  Just an easy way, probably using a ribbon cable, and put the VBXE somewhere in the empty space inside the 800's case.  Run the cable out the back where the RF cable was, to avoid cutting holes.



#11 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:47 PM

I'm just glad this is still being played with.   Looks good overall!



#12 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:12 AM

New features:
FULL COLOR SUPPORT!!
yep, finally got that implemented... It's not only the first ANSI/ECMA 48 control sequence I've implemented, it's also the only one.
 

Attached Files


Edited by Joey Z, Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:28 AM.


#13 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,214 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:56 AM

This looks awesome and the 8bit BBS crowd has deserved it for a very long time.

 

Huzzah! :)



#14 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Tue Mar 24, 2015 10:52 AM

That video shows almost flawless ANSI terminal emulation.  Now I have two dilemas:

 

1) Get the Incogneto where I can use serial connections for an extended period of time without flaking out. (Part of the reason I don't use the Incogneto for BBSing)

 

2) Get the VBXE to work with the Incogneto.

 

But it is nice to see that the 8 bit Atari has good color ANSI option now.



#15 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:16 PM

so I just found a major bug thanks to gozar. There was a line in the source: lda 0. It was supposed to be lda #0. This prevented the program from working on most OS'es, this has probably been a problem for quite some time. Anyway, it's fixed now, so here's the latest ATR.

Attached Files



#16 Synthpopalooza OFFLINE  

Synthpopalooza

    Stargunner

  • 1,440 posts
  • Location:knoxville, TN

Posted Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:50 PM

Another interesting idea ...

 

PETASCII emulation, for calling those old Commodore 64 BBSes ... always wanted my Atari to be able to do that. :)



#17 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:54 PM

PETASCII!!!   That would rock!



#18 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:37 PM

update: rearranged the memory map a bit and got everything to run in 16K only. Probably better this way anyway.

Attached Files



#19 JoSch OFFLINE  

JoSch

    Moonsweeper

  • 425 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:07 AM

Would it be possible to separate the ANSI character stuff as a library?



#20 a8isa1 OFFLINE  

a8isa1

    Stargunner

  • 1,371 posts

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:17 AM

update: rearranged the memory map a bit and got everything to run in 16K only. Probably better this way anyway.

I got a chuckle from this.  I wondered who might take the time to install a VBXE yet leave the machine at 16K.

 

However, congrats and thanks for all your successes with VBXETERM.



#21 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:17 AM

Thanks to a8isa1 for continually complaining and finding a bug :twisted:

But seriously though, thanks for pushing me about the differences you saw between linux telnet and my terminal on DarkForce BBS. I did uncover a bug in the code for the color interpretation routines. I had a slightly misplaced label one line down from where it should have been, causing 1 digit parameters in a Set Graphics Rendition control sequence to partially combine with any previous parameters and fail miserably. For example, a control sequence like (esc)[33;1;44m (set foreground color to yellow, bold/high intensity foreground, background to blue) was being interpreted as if it were 33;31;44, set foreground to yellow, set foreground to red, set background to blue.

 

So here's the latest revision.

 

And if anyone else finds anything amiss in any way, let me know, it's probably a bug or a feature that hasn't been added yet (or even a feature I didn't think to add, but might consider). I'll take constructive criticism (I'll probably need it for the software to be successful).

Attached Files


Edited by Joey Z, Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:25 AM.


#22 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:27 AM

Would it be possible to separate the ANSI character stuff as a library?

In what way? You mean to use in a different program? Possibly, but don't count on my doing it for you. Eventually I'll put up all the source, once I figure out how I want to do licensing. Keep in mind, it's all assembly code, so it could turn out to be more implementation specific than you thought and not be very useful as a separate module.



#23 917k OFFLINE  

917k

    Chopper Commander

  • 135 posts
  • Location:West Coast, USA

Posted Tue Mar 31, 2015 12:49 AM

Does this support smooth scrolling?



#24 JoSch OFFLINE  

JoSch

    Moonsweeper

  • 425 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:40 AM

In what way? You mean to use in a different program? Possibly, but don't count on my doing it for you. Eventually I'll put up all the source, once I figure out how I want to do licensing. Keep in mind, it's all assembly code, so it could turn out to be more implementation specific than you thought and not be very useful as a separate module.

Yes, that's what I meant. And your answer is what I feared ;-)

So, I have to look at it, when you release the code.



#25 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 874 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Wed Apr 1, 2015 9:32 AM

Does this support smooth scrolling?

not yet, I'm more concerned with getting it to work properly than making it look nice right now. I've taken another break from work on it (except fixing any bugs that are found) since I'm back at University now and I have other work to do. But I'll consider adding it later for sure, if it doesn't prove to be a speed detriment (and if it does, then I'll probably just have a way to turn it off).







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Terminal Emulator, ANSI, VBXE, 80 columns, 16 color

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users