IGNORED

Any 2600 titles from back in the day still impressive?

OldSchoolRetroGamer

That is to say, we all have our favorites and 2600 titles that impressed us back in the day. Now, I am no programmer and know very little about such things which is exactly why I figured with the game players, programmers, coders etc both old and new on these boards this was the best place to ask:

1. Which games from back in the day, from the debut to the original life span before "The Crash" for lack of a better term, were not only impressive when they originally appeared but in your opinion(s) are STILL at least as impressive today?

I ask this because have been here a long time and being a fan of the system, reading many posts about the pressure of games development and the time restraints etc, as well as knowing that today homebrew programmers have great talent, tools, time etc to hone their skills and tweak titles to perfection or at least to their satisfaction do ANY of the old titles form back in the day STILL impress? I mean of course from a technical standpoint not just nostalgic or sentimental impressions. If you DO consider a title technically impressive still to this day then why?

As always, thanks for your opinions, comments and consideration.

I'd have to say I was impressed with Star Raiders when I first saw it and managed to get a copy. It was amazing. You actually used a keypad to control your spaceship's functions like shields, map, and warping. The added element made the whole "I'm flying in a spaceship" that much more believable.

• Like 3

I know this is probably not the first game in anyone's mind, but...

Laser Blast by Activision

The first time I owned this title I was impressed with how DIFFERENT it was from any other space game I had at the time. It was fast past, and later levels when your saucer is pushed all the way to the top of the screen, you have to move and shoot like a pro. Besides, how many games had you in a saucer? Just too cool. :D