Jump to content

Photo

Jaguar AV Mod - Why?

jaguar av mod

18 replies to this topic

#1 xucaen OFFLINE  

xucaen

    Stargunner

  • 1,261 posts
  • Paying bills...
  • Location:Massachusetts

Posted Fri May 23, 2014 8:57 AM

I started seeing information on the web about modifying the Jaguar with AV outputs. Why would anyone do that if the Jaguar already outputs composite video? I plan on getting an AV cable and plugging into the back. Isn't that preferred over hacking the console?  :?



#2 82-T/A OFFLINE  

82-T/A

    River Patroller

  • 4,415 posts
  • Location:Texas

Posted Fri May 23, 2014 11:36 AM

I started seeing information on the web about modifying the Jaguar with AV outputs. Why would anyone do that if the Jaguar already outputs composite video? I plan on getting an AV cable and plugging into the back. Isn't that preferred over hacking the console?  :?

 

 

Well, it might be because the cables are hard to come by. The Jaguar only came with the RF switchbox. They sold the extra cables... RCA or S-Video as sort of an extra way of making a little bit of money. I know that the S-Video cables are getting harder and harder to find though (original ones that is). But yeah... unless it's SCART, which is different.



#3 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,168 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sat May 24, 2014 4:14 AM

Best Electronics has AV cables , I know I wouldn't get that AV mod!

Edited by walter_J64bit, Sat May 24, 2014 4:16 AM.


#4 Willard OFFLINE  

Willard

    Stargunner

  • 1,340 posts

Posted Sat May 24, 2014 3:00 PM

all i can think of is that the original cables are a little annoying because of their fixed length. If you want to run an AV cable over longer distances then it's either a mod or a custom built cable (or a cable extender which might compromise the quality).

 

I prefer the catbox / scatbox / external expansions personally but they are also a little bulky behind the system and may not be ideal for shelving arrangements and are presumably more expensive than the mod

 

only reason I'd personally mod my jaguar would be to get an digital audio output (just because of the way my particular combination of av equipment is set up).



#5 crusherbad64 OFFLINE  

crusherbad64

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Mon May 26, 2014 11:05 PM

I use RGB SCART on my Jaguar, with SCART to HDMI converter box. Man do the colors pop with SCART!



#6 Rex Dart OFFLINE  

Rex Dart

    Quadrunner

  • 6,658 posts
  • NO CASH VALUE
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted Mon May 26, 2014 11:14 PM

I started seeing information on the web about modifying the Jaguar with AV outputs. Why would anyone do that if the Jaguar already outputs composite video? I plan on getting an AV cable and plugging into the back. Isn't that preferred over hacking the console?  :?

 

 

Why bother getting a console-specific AV cable when you can use cables you already have?  What will you do when you can't find that one lone specialized (and often) home-made cable?

 

atarijaguar8ko.jpg


Edited by Rex Dart, Mon May 26, 2014 11:15 PM.


#7 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,728 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Tue May 27, 2014 6:29 AM

Meh, no RGB :P

#8 xucaen OFFLINE  

xucaen

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,261 posts
  • Paying bills...
  • Location:Massachusetts

Posted Tue May 27, 2014 7:27 AM

 

 

 

Why bother getting a console-specific AV cable when you can use cables you already have?  

 
You assume I have AV cables laying around. Every cable I own is being used. (Except for an HDMI cable I have still in the original package from a Blu Ray player because I already had one.)
 
 

 

 

What will you do when you can't find that one lone specialized (and often) home-made cable?

 

 

can't find a cable? what do you think I am, a monster?  :D



#9 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,361 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Tue May 27, 2014 7:34 AM

I like the idea of getting S-Video out of a Jag.  I think S-Video looks infinitely better that composite and would probably look so close that it would be hard to tell with the naked eye to the native 240p the jaguar is putting out for an RGB signal anyway..



#10 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,728 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Tue May 27, 2014 10:22 AM

On a CRT TV, the difference between S-video and RGB is noticeable. S-video looks great, but RGB is more crisp, especially on blue objects/text.

#11 marcio_napoli OFFLINE  

marcio_napoli

    Combat Commando

  • 7 posts

Posted Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:16 PM

Hi guys,
 
 
New to the forum, actually still have to buy my own Jag console.
 
 
This console is on my radar. 
 
 
It has been modified with AV mod.  Not sure what exactly that means...
 
 
 
Please take a look at the 5th image.
 
 
 
 
Do you know if this AV mod kills the RGB signal out?
 
 
 
I can only purchase it if RGB signal remains intact.
 
 
I ask this because in the case of N64, modifying it for RGB output kills the AV and S-Video out.
 
 
So who knows if this AV mod kills the Jag's RGB out...  Better ask before buying it.
 
 
Can anyone help me finding it out?
 
 
Thanks!


#12 madman OFFLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,799 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:24 PM

Highly unlikely, those signals are available on the A/V connector, they likely just added wires and put some RCA jacks in.



#13 jaybird3rd OFFLINE  

jaybird3rd

    Quadrunner

  • 9,078 posts
  • "Excuse me, sir? I have a question ..."
  • Location:806.4616.0110

Posted Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:28 PM

I don't get it, either.  Why mar the original console like that if the signals are right there on the A/V port?  Surely building a custom cable would be less trouble than drilling holes and mounting connectors.  I'm in the process of building an RGB cable for use with the Framemeister; the necessary 24-pin edge connectors are pretty cheap, especially if you buy in bulk.



#14 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,361 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:10 PM

Can I get the Jaguar modded for RF signal? I want a thick coax cable sticking right out the back!

#15 Gummy Bear ONLINE  

Gummy Bear

    Dragonstomper

  • 637 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:29 PM

Hi guys,
 
 
New to the forum, actually still have to buy my own Jag console.
 
 
This console is on my radar. 
 
 
It has been modified with AV mod.  Not sure what exactly that means...
 
 
 
Please take a look at the 5th image.
 
https://produto.merc...unico-no-ml-_JM
 
 
 
Do you know if this AV mod kills the RGB signal out?
 
 
 
I can only purchase it if RGB signal remains intact.
 
 
I ask this because in the case of N64, modifying it for RGB output kills the AV and S-Video out.
 
 
So who knows if this AV mod kills the Jag's RGB out...  Better ask before buying it.
 
 
Can anyone help me finding it out?
 
 
Thanks!




Welcome




to the









Forum! :)

#16 leech OFFLINE  

leech

    Stargunner

  • 1,276 posts

Posted Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:07 PM

Seriously, why? My set up is with a SCART cable which you can buy multiple places, and an OSSC. Looks / sounds brilliant on my 55" TV.

#17 marcio_napoli OFFLINE  

marcio_napoli

    Combat Commando

  • 7 posts

Posted Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:01 PM

Thanks everyone for the replies ^_^

 

Yeah, it's bizarre (to say the least) that anyone would AV mod a Jag, considering it already outputs RGB signal natively (which I guess is worlds better than AV).

 

I'm very afraid to buy this particular console only to find out the RGB signal has been killed by the mod...?

 

The reason I'm willing to take the risk is because this is particularly a "cheap" Jag, as far as prices go here in Brazil (consider the 2.2k price tag is in Brazilian currency - much weaker than USD).

 

An un-modded console here is north of 2.5k, which I guess I'll take a look at.

 

Ebay should be an option too, but most US and European sellers won't send it overseas, so maybe I'm stuck with local sellers afterall... :(



#18 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,728 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:59 AM

As madman said, there is really no reason for the RGB signal to be missing. Adding output jacks to the Jaguar is super easy (no need to remove or add any component), and doesn't involve the RGB part at all.

#19 Video OFFLINE  

Video

    Quadrunner

  • 9,279 posts
  • Location:Here

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:53 PM

Why mod? There was av, s video and rgb cables already made for it. I've got several of each, granted I bought bitd and they may now be prohibitively expensive, haven't checked in prices, but if someone is buying a jag at current prices, I doubt price is a real deterr ent.

Now if someone mods for vga, or HDMI, I could see that.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: jaguar, av mod

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users