IGNORED

Starting from zero: how to learn to program for Inty?

ghsqb

Hello everyone,

I've wanted to learn to program for the Inty for a long time, and I've actually kicked the tires a few times but got frustrated and went nowhere.

FWIW I've checked the Programming section of the forum, and I've tried to read the white papers, but even those assume some familiarity with programming as some of the terminology is way over my head with my present knowledge (or lack thereof).

With that said, is anyone able to suggest a jumping off point for a complete newb?

I don't mind reading and practising and learning, I'd just like to build up a bit of a foundation so that when I read the white paper and the SDK and STIC and other documentation, it is in a language I can understand.

I actually have two project ideas I would like to attempt but I don't even know if they are feasible owing to my lack of understanding of the technical aspects of the system.

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance.

• Like 2

You have seen IntyBasic Im sure....supposedly BASIC is an easier language to learn than Assemler?

http://intellivisionrevolution.com/intybasic

Right, I did see that. Again the issue is kind of getting an understanding of the hardware, it's limitations, the working environment.

Just by being a longtime member here I've learned about tiles and MOBs and Backtabs and GRAm and all that stuff, but until I learn how that all comes together and use the systems resources, I don't really see the point of starting to practice coding.

Or maybe I'm approaching it wrong?

I'm curious to know if it's best to learn the basics of assembly for another machine before learning assembly for Intellivision.

There should be many resources for other processors.

Maybe a good book to introduce the basics of assembly in a more popular and accessible machine would help...

^wrote by a non programmer...

• Like 1

That's an interesting point Lid, and you may be right.