Jump to content

Photo

Atari 600xl 320k Ram


12 replies to this topic

#1 Paul Westphal OFFLINE  

Paul Westphal

    Stargunner

  • 1,222 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 10:11 PM

Does anyone know that guy who used to make the 320 ram upgrade that plugged into the parallel port on he XE's? I'm looking for one for my 600xl build.

#2 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,229 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 10:41 PM

Ram 320XL from CTIRAD - not sure if he makes these anymore.  I got one a couple of years ago.

 

Ultimate 1 Meg can be another option, although you need to do the chip upgrade to 64K first.

 

http://lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=67

53 Euro - probably not a whole lot more expensive anyway, and has a whole bunch more built in and doesn't occupy the PBI port.


Edited by Rybags, Sun Jun 1, 2014 10:42 PM.


#3 Paul Westphal OFFLINE  

Paul Westphal

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,222 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Mon Jun 2, 2014 8:42 PM

One Meg is unnessassary. I have heard bad things about the 64k modules and they are too expensive.

#4 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,229 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Mon Jun 2, 2014 9:00 PM

The 64K upgrade on a 600XL costs next to nothing and takes 20 minutes.  The chips can be had from arcade suppliers, total probably under 5 bucks.

 

1 Meg might be "unnecessary" but all up it's easily the best value for money, plus is minimal in required modifications compared to most other >64K upgrades.



#5 MAC-42 OFFLINE  

MAC-42

    Moonsweeper

  • 251 posts
  • Location:The west coast of the east coast of North America

Posted Fri Jun 6, 2014 3:51 PM

One Meg is unnessassary. I have heard bad things about the 64k modules and they are too expensive.

 

The 64K upgrade on a 600XL costs next to nothing and takes 20 minutes. 

Paul, are you referring to the 1064 RAM module that plugs into the PBI?  If I can resurrect the 600XL I picked up, I'm going Rybags's route and just replacing the RAM internally.  The 64kb upgrade looks like something even I can accomplish, and the cost is fractional as compared to the 1064.



#6 MAC-42 OFFLINE  

MAC-42

    Moonsweeper

  • 251 posts
  • Location:The west coast of the east coast of North America

Posted Fri Jun 6, 2014 4:00 PM

1 Meg might be "unnecessary" but all up it's easily the best value for money, plus is minimal in required modifications compared to most other >64K upgrades.

 

Here's a question, by the way.  Apart from having an enormous RAM disk, what is the utility of any upgrades beyond, say, 128k?  This is stuff that, like the work I'm trying to do bringing my 600XL back to life, I've read about and understand the theoretical basis for, but I really don't know anything about in practical terms.  Any ideas?



#7 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 3,893 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Sat Jun 7, 2014 6:37 PM

 

Here's a question, by the way.  Apart from having an enormous RAM disk, what is the utility of any upgrades beyond, say, 128k?  This is stuff that, like the work I'm trying to do bringing my 600XL back to life, I've read about and understand the theoretical basis for, but I really don't know anything about in practical terms.  Any ideas?

 

I agree there is not a lot of utility in huge ramdisks.  It is useful (sometimes) to have enough expanded ram to copy single and double-density disks.  256K or 320K is plenty for most uses. 

 

The Ram320 XL is a really neat device, and (was) quite inexpensive.  How easy!  Plug and play with no extra boards and cables running around in your XL/XE.  Would have been great to have the PBI pass-thru, but still really useful.  Bet Ctirad could sell another bunch if he made another run. 

 

One of my favorite combinations is an Internal MyIDE + the Ram320 XL.  The recent MyIDE releases are very fast and you always have the option of using the stock XL/XE OS using the "fail safe" OS or flashing the MyIDE portion with something else if you need Omnimon, etc. for instance. 

 

-Larry



#8 dkerfoot OFFLINE  

dkerfoot

    Chopper Commander

  • 105 posts
  • Location:Holland, MI

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:44 PM

Resurrecting an old post.  

I have a ctirad RAM320-XL with case and pigtail.  

$50 shipped within the US.

-Doug



#9 slx OFFLINE  

slx

    Stargunner

  • 1,189 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:50 PM

Resurrecting an old post.  

I have a ctirad RAM320-XL with case and pigtail.  

$50 shipped within the US.

-Doug

 

AFAIK the RAM320XL will not work on a 600 unless it has been upgraded to 64K internally. Did you by chance try that?



#10 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,658 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:06 PM

Resurrecting an old post.  

I have a ctirad RAM320-XL with case and pigtail.  

$50 shipped within the US.

-Doug

I love fixing this stuff I'll take it.. pm sent



#11 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 5,680 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:28 PM

Damn it.  Missed it by *that much*!  If The Doctor changes his mind, I will buy the 320MXL module in a heartbeat.



#12 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,658 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:44 PM

Nope I didn't get it either, like most things it's going over the big pond (Atlantic Ocean)...  I'm not fast enough, I think people have scripts that react to certain letting it go selling $ type filters...


Edited by _The Doctor__, Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:48 PM.


#13 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 5,680 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:50 PM

Too bad for both of us then. :(

It seems like maybe this is a project that could really warrant another production run.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users