Jump to content

Photo

AtGames Sega flashback ?

firecore sega atgames flashback

73 replies to this topic

#51 108 Stars OFFLINE  

108 Stars

    River Patroller

  • 2,277 posts
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany

Posted Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:37 PM

Ah, I see. Good to know. Thanks for keeping us informed then. :)
As I said, we had some contact with them around 2009 or 2010 concerning putting Pier Solar on their systems, but their hardware was lacking back then and it would have required quite a few adjustments to the game. Our coder visited some office of theirs in China.

I am in general all for the new incarnations of old consoles. It helps keeping the classic games alive, so I also hope for all stuff of that sort to thrive and improve over time.

#52 Bill Loguidice OFFLINE  

Bill Loguidice

    Quadrunner

  • 7,248 posts
  • Armchair Arcade Managing Director
  • Location:Burlington, New Jersey, USA

Posted Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:42 PM

Yep, they have several offices and I believe the engineering is done separately from corporate. In any case, I won't say more publicly about Pier Solar and the future, but certainly I see good potential going forward, even if it's not in the form everyone might expect.



#53 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    [EXPLETIVE DELETED]

  • 15,732 posts
  • HOLY SWEARING CUSS!

Posted Mon Oct 6, 2014 4:58 AM

Bill, were you referring to the ps4 version of Pier Solar there? Or something else?

#54 Bill Loguidice OFFLINE  

Bill Loguidice

    Quadrunner

  • 7,248 posts
  • Armchair Arcade Managing Director
  • Location:Burlington, New Jersey, USA

Posted Mon Oct 6, 2014 7:08 AM

Bill, were you referring to the ps4 version of Pier Solar there? Or something else?

 

Something else with AtGames.



#55 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,563 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:34 PM

So I received the Firecore Passport SD<>Sega Flashback cartridge the other day. And it works! 

 

Only thing is… all of the titles in the menu have a space (line break) between them. In other peoples' vids and pics, I haven't seen this phenomenon. 

 

Anyone know what might be up? I've tried shortening titles down to just a few letters to no avail. 

 

My cart came from Argentina and is called the Firecore Passport. I noticed on AtGames' site, they call it a Mega Expert Passport. Wonder what the difference is, besides the foil sticker? Oh… my cart also doesn't seem to have the extra 12 lame games on it. lol 

 

Someone in the comments section talked about some kind of a screen that explained how to use the cartridge - my cart definitely does not have that feature. 



#56 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    [EXPLETIVE DELETED]

  • 15,732 posts
  • HOLY SWEARING CUSS!

Posted Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:46 PM

Try using title case with no spaces on your SD card files, and avoid funny characters. Format the names like this:

 

AlteredBeast 

will come out on the menu as

ALTERED BEAST

 

That's how it is on the portable, which is pretty much the same thing as this, I think. Also check out this Russian page for a utility to add screenshots. Use Chrome for a translation if you can't read Russian.  :D



#57 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,563 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:54 PM

Try using title case with no spaces on your SD card files, and avoid funny characters. Format the names like this:

 

AlteredBeast 

will come out on the menu as

ALTERED BEAST

 

That's how it is on the portable, which is pretty much the same thing as this, I think. Also check out this Russian page for a utility to add screenshots. Use Chrome for a translation if you can't read Russian.  :D

 

Cool - I'll try the edited text/filenames, but no go on that program to add screenshots. No PeeCee or Windoze disposable garbage here! Even about to ditch Apple next.   :rolling:



#58 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    [EXPLETIVE DELETED]

  • 15,732 posts
  • HOLY SWEARING CUSS!

Posted Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:57 PM

Yeah, you can edit the file names on anything. I haven't messed with the menu program, either, it looks like a PITA. I would not be averse to using someone else's pre-digested menu file, though!



#59 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,563 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Sun Oct 12, 2014 4:51 PM

Yeah, you can edit the file names on anything. I haven't messed with the menu program, either, it looks like a PITA. I would not be averse to using someone else's pre-digested menu file, though!

 

Yeah, I'm screwed. Only run Mac's at home and OSX must be doing something funky to the names by the time they're displayed on the Passport. A 'TEMP_' file is created on the SD card *after* you insert it into the Passport (not before and not an attribute of OSX upon ejecting the card) and fire it up. Using TextEdit to look at it, cross between text and some goofy character garbage. Might be able to edit that to display the names without line breaks, but is way too much work. 

 

Once again, guess I'll have to live with yet another compromise that doesn't live up to expectations. 



#60 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    [EXPLETIVE DELETED]

  • 15,732 posts
  • HOLY SWEARING CUSS!

Posted Sun Oct 12, 2014 4:54 PM

That's typical OSX behavior on an SD card. They should not get in the way if you empty the trash and delete it properly, I think.

#61 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,563 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:03 PM

That's typical OSX behavior on an SD card. They should not get in the way if you empty the trash and delete it properly, I think.

 

Tried that and even re-formatted the card. Also, interestingly, I deleted the extension after the name to no effect. No change at all. Passport still recognizes the games as what they are. 



#62 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    [EXPLETIVE DELETED]

  • 15,732 posts
  • HOLY SWEARING CUSS!

Posted Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:10 PM

Did you use .SMD or .BIN?
Do the rom files play at all?

#63 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,563 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:21 PM

Did you use .SMD or .BIN?
Do the rom files play at all?

 

Yes, as I said - doesn't matter if the extension is there or not. Games still play. Just dealing with a line break (space) between every game name in the menu. 



#64 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    River Patroller

  • 2,302 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Fri Oct 17, 2014 7:44 PM

I was really hoping they'd improve the emulation this time around.   I guess it hasn't really hurt their sales to date, so they haven't had a need to fix it. 



#65 jaybird3rd ONLINE  

jaybird3rd

    Quadrunner

  • 9,188 posts
  • "Excuse me, sir? I have a question ..."
  • Location:806.4616.0110

Posted Sat Oct 18, 2014 12:43 PM

I just picked up the AtGames Sega Genesis console (the one with 80 built-in games), and I gave it a test run for about thirty minutes.  Even though I was seated less than three feet from the console, the wireless controllers were intermittently unresponsive.  The graphics seemed okay, but the sound was way off: the music seemed to be a full octave lower than on the original hardware, making the games sound strangely off-key, and several of the sound effects were very harsh and distorted.  Because of the presence of the cartridge slot, I thought this unit might be using an integrated Genesis chipset like the Majesco Genesis 3 console, but it's clearly an emulator running on an SoC, probably the same one that AtGames is using in their other systems (EDIT: it's actually a Genesis-on-a-Chip; see Bill's post below).  There are a number of "A" titles among the built-in games (a good selection of Sonic games, etc), but also a lot of filler.

 

I think AtGames is going to have to make some substantial improvements, especially to the sound, before I'll pick up another of their Genesis systems.  In particular, I see no reason to own the handheld if the emulation isn't any better.



#66 Bill Loguidice OFFLINE  

Bill Loguidice

    Quadrunner

  • 7,248 posts
  • Armchair Arcade Managing Director
  • Location:Burlington, New Jersey, USA

Posted Sat Oct 18, 2014 2:05 PM

I just picked up the AtGames Sega Genesis console (the one with 80 built-in games), and I gave it a test run for about thirty minutes.  Even though I was seated less than three feet from the console, the wireless controllers were intermittently unresponsive.  The graphics seemed okay, but the sound was way off: the music seemed to be a full octave lower than on the original hardware, making the games sound strangely off-key, and several of the sound effects were very harsh and distorted.  Because of the presence of the cartridge slot, I thought this unit might be using an integrated Genesis chipset like the Majesco Genesis 3 console, but it's clearly an emulator running on an SoC, probably the same one that AtGames is using in their other systems.  There are a number of "A" titles among the built-in games (a good selection of Sonic games, etc), but also a lot of filler.

 

I think AtGames is going to have to make some substantial improvements, especially to the sound, before I'll pick up another of their Genesis systems.  In particular, I see no reason to own the handheld if the emulation isn't any better.

 

It's not technically an emulation, it's a Genesis on a chip. The only reason why the wireless controllers wouldn't be responsive is if you weren't pointing them at the infrared sensor on the console. Unfortunately, they require line of sight.

 

For the next revision - at least for the handheld - they'll be going away from the Genesis on a chip and into pure emulation. From what I've played of the test unit, it's a major improvement.



#67 jaybird3rd ONLINE  

jaybird3rd

    Quadrunner

  • 9,188 posts
  • "Excuse me, sir? I have a question ..."
  • Location:806.4616.0110

Posted Sat Oct 18, 2014 2:37 PM

Thanks for that information, Bill.  I'll follow the developments on the new emulation-based Genesis units.



#68 onmode-ky OFFLINE  

onmode-ky

    Dragonstomper

  • 836 posts

Posted Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:26 PM

EDIT: it's actually a Genesis-on-a-Chip; see Bill's post below


If you should be interested in my research into the background of AtGames' RedKid and RedKid 2 Genesis-on-a-chip implementations, take a look at my posts starting here and through the end of that topic. I think it's rather intriguing--but of course, I am the one who did the investigating and writing of my own volition. :P

onmode-ky

#69 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    Quadrunner

  • 6,854 posts
  • 5200 OE HSC Mod
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Sun Jul 12, 2015 5:57 PM

I just got one of these 80-in-1 versions and have learned a few things so far. Of all my controllers here, only the Sega-made ones seem to work as far as pug-ins are concerned. I only have about 20 original carts, but they all did work. The game save feature does not even appear in the game when you try. Example: John Madden football '93. The screen with "continue playoffs" does not even appear. The wireless controllers feel good, but are poor for fighting games like MK3 where precise button presses in sequence are needed. While the sound is a bit "off-key", the game play is just about perfect from what games I already had to compare with.

Not a true replacement for a Genesis, but is still a good buy.



#70 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    Quadrunner

  • 6,854 posts
  • 5200 OE HSC Mod
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:13 PM

Scratch that as the interanl ROM chip already failed in mine with only about 5 hours time on it. The cart reading function still works well, but internal games have died.



#71 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,563 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:27 PM

Scratch that as the interanl ROM chip already failed in mine with only about 5 hours time on it. The cart reading function still works well, but internal games have died.


Mine still all work, but I leave the Firecore cartridge plugged in at all times. Maybe with you inserting and removing cartridges, solder connection on that chip broke? Could always take it apart and heat the solder connections back up...

#72 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    Quadrunner

  • 6,854 posts
  • 5200 OE HSC Mod
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Sun Jul 19, 2015 6:49 PM

since I only played about 5 cart games, i doubt that is the issue. I'll stick to my new Chinese MD2 for future use.

The little PMP handhelds do a far better job and play on a TV as well too.


Edited by zylon, Sun Jul 19, 2015 6:50 PM.


#73 sn8k OFFLINE  

sn8k

    Chopper Commander

  • 238 posts

Posted Tue Jan 5, 2016 1:03 AM

Can anyone confirm if the mega passport runs on an original genesis?

#74 sn8k OFFLINE  

sn8k

    Chopper Commander

  • 238 posts

Posted Tue Jan 5, 2016 1:04 AM

Can anyone confirm if the mega passport runs on an original genesis?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: firecore, sega, atgames, flashback

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users