IGNORED

What system do you think is the easiest to create a game for?

AtariJack

Hi, I'm new to this whole thing and could use some help.

I've always wanted to make my own game but I'm not sure where I should focus my efforts or where to start.

Is it easier to program a game for the the 2600 or the NES?

Would I be better off trying to make something for the 7800?

I'd like to make like a physical cartridge for my game when it's all done. How difficult is that?

Which console is just a nightmare that I should stay away from?

I could really use some advice.

• Like 1

Whats "easy" depends on your technical background. Not all programmers are created equal, so what is "hard" for one is "easy" to another. First, a couple of questions. What computer languages can you program in? Do you have a computer science background? If the answer to those questions is "none" and "no" then you might have a steep learning curve ahead of you. This is a topic that crops up quite frequently on AA so a quick search will get you tons of good advice.

• Like 1

Strictly consoles, eh? If you consider classic home computers, something like the C64 despite its lack of BASIC commands to handle the graphics, sound and input might be a candidate. There may be other 8-bit home computers too, perhaps Atari's own 400/800/XL/XE line. The majority of computers took cartridges as well as other, cheaper storage media.

• Like 2

I think what this guy did is great...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Desert-Bus-2600-Atari-2600-Homebrew-by-CMS-/141349045403?pt=Video_Games_Games&hash=item20e90f449b

That's my dream.

He's got the game, the box, the manual. It's all put together so well.

Of course it doesn't HAVE to be the 2600.

If I could do the same thing with the 7800 or the NES then I'd seriously consider that.

If you just want your game in a neat box - make a PC game and do this:

yWMf6Eh.jpg

The floppies are mini-CD sleeves: )