Jump to content

Photo

Floppy disk copy protection on the TI?


48 replies to this topic

#26 atrax27407 ONLINE  

atrax27407

    Stargunner

  • 1,233 posts

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:16 AM

The idea of having a legally purchased copy of a piece of software and not being allowed to make a backup (I abhorred using the original on a daily basis) is what led to most of the hacking and defeat of protection schemes. Although I still have all of my purchased original copies of the MG programs, I use my backup copies for day-to-day operations. That was the motivation for the McGoverns to hack all of the MG programs - he refused to provide a backup for the original programs when asked.



#27 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,544 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:37 AM

I had huge arguments with people on protections that explained to them Registration was the number one reason Apple, Microsoft and everyone else adopted it.

 

Any other protection lead to that product eventual DEMISE!!!



#28 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:14 PM

My program is a Pascal program, with assembly support, running under the UCSD p-system. It only works with the CorComp controller.

If it's still interesting, I'm pretty sure I can find it.

 

 

I would be interested now that I have a P-code card :) you will just need to tell me how to get it to run!!

 

Many thanks!



#29 RickyDean ONLINE  

RickyDean

    Stargunner

  • 1,074 posts

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:35 PM

 

 

I would be interested now that I have a P-code card :) you will just need to tell me how to get it to run!!

 

Many thanks!

Me Too!!


  • RXB likes this

#30 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:38 AM

Videofx
Were you ever able to make a copy of advanced diagnostics?

#31 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:55 AM

Videofx
Were you ever able to make a copy of advanced diagnostics?

 

 

Sparky,

 

No go, I tried Copy-C and I get CRC error when it reads the disk. And Track-Hack reads the disk but I can't get it to write to anything.



#32 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:18 AM

If you'd like, I can make one up for. DS/SD if you wish.



#33 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:22 AM

If you'd like, I can make one up for. DS/SD if you wish.

 

 

Thanks, can you please tell me how you will make the copy? Its just I would like to learn how to do it :)

 

If there is no way for me to do it then I will take you up on your generous offer!!!


Edited by videofx, Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:23 AM.


#34 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:35 AM

I guess the first question I need to ask is what disk controller do you have?



#35 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 AM

The disk controller in my PEB is the corcomp. Could that be my problem? Should I replace it with my TI controller?



#36 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:53 AM

No, the Corcomp is just fine. Next question - Do you have 5.25 floppy drives set up as drive one and drive two?



#37 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:15 PM

Also. What are the capacity of your drives?

#38 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:55 PM

Also. What are the capacity of your drives?

 

 

I have a 360K DS/DD as Drive 1 and I have an external 360K DS/DD floppy as Drive 2. When I initialize a disk on drive 2  it initializes so I assume it is really drive 2



#39 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:01 PM

Attached File  DSKCOPIERS.DSK   360KB   9 downloads

 

ok, The above dsk is one I put together quite a ways back. It has just about every disk copier out there. Hopefully you can download, put on a real disk and get your copy made.

 

The disk is ds/dd.



#40 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:06 PM

Thanks! I will go to my PC and make a floppy. Can you guide me as to which to start with first?



#41 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:10 PM

I just made a copy of advanced diagnostics using track hack. Now, it will tell you it is unable to make a good copy when it ends, but the copy should be good. Take the freshly copied disk and see if AD will load. Im betting it will.

#42 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:14 PM

I just made a copy of advanced diagnostics using track hack. Now, it will tell you it is unable to make a good copy when it ends, but the copy should be good. Take the freshly copied disk and see if AD will load. Im betting it will.

 

 

I cant get track hack to write a disk. When I load it it says press any key. I press a key and then it starts copying. It copies 41 tracks. Then it ends. Then it says press any key again and this time the screen say put unformatted disk in drive 2. So I do that, it reads the disk in drive 1 and the motor on drive 2 starts but nothing is ever written to the disk



#43 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:16 PM

Are you using the disk I just uploaded?

#44 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:23 PM

No , I used the .bin file and put it on my finalgrom. Let me go make your disk



#45 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:58 PM

OK I made the disk and I dont know which to load first. Hack-Track I dont see unless its another name?



#46 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Stargunner

  • 1,072 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:02 PM

Its track hack 2.1. If you run from extended basic there is a LOAD file on the disk that will bring up a menu for you to select from.

#47 apersson850 OFFLINE  

apersson850

    Dragonstomper

  • 590 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:31 PM

 

 

I would be interested now that I have a P-code card :) you will just need to tell me how to get it to run!!

 

Many thanks!

Well, let's see what I can do during the upcoming holidays. Now I'm away on a business trip, so there wil be nothing for a while.

I did check it a while ago, and the files seem to be there, in working order. My copier consist of assembly support for four things:

  • Read a disk track, regardless of content.
  • Format a track, with any kind of sector numbers.
  • Read any sector number from a track.
  • Write to any sector number on a track.

Then there's a Pascal program, which uses these functions to read a disk track, analyze it, format a copy of it, read data in all sectors on the track and create copies of these sectors in the track on the output disk.

If I remember correctly, this was enough for Advanced diagnostics, but for Explorer the program had to be expanded to also handle unformatted storage in the tracks.

I'm pretty sure it worked with the WD 2793 disk controller chip on the CorComp card only.

 

I made this program before I had any knowledge of anybody else doing the same thing, so there may be better ways to copy the disks, created by other TI users. I know of come copiers that could handle one specific copy protected disk only. Like being able to copy AD, but nothing else. The good thing with my program was that it could handle any irregular sector numbering (a common trick to fool normal copiers) on its own, and create an identical copy.


Edited by apersson850, Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:31 PM.


#48 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:11 PM

Its track hack 2.1. If you run from extended basic there is a LOAD file on the disk that will bring up a menu for you to select from.

 

 

Yup, I ran that and it copied but wouldn't load and when I did a directory the LOAD and other files weren't there



#49 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Moonsweeper

  • 255 posts

Posted Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:17 PM

Well, let's see what I can do during the upcoming holidays. Now I'm away on a business trip, so there wil be nothing for a while.

I did check it a while ago, and the files seem to be there, in working order. My copier consist of assembly support for four things:

  • Read a disk track, regardless of content.
  • Format a track, with any kind of sector numbers.
  • Read any sector number from a track.
  • Write to any sector number on a track.

Then there's a Pascal program, which uses these functions to read a disk track, analyze it, format a copy of it, read data in all sectors on the track and create copies of these sectors in the track on the output disk.

If I remember correctly, this was enough for Advanced diagnostics, but for Explorer the program had to be expanded to also handle unformatted storage in the tracks.

I'm pretty sure it worked with the WD 2793 disk controller chip on the CorComp card only.

 

I made this program before I had any knowledge of anybody else doing the same thing, so there may be better ways to copy the disks, created by other TI users. I know of come copiers that could handle one specific copy protected disk only. Like being able to copy AD, but nothing else. The good thing with my program was that it could handle any irregular sector numbering (a common trick to fool normal copiers) on its own, and create an identical copy.

 

 

Cool, when ever you get a chance I would appreciate your help Thanks!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users