Jump to content

Photo

SIO2BT


236 replies to this topic

#51 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Tue Oct 28, 2014 9:29 AM

I have to flash the current ROM on my Atari if I want the bluetooth to communacate properly?

This is only partly the truth.
It is recommended to use a BT compatible OS, but many games can be loaded with a runtime patching approach, as described in the manual.

Edited by TheMontezuma, Tue Oct 28, 2014 9:30 AM.


#52 Sowden OFFLINE  

Sowden

    Star Raider

  • 89 posts

Posted Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:44 AM

Ah, I should have said it was the perfered way.  Sorry I misspoke.  Do you think there will be any video tutorials posted for these processes? :-)  I'm a visual learner.



#53 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:22 AM

I have not planned any videotutorials, but you will find a lot of screenshots in the manual :)

https://drive.google...blpUTFBsRW1iRUE



#54 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Sun Nov 2, 2014 12:42 PM

Just for information for those that have already installed SIO2BT App.

The new update (1.20) includes a fix for a problem reported on HTC Wildfire S.

To be honest I have reused some code from the official google code examples related to handling Bluetooth connections.

And exactly this code seems not to work correctly on some smartphones.

Anyway I have done some re-factoring and hopefully made it working for all devices :)

 

In the meantime I also got questions how to get games on the smartphone.

I can recommend a web page from FANDAL:

http://a8.fandal.cz/

 

In order to unzip the games on the smartphone, you will need a file explorer.

Hier my recommendation is the Total Commander app:

https://play.google.....TotalCommander

 

Could anybody please confirm if this link works for him?

https://drive.google...blpUTFBsRW1iRUE

Somebody has reported me that the link does not work and I would like to double check it.



#55 Xuel OFFLINE  

Xuel

    Dragonstomper

  • 601 posts
  • Location:US

Posted Sun Nov 2, 2014 12:58 PM

The link works for me. You have to click on the download button on the top to get the .zip file.



#56 Bunsen OFFLINE  

Bunsen

    Dragonstomper

  • 843 posts
  • Location:Dithmarschen/ Germany

Posted Sun Nov 2, 2014 12:59 PM


 

Could anybody please confirm if this link works for him?

https://drive.google...blpUTFBsRW1iRUE

Somebody has reported me that the link does not work and I would like to double check it.

Works for me.



#57 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:13 PM

In the meantime I got some PM questions, which I thought may be interesting for others:

> I think I will install it internally. I should mount a external switch to turn it off if need be?
> I was reading about how not to lose connection

Internal installation is a good idea. When you establish a bluetooth connection from your mobile phone to the BT module, you can power off the ATARI and you do not loose the connection. When you power it on again, the ATARI can immediately start loading games from the smartphone.

> or something like that or software on the bt can be erased?

Nothing will be erased, but if the bluetooth connection is not active (LED is blinking) and ATARI is writing data to a real floppy, data on the SIO bus can accidentally build a valid configuration string, which may recofingure the BT module.
That includes changing the name, changing the PIN code and changing the baud rate. The chance is very less, but it exists.
That's why I recommend to use the power switch and switch the BT module off whenever you use other SIO devices.

> So I need a certain file type to put into one or the 4 virtual drives the app has?

*.atr (atari disk images) or *.com, *.exe, *.xex (executable files)

> You can put 1 file per virtual disc?

Yes, you can put one disk per drive and the SWAP button allows quick changing.
Of course you can change disk to disk-drive assignment at any time.

#58 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,681 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:41 PM

Cant wait to try this out!

#59 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:13 PM

Cant wait to try this out!


Hi Jinks,
why don't you share your SIO2BT experience?

By the way, I have good news for you and for those who use SIO2BT with Stock OS.
At the moment you mount a special loader (XL_XE_XEGS.atr) as D1 and a game to be loaded as D2.
The loader copies the OS ROM to RAM, modifies SIO procedure and loads the game from D2.
My experience shows that 70% games can be loaded this way.

XXL is going to release a new small XBIOS loader (for Bluetooth) that will do the same + it will handle loading games that use RAM behind ROM!
Compability factor will be much higher. It is still under test, but the first results are very promising.
Stay tuned :)

Regards
Montezuma

#60 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,681 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:58 PM

Wow! Thats great news!

I have to say that right now on my 64kb 600xl it works almost flawless on any 50kb xex file and smaller.

I downloaded the app on android play store. Then I plugged in the blue tooth module into the sio ports and with the help of Montezuma I am able to play all sorts of games easily. ( he also has an excellent easy to understand manual as well in pdf form)
The kit gives you everything you need to mount it internally if you like.
Its great to try out demos and games from forum members. I tap download on my phone. click on the atari. blue tooth connects in less than 5 seconds on the self test screen then I put the patch file in drive 1 and a game in 2(there are 4 virtual drives) and then hit reset and it loads up. Currently like I was saying the xex files are working good. Go to fandals site for those(thanks fandal!) and a big thank you to Montezuma for creating this amazing product!

#61 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:23 AM

I recently got some questions and decided to post the answers here in forum, too.

> Why do I need to do the installation (external o internal) described in the manual? Isn't the SIO2BT. device enough?
> The same goes for getting a bluetooth transceiver,capacitor, power switch. etc. I thought I just needed to plug the
> SIO2BT into my Atari and it was ready for communicating via bluetooth device (Android Phone, PC, etc.) Is this so?

Maybe a little bit confusing is what I call SIO2BT: the BT Module (hardware for ATARI) and the Android App (software for a smartphone).
What you need is a small hardware module (which you can either connect externally or internally to ATARI), an Android smartphone with the App (or a PC with the BT dongle).

1) If you decide to connect the BT module externally, it fits into a SIO Plug, but you would need to mechanically adapt the plug.
You do not need any capacitor, power switch and diodes in this case (only the bluetooth transceiver itself).
The advantage is that you may reuse it with several ATARI computers.
The disadvantage is that you need to establish the bluetooth connection each time when you power on your ATARI.

2) If you decide to connect the BT module internally, you need all electronic parts mentioned above.
The advantage is that an established bluetooth connection remains active even if you power off your ATARI.

In both cases, you will achieve the best results if you have an OS switch (like Ultimate 1MB).
If you don't, you can stil load most of the games / demos (there is a small loader available in the project files).

> Also, can we already order SIO2BT? What'd be the price including shipping to Sydney?

Yes, if you are interested, you can send me 25 USD + 7 USD (shipping costs world wide with tracking).

You will get the BT module and everything required for connecting the BT module internally, but if you have a SIO plug you can of course make a bluetooth dongle for your ATARI (like you see it on my photos).
Just send me a private message with your shipping address and I will send you my PAYPAL address.

Merry Christmas
Montezuma


Download link for an app:
https://play.google....ontezuma.sio2bt

Download link for documentation and other software.
https://drive.google...blpUTFBsRW1iRUE


Edited by TheMontezuma, Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:27 AM.


#62 TheEditor OFFLINE  

TheEditor

    Chopper Commander

  • 161 posts

Posted Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:55 PM

I have to say I am completely impressed with this device.  I had an old Android phone I was going to just throw out as I had no use and it has no value.  Now it is an SIO device for my 130XE.  Completely awesome device.


Edited by TheEditor, Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:56 PM.


#63 TheEditor OFFLINE  

TheEditor

    Chopper Commander

  • 161 posts

Posted Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:46 PM

Did quite a bit of testing last night and so far about the only thing I cannot get to work is The Writer's Tool.



#64 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Mon Dec 29, 2014 9:48 AM

Hello Together,

I have an update relevant for SIO2BT users with original ATARI OS.

The link is the same:

 

https://drive.google...blpUTFBsRW1iRUE

 

The update includes:

- 4 additional loaders (600XL_SWAP.atr, 1200XL(a)_SWAP.atr, 1200XL(b)_SWAP.atr, XL_XE_XEGS_SWAP.atr)

- "XBIOS for bluetooth" loader

- small update of the manual (related to these loaders)

 

Mount one of the loaders with "SWAP" in the name (depending on your Atari) as D1 and a game to be loaded as D2.

When a loader is executed, the screen color changes to dark blue.

Now swap the disks on the Smartphone, so the game to be loaded is mounted as D1 and press any key on the ATARI to continue.

 

However the best improvement gives the XBIOS loader from XXL.

It uses its own SIO routine, which has timing compatible with bluetooth and let you load even games using RAM behind OS :)

 

Regards

Montezuma

 

 

P.S.

I encourage everybody to use a modified OS with SIO2BT.

A new possibility is provided by SYS-CHECK II:

http://atariage.com/...-only-accepted/

It can be used to replace an original OS without modifing your ATARI :)


Edited by TheMontezuma, Mon Dec 29, 2014 9:56 AM.


#65 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,681 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:33 AM

Awesome trying this now!!!

#66 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,681 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:08 AM

What do I do with the xbois file? I know to put the swap file in d1 now.

#67 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,681 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:33 AM

Ok put xbois in d1. loads from the program the disc images. playing bblazer and ghostbusters on my 64kb other wise stock 600xl!! Thanks!!

#68 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:06 PM

At the end you have 3 choices:

 

1) D1:XL_XE_XEGS.atr, D2:GAME

2) D1:XL_XE_XEGS_SWAP.atr, D2:GAME (with swapping D2->D1 after XL_XE_XEGS_SWAP.atr is loaded)

3) D1:XBIOS_4_BT.atr, D2:GAME



#69 TheEditor OFFLINE  

TheEditor

    Chopper Commander

  • 161 posts

Posted Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:30 PM

I will try the new SWAP file tonight with The Writer's Tool and my XE and report back.



#70 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,681 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:19 PM

I go option 3 every time. It is working awesome.. But I shoulda done some other stuff other than 6 hours of atari gaming..
oh well!

#71 TheEditor OFFLINE  

TheEditor

    Chopper Commander

  • 161 posts

Posted Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:09 AM

XL_XE_XEGS_SWAP.atr works great and also allows The Writer's Tool to boot and function properly.  I also tried the XBIOS but am not really sure hot to use it.  I am from the old days of Atari 8-bits not the new days :)  Too many years in between.



#72 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,681 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:13 AM

The xbois d1 game d2. Brings up another loader screen. I then move my game to d1 on my phone. it tells you to press shift and the the drive number you want to use. It will highlight the game on your tv then I press on that number without hitting shift in the list and it loads games that need extra ram. Pretty solid and almost never crashes.
Was playing Master of the lamp an old fav from grade 4(on the c64 at school) I fought a kid to play it after school we had to book a 1/2 hour slot after school.
I had the time booked and he was sitting on the computer chair I kicked the legs out from the chair his head smacked the floor he bawled and I got to load the genie game.
Worst part was 1/3 of the computer time on the c64 was disc loading.. what a pos.

#73 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 522 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:29 AM

The xbois d1 game d2. Brings up another loader screen. I then move my game to d1 on my phone. it tells you to press shift and the the drive number you want to use. It will highlight the game on your tv then I press on that number without hitting shift in the list and it loads games that need extra ram. Pretty solid and almost never crashes.

 

You do not need actually to swap disks when using the XBIOS loader.

It shows initially the content of D2 and you may select directly a game to be loaded (from D2) by pressing a numeric key (without SHIFT).



#74 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,681 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:02 PM

Ok that makes more sense!

#75 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,724 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:48 AM

Hi Marcin, I am trying to test the SIO2BT with a 65XE. I connected the BT module to the 65XE externally, using the cable provided by you. I downloaded the SIO2BT app to my Samsung Galaxy SII and mounted the XL_XE_XEGS.ATR  to D1:, and a DOS2.5 disk image to D2: of SIO2BT app. The module is powered and paired to my smartphone and ready to communicate.

 

When I try to boot the 65XE, I hear the SIO bleeps and SIO2BT app keeps switching between disks D1: and D2: giving me "BOOT ERROR" s on the monitor. I tried to change the "write delay" value but it doesn't make any difference. This particular 65XE is 100% stock.

 

I wonder if the BT module is still configured for 19,000bps, is there an easy way to verify that without going through the serial cable procedure. If i had to reconfigure the BT module, what is the exact procedure?

 

Thanks






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users