Jump to content

Photo

SIO2BT


220 replies to this topic

#201 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • 1,630 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:50 PM

hmm, can somebody make a video about sio2bt and tcp/ip connection?



#202 orpheuswaking OFFLINE  

orpheuswaking

    Quadrunner

  • 5,455 posts
  • Lone Raider Time!
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:09 PM

Waiting on mine :) is anyone using a cheap tablet and the app? Or is everyone using laptops or phones?

#203 vitoco OFFLINE  

vitoco

    Chopper Commander

  • 169 posts

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:48 AM

Being my smartphone a daily tool, I have a folder in it full of XEX which I use as the game source for SIO2BT as well as for RetroX.

Enviado desde mi SM-G935F mediante Tapatalk

#204 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 495 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:09 AM

Waiting on mine :) is anyone using a cheap tablet and the app? Or is everyone using laptops or phones?

 

The SIO2BT app is compatible with all Android devices starting from Android 2.1.

If only your tablet has a bluetooth on board, everything should work well.

 

If your tablet is newer (Android 4.0.3 and up) you may also give a try to the Android AspeQt port by Greblus:

https://play.google....le.AspeQt&hl=en



#205 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • 1,630 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:51 AM

iOS please :)



#206 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 495 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:53 PM

hmm, can somebody make a video about sio2bt and tcp/ip connection?

 

I'm not the best speaker, but I hope this will give you the idea:

 

iOS please :)

 

Apple didn't want to support serial port profile: https://support.appl.../en-us/HT204387



#207 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,043 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:31 PM

 

I'm not the best speaker, but I hope this will give you the idea:

 

 

Apple didn't want to support serial port profile: https://support.appl.../en-us/HT204387

Nice setup you have there.  SIO2SD on the left I assume.  What is the LCD screen on the right (it was showing the OS)?



#208 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 495 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 4:19 PM

Thanks.

The display on the right side belongs to Bios4Config extension.

It is basically a OS switch which additionally controls STEREO (enable/disable) and RAM (64kB/512kB/1MB).

You get the same and more with Ultimate 1MB.



#209 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,043 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:58 PM

Thanks.

The display on the right side belongs to Bios4Config extension.

It is basically a OS switch which additionally controls STEREO (enable/disable) and RAM (64kB/512kB/1MB).

You get the same and more with Ultimate 1MB.

Thanks.  I love my U1MBs, but they don't give me that awesome LCD display :)



#210 orpheuswaking OFFLINE  

orpheuswaking

    Quadrunner

  • 5,455 posts
  • Lone Raider Time!
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:02 PM

I don't currently have a tablet but I was thinking of getting a cheap one to serve up to the sio2bt

#211 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • 1,630 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:40 AM

nice, but i mean connecting to bbs, telnet, etc:)

#212 Bloodcat OFFLINE  

Bloodcat

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:Southeastern CT USA

Posted Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:52 AM

 

Thanks. My english is not that good to say if it was ironic or not, but anyway you have a PM :)

Since it is easier to create a SIO2BT in a 3D printed plug, the price goes down to 30€ for a complete unit.

 

To save your time (if are interested and do not want read through several pages),
here is a small summary about the current status of the project:

 

I am kind of interested.  I just... need to get one of those other thingies to make it work the best?  The big Q then becomes will it be then cheaper than just getting a Lotharek?  



#213 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 495 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:41 AM

I just... need to get one of those other thingies to make it work the best?

 

If you are fine with 19200 (standard ATARI disk baudrate) then SIO2BT + a customized OS (EPROM) is a pretty good solution.

For 57600, you would need other "thingies" ;-)

 

The big Q then becomes will it be then cheaper than just getting a Lotharek?  

 

Lotharek offers several solutions for ATARI (SIO2PC, SIO2SD, SIDE2, etc.).

I personally use SIO2BT most of the time, but if you just begin your adventure with new accessories I would go for SIO2SD from Lotharek.



#214 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:33 AM

For those who like to use MyBIOS, here is a link to my wip-folder.
http://www.mr-atari....yBIOS/BETA_wip/

 

The BIOS fully support SIO2BT and (should) run as stand-alone OS perfectly fine.

 

Features:
Fully XL/XE-compatible
Fully 400/800-compatible
Fast mathpack routines
 
SIO2BT-tools can stil be found here:
Thanks, Sijmen.


#215 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 495 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:00 AM

 

For those who like to use MyBIOS, here is a link to my wip-folder.
http://www.mr-atari....yBIOS/BETA_wip/

 

The BIOS fully support SIO2BT and (should) run as stand-alone OS perfectly fine.

 

Features:
Fully XL/XE-compatible
Fully 400/800-compatible
Fast mathpack routines
 
SIO2BT-tools can stil be found here:
Thanks, Sijmen.

 

 

Hi Sijmen,

Could you please write some background information about the MyBIOS and MyIDE II firmware development? Especially:

1) I understand that MyIDE II devices shipped by Steve come with an older firmware version, is it correct? Was the "original" firmware developed by you?

2) Are there any "official" recommended (stable) releases since this older firmware or there is only the latest and greatest firmware available from you (what is the current version)?

3) MyIDE-][.bin is the 512kB firmware for MyIDE II and MyBIOS-ROM-FMP.ROM is the 16kB MyBios ROM which can be used even without MyIDE II, is it correct ?

4) What means "FMP" in the name of the MyBIOS ROM?



#216 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,448 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:15 AM

I could hazard a guess as (Fast-Math-Pack).. 



#217 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:38 AM

Good questions:
1/ MyIDE 4.8.01 was the original shipping firmware, upgraded to 4.8.06.
This is the shipping firmware. Yes I made this, FAT-loader is by Steve.

2/ All releases, manuals and stuff are on the user forum, hosted by atarimax.com

4.8.06 is the latest stable and official version, but there have been many beta's that are quit stable.

Last released and stable beta is 4.9.B16 (found on the forum).

After B16, there are only wip-versions, now available as download, to generate some feedback.

3/ yes

4/ Fast Math Pack :-)



#218 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 495 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:41 AM

WIP means "Work In Progress", right?



#219 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,040 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:08 PM

Yes WIP= W.I.P.= Work In Progress



#220 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:58 PM

I forgot to mention that the current upload only has the stand-alone MyBIOS.
With MyIDE-][ support and SiO2BT.

The RAM version loaded from MyIDE is not on it yet.
The bootloader was broken, redoing that at the moment.
So, perhaps, soon, you can download both.
:-)

I will include a change log.

#221 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:34 AM

Fixed.....

 

MyBIOS-RAM now included on the MyIDE-][ content.

SIO-supports 19k2, 38k4 and 57k6 to any device.

 

SIO2BT-support is default ON.

You can change this to OFF during "power-up".

This will speed-up serial IO when you try to access a not present device.

 

The new BIOS has a check-summed configuration-byte.

If this is corrupted by any (ab)using software, it tries to recover or reset to default.

 

System Defaults are:
BASIC off
HSIO on
SIO2BT on





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users