IGNORED

WUDSN IDE: How to create an bank switched ROM?

JAC!

I was asked how to create a 1 MB ROM file directly from MADS so you can test is in emulators and on The!Cart.

There are a number of difficulties in this, so I decided to create an example and post it here for references.

Maybe I'll also create a tutorial out of it. If you have questions, feel free to ask.

Atarimax-Maxflash-1MB.asm

Edited by JAC!
  • Like 6
  • Thanks 1

Cool!

For Wudsn and Altirra this executing commandline works fine:

${runnerExecutablePath} /singleinstance ${outputFilePath} /cartmapper 42

The compiletime for this is about 5 seconds on a 4.5 GHz i7 machine. So this can take a bit longer on a netbook :-)

• 3 months later...
  • 1 year later...

I'm just trying to understand the code from this.

I was wondering... lets say a game is written around this example, how would you for example switch in bank 68?

As I have never programmed a cartridge game before, does cartridge programs typically copy a few banks into normal non-cartridge memory at startup?

For example, if I have a 12K program which normally starts at say $2000, would I need some code to copy that 12K of normal program into that space?

• Like 1

A) how would you for example switch in bank 68?

B) does cartridge programs typically copy a few banks into normal non-cartridge memory at startup?

C) if I have a 12K program which normally starts at say $2000, would I need some code to copy that 12K of normal program into that space?

ad A) lda $d500+68 ;Activate bank 68, for Atarimax any kind of read access to address $d500-$df75 the $d5xx activates bank $xx. Reading $d580-$d5ff deactivates the cartridge.