Jump to content

Photo

LCD Monitor that supports ST Low Res! NEC MultiSync LCD 1970VX


221 replies to this topic

#26 wood_jl OFFLINE  

wood_jl

    Quadrunner

  • 6,909 posts
  • Location:West TN, USA

Posted Fri Oct 17, 2014 11:33 PM

Remember back when "VGA" monitors supported 15KHz horizontal scan?  I'm thinking of stuff like NEC Multisync 2D (???) and stuff like that.

 

Well, since this NEC 1970vx flat panel sounds intriguiging, I wonder if the Best Electronics VGA cable.....

 

http://www.best-electronics-ca.com/monadapt.htm

 

.....would offer a plug-and-play solution?

 

One thing that's interesting about this particular model of monitor (the 1970vx) is that so many on Ebay are offered WITHOUT THE STAND.  What's so valuable about a stand, that it should be separated from a monitor?
 

I mean, there's currently only one listing for this particular monitor on Ebay.....

 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEC-MultiSync-LCD1970VX-19-LCD-Monitor-L194RK-/121458963754?pt=Computer_Monitors&hash=item1c4784b52a

 

.....and there's no stand.

 

If you do a "Sold Listings" search on Ebay.....

 

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=nec+1970vx&LH_Complete=1&LH_Sold=1&rt=nc

 

.....you see that there have been others without a stand, too.  What's up with the missing stands?   I'd like to have been the guy who bought the New-In-Box one for $40, though.  I'll bet that one came with a stand!



#27 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 689 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Sat Oct 18, 2014 7:40 AM

If you look back to Sept 16th http://www.ebay.com/...K-/171459916707, It looks like that guy in the current auction bought 10 of those for $31 total! 

 

Now he is flipping them for $35 apiece (after keeping one - bought 10 selling 9).  Nice profit I would say!



#28 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 689 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:56 AM

If you look back to Sept 16th http://www.ebay.com/...K-/171459916707, It looks like that guy in the current auction bought 10 of those for $31 total! 

 

Now he is flipping them for $35 apiece (after keeping one - bought 10 selling 9).  Nice profit I would say!

 

Duh, I am stupid haha :dunce: .  Obviously he bought them for $31 each not total.  Anyway, seems like a good deal even at the $35 he is selling them for. 

 

I might just have to buy one to try out!  I like the results shown so far in this thread. :thumbsup:



#29 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,200 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun Oct 19, 2014 9:37 AM

I wish I was good with the soldering iron. I would try this out.

#30 Android8675 OFFLINE  

Android8675

    Moonsweeper

  • 439 posts
  • Incognito'N
  • Location:Prunedale, CA, USA

Posted Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:44 AM

Bought one of these monitors for $15, gonna build a little dongle sized adapter for ST Video -> VGA/3.5mm Audio as soon as the 4PDT switch comes in that I ordered. Gonna find a swing arm mount as the monitor didn't come with a stand either, seller said it was pulled from a warehouse type enviornment, but guaranteed it working, no defects, so cool..



#31 galax OFFLINE  

galax

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 747 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:18 AM

I found a guy near me with about 20 of these, he is asking $35 each - all with stands. Funnily enough I don't need one of the stands as I have a spare swing arm thing, unfortunately you are too far for it to be worth shipping to you.



#32 galax OFFLINE  

galax

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 747 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:34 PM

Can't edit my last post, just to share some info, the NEC MultiSync 1550M (1024x768 15") is reported to support ST Low/Med Res too. I found the following at 

 

<a data-ipb="nomediaparse" data-cke-saved-href="http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=25496%20but%20I" href="http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=25496%20but%20I" ll%20copy%20and%20paste%20some%20info%20as%20atari-forum%20is%20still%20a%20bit%20intermittent:"="">There's a file pasted about creating a Multisync Switch Cable, similar to mine I think. I've shared it here: http://pastebin.com/s7eR4fwm

 

Confirmation and information about a model that doesn't work from http://cbm-hackers.2...95p4618425.html

 

Steve Gray:

I previously tested the NEC 1550M and it worked great. I recently saw another similar monitor, the NEC 1525V on ebay for $30, shipping from Mississuaga. I took a chance and bought it, but sadly this model is not compatible.

 

The BenQ G2420 and BenQ G922HDL might be worth trying, seems like they would stretch the picture though: http://eab.abime.net...ighlight=2420hd
http://aorante.blogs...-amiga-pal.html

 

 

 


Edited by galax, Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:39 PM.


#33 galax OFFLINE  

galax

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 747 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:05 PM

Not sure what happened to the formatting there, the preview looked fine. Trying again:

 found the following at http://www.atari-for...5&t=25496 but I - pasting as Atari-Forum is down a lot at the moment:

 

 

Scarletkitten:
I have a 1550M and it does work with the st in low and med res, the monitors res goes down to 640x200 & 15KHz and displays both resolutions full screen. quite nice quality too.

There was a file pasted about creating a Multisync Switch Cable, similar to mine I think. I've shared it here: http://pastebin.com/s7eR4fwm



#34 poobah OFFLINE  

poobah

    Stargunner

  • 1,653 posts
  • Location:Beavercreek, Ohio

Posted Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:42 PM

The BenQ G2420 and BenQ G922HDL might be worth trying, seems like they would stretch the picture though: http://eab.abime.net...ighlight=2420hd
http://aorante.blogs...-amiga-pal.html

 

I have a BenQ G2420, it doesn't like the ST.



#35 poobah OFFLINE  

poobah

    Stargunner

  • 1,653 posts
  • Location:Beavercreek, Ohio

Posted Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:48 AM

So I grabbed a 1970VX:

 

The good:

Make a cable, plug it in, it works. Displays low & medium, easy to adjust to full screen, 50 and 60 Hz work great.

I haven't tried mono yet.

 

The not so good:

The scaler is pretty bad. Medium res is a mixed bag, it's difficult/impossible to get the image lined up so all the pixels show correctly (Capital M's are particularly bad). It seems to throw away columns that don't map well, I think it may be worse than the cheap chinese gbs cards on ebay.

 

Bottom line, or $20-30 bucks, it beats lugging around a multisync 2D, but the image quality is so-so

 

Edit:

So, an update, hooked it up hi-res, needed to adjust the screen a little, but it looks really good.


Edited by poobah, Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:37 PM.


#36 poobah OFFLINE  

poobah

    Stargunner

  • 1,653 posts
  • Location:Beavercreek, Ohio

Posted Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:33 PM

And some more good news....

 

The NEC 1970 NX appears to be the same monitor with an integrated USB hub. Grabbed one for testing, It performs identically to my 1970VX



#37 bluemonday OFFLINE  

bluemonday

    Star Raider

  • 57 posts

Posted Tue Nov 4, 2014 9:32 AM

Does anyone know anywhere in the UK that supplies the equivalent to the Best Electronics multisync cable?

 

http://www.best-elec...om/monadapt.htm



#38 GadgetUK OFFLINE  

GadgetUK

    Stargunner

  • 1,943 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Tue Nov 4, 2014 10:40 AM

Great info! Got an NEC MultiSync monitor coming - suspect it won't handle ST sync but will let you know.

#39 rustynutt OFFLINE  

rustynutt

    Chopper Commander

  • 100 posts

Posted Thu Nov 6, 2014 1:35 PM

Went to jump on one myself, saw larger 21" versions of the same model line. Made me think......is 17" enough....
Bought a Sony BVM-24E1WU a few months back, less than 3000 hours. Had all the neat cards included. It's a monster, also the ultimate. It's overkill, except that my eyes are just too far gone to really see what's going on editing video. Cost less than a full eye exam and glasses :)

#40 Zeptari1 OFFLINE  

Zeptari1

    Stargunner

  • 1,376 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts

Posted Sun Nov 9, 2014 4:34 PM

Very impressive guys. This is the solution I needed years ago, before I spent a ton on an SC1224 shipped to me.

Makes me want to order one of those cords from Best and go on a multisync hunt.



#41 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,200 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Mon Nov 10, 2014 5:20 AM

Very impressive guys. This is the solution I needed years ago, before I spent a ton on an SC1224 shipped to me.
Makes me want to order one of those cords from Best and go on a multisync hunt.

It's got me thinking about Getting the cables too.

Edited by walter_J64bit, Mon Nov 10, 2014 5:21 AM.


#42 ParanoidLittleMan OFFLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • 1,576 posts

Posted Sat Nov 15, 2014 6:43 AM

Any experience with NEC 1970NX and Atari ST low/medium res ?

I found one near to me.



#43 poobah OFFLINE  

poobah

    Stargunner

  • 1,653 posts
  • Location:Beavercreek, Ohio

Posted Sat Nov 15, 2014 4:08 PM

Any experience with NEC 1970NX and Atari ST low/medium res ?

I found one near to me.

 

Low res looks pretty good.

Medium res is a bit iffy.



#44 ParanoidLittleMan OFFLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • 1,576 posts

Posted Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:28 AM

In principle 1770VX and NX should be good too, I guess. They are just with smaller LCD panel, and same chips (?) .



#45 GadgetUK OFFLINE  

GadgetUK

    Stargunner

  • 1,943 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Sun Nov 16, 2014 6:51 PM

The 1560 doesn't work, well - assuming my cable is wired correctly! I've ordered a 1770NX - will let you know if that works later in the week.

#46 GadgetUK OFFLINE  

GadgetUK

    Stargunner

  • 1,943 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:23 AM

The 1770NX doesn't work either.

#47 bluemonday OFFLINE  

bluemonday

    Star Raider

  • 57 posts

Posted Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:37 PM

 

Low res looks pretty good.

Medium res is a bit iffy.

 
I'd agree with this. I picked up an NEC MultiSync 1970NX LCD 19" monitor off eBay and have made this myltisync cable:
 
 
Low res looks great and has totally transformed my ST gaming. It really does look impressive.
 
However I can confirm that medium res is a bit iffy. Is there anything that can be done to improve it? It isn't a showstopper as I don't use medium res for much and have another SCART LCD I can use, but thought I'd ask.
 
Also high res works pretty well but I get these vertical lines on the screen if I'm using, say, a repeating background on the desktop. Is there anything I can do to remove them? Obviously I can change the desktop pattern/colour but I'm sure the problem will affect other non-configurable panels in other applications.
 
Photos attached of medium and high res.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_9945.JPG
  • IMG_9946.JPG
  • IMG_9947.JPG

Edited by bluemonday, Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:47 PM.


#48 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,315 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Thu Jan 22, 2015 6:08 PM

You need to adjust the phase/clock settings to get rid of the vertical bars. Not sure if the monitor has an auto-adjust button?

#49 ParanoidLittleMan OFFLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • 1,576 posts

Posted Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:47 AM


Also high res works pretty well but I get these vertical lines on the screen if I'm using, say, a repeating background on the desktop. Is there anything I can do to remove them? Obviously I can change the desktop pattern/colour but I'm sure the problem will affect other non-configurable panels in other applications.
 
Photos attached of medium and high res.

 

That problem is present with all LCD monitors and analogue VGA signal. It is moare actually, or interference. May try to minimize with setting width and hor. pos (phase).

Auto adjust will not help in this. Probably is best to change Desktop background pattern.



#50 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,315 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri Jan 23, 2015 4:48 AM

Auto-adjust finds the best phase/clock settings on my monitors and eliminates the bars. It's also possible to set it manually. The solution involves a combination of the two settings.




1 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users