Jump to content

Photo

LCD Monitor that supports ST Low Res! NEC MultiSync LCD 1970VX


221 replies to this topic

#151 ataricrypt OFFLINE  

ataricrypt

    Chopper Commander

  • 180 posts
  • AtariCrypt
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:39 PM

I think that's a great idea, I'm sure there has to be a demand for this :-)



#152 ryoder OFFLINE  

ryoder

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:47 PM

I like my Best cable and it does mono but I don't use mono. I just boot into medium res and then switch to low res and then play a game.

#153 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,488 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Thu Jan 28, 2016 9:28 AM

Use the best cable myself.  Looks awesome and loving the 1970VX!!

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20160127_225105311.jpg


#154 ryoder OFFLINE  

ryoder

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:18 PM

Looks like I'm the only one with jailbars with the Best cable.

I had jailbars on my Genesis until I got a new cable with "boosted sync" from retro console accessories.  The jailbars are still there but are so minor as to be no longer a factor.  

They are so annoying on the ST that I don't enjoy gaming with them.



#155 papa_november OFFLINE  

papa_november

    Star Raider

  • 89 posts

Posted Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:03 PM

Yes, medium res is fine as expected, the monitor doesn't know the difference between ST low and medium, sees both as 640x240. Looks better if the image is stretched a bit wider horizontally though.

 

Attached is the brochure for the NEC 70 series monitors, and the manual for the monitor I have. There is no mention of being able to support 640x240 or the horizontal or vertical refresh rates.

 

I wonder if other monitors in this series have this ability to support the ST too, the full series is: LCD1570NX, LCD1770VX, LCD1770NX, LCD1770NXM, LCD1970VX, LCD1970NX, LCD2070VX, LCD2070NX, LCD2070WNX, LCD2170NX, LCD2470WVX, LCD2470WNX.

 

Here's the info display on the monitor in 50 and 60 Hz mode, which contradicts the manuals:

 

attachicon.gif1970VX50Hz.jpg attachicon.gif1970VX60Hz.jpg

 

Just tried an NEC MultiSync LCD2070WNX - no go at all whatsoever.



#156 galax OFFLINE  

galax

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 747 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Sun Feb 14, 2016 9:54 PM

 

Just tried an NEC MultiSync LCD2070WNX - no go at all whatsoever.

Interesting, can you add it to the wiki as not working? http://www.atari-wik..._Panel_Displays



#157 ataricrypt OFFLINE  

ataricrypt

    Chopper Commander

  • 180 posts
  • AtariCrypt
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted Mon Feb 15, 2016 4:27 AM

Use the best cable myself.  Looks awesome and loving the 1970VX!!

 

 

Looks nice! My custom made cable works a treat but I strangely get vertical marks (like scratches) whenever the computer is doing something that pushes it. During a game and certainly most demos show it! A bit annoying but just wondered if others get similar?

 

I also get the vertical jailbars in ST High. Heck, that's also something I can live with!

 

So long as I'm able to enjoy my STe again ;)



#158 galax OFFLINE  

galax

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 747 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Mon Feb 15, 2016 7:51 AM

I also get the vertical jailbars in ST High. Heck, that's also something I can live with!


Do you get those on the ST's desktop? If so, that's likely an interference pattern which can be minimised or reduced with the hoeizontal size setting. Or open and expand a window- the desktop will so more interference than a typical program.

#159 ataricrypt OFFLINE  

ataricrypt

    Chopper Commander

  • 180 posts
  • AtariCrypt
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:37 AM

Yeah i get the jailbars on the desktop pattern.. so I just changed that to solid and we're good to go :)

I've tried the monitor horizontal setting all the way but nothing changed... :?



#160 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,488 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:13 PM

Looks like I'm the only one with jailbars with the Best cable.

I had jailbars on my Genesis until I got a new cable with "boosted sync" from retro console accessories.  The jailbars are still there but are so minor as to be no longer a factor.  

They are so annoying on the ST that I don't enjoy gaming with them.

 

I do get jail-bars with the best cable, but they are so minor that I can more or less ignore them no problem.  Still, I would be interested in "boosted sync" cable one day if one becomes available. 



#161 ryoder OFFLINE  

ryoder

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:14 PM

Update. The Genesis cable is awesome but while moving the hdmi converter smoothes the picture and then it snaps back to clear when movement stops. The picture also darkens just a bit. I just ordered a scart to component converter to see if it helps. I think it will do less processing and might not have these nasty effects.
Also ordered an adapter for my A600 to see how it works on the LCD.
If thst doesn't work I'll pick up an Individision ECS.

#162 calimero OFFLINE  

calimero

    Chopper Commander

  • 237 posts

Posted Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:17 AM

I just try NEC 1960NXi and it does not work with ST low 15KHz mode - there is "no sync" message on monitor :(



#163 pixelmischief OFFLINE  

pixelmischief

    Stargunner

  • 1,269 posts

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2016 4:22 AM

This is a Mega STe on the 1970VX with a Best VGA cable.  Too bad I don't have the desk space for an old low-resolution 4:3 monitor.  I hope the Gonbes 8220 solution I am working on will look as good.

 

Arkanoid1.jpg

 

Arkanoid2.jpg

 

Desktop1.jpg

 

Desktop2.jpg

 

 

 



#164 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    River Patroller

  • 2,142 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Sat Mar 5, 2016 10:54 AM

What desktop is that?

#165 pixelmischief OFFLINE  

pixelmischief

    Stargunner

  • 1,269 posts

Posted Sat Mar 5, 2016 11:56 AM

What desktop is that?

 

That's the standard GEM desktop in LOW!  DERP!



#166 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    River Patroller

  • 2,142 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Sat Mar 5, 2016 11:58 AM

Icons look a little different.

#167 Fletch OFFLINE  

Fletch

    Stargunner

  • 1,056 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Sat Mar 5, 2016 6:32 PM

Icons look a little different.

 

Looks like TOS 2.06 to me.



#168 pixelmischief OFFLINE  

pixelmischief

    Stargunner

  • 1,269 posts

Posted Sun Mar 6, 2016 12:58 AM

 

Looks like TOS 2.06 to me.

 

Actually, it's TOS 2.05.



#169 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 692 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:34 PM

+1 for 1970VX and Best cable.

 

Cable just arrived today (just 3-days to deliver from West coast to East coast - thanks Brad!) and the 1970VX handles all resolutions really well.  Quality of the cable is very high.

 

Low-resolution is sharp and colorful.  Medium loses some definition like others have mentioned here, but with the right screen font it is perfectly serviceable.

 

High resolution has very good fidelity.  Don't see any loss of detail there.  I am getting no jailbars (STe) so am happy about that, (*edit* After experimenting a bit I can seem to get some jailbars in High if I set the background to a certain hatch pattern, but I am not sure if that is just an illusion of the pattern or the monitor.  I don't get them otherwise so I tend to think it is the pattern itself.  Easy solution:  I don't use that hatch pattern :-D ).

 

Thanks to all for recommending the cable.  It's a good purchase.  The quality of the Hi/Lo(Med) switch is especially nice as it seems very sturdy.  I think it will last a long time.

 

I have a 1550M I'm going to try next.  It's a smaller monitor but has speakers built-in.

 

One question I'm not sure if it has been asked before, but can the 1970VX's "optimal resolution is 1280x1024" pop-up message be turned off somehow?  It only takes one button press to clear, but it would be nice just to turn it off.


Edited by TheNameOfTheGame, Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:55 PM.


#170 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 692 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:58 AM

Found the option to turn off the "Optimal Resolution" message so that is good.  The 1550M has similar firmware and it's message can be turned off also.

 

Hooked up the 1550M.  It works great in Hi.  But for Med and Lo I would say the 1970VX is better due to the fact that the 1550M has quite large borders in comparison. 

 

I mean the picture is good and it does work in all 3 resolutions, but the effective perceived screen area utilized is smaller compared to the 1970VX due to the larger borders.

 

And since the 1550M is a smaller monitor to begin with I would definitely pick the 1970VX given the choice of the two.

 

There are some adjustments available from the menu so the screen can be stretched and moved somewhat but I still prefer the 1970VX.

 

However, the 1550M does include built-in speakers so that could be a positive if desk space was limited.


Edited by TheNameOfTheGame, Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:03 AM.


#171 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,306 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:57 AM

That's what the floor is for - tower speakers and sub woofers so we can hear those cool

Euro demo's in all their glory.   :)



#172 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 692 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:59 PM

haha yea that would rock the house! :-D



#173 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,306 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:07 PM

<best Yoda voice> There is no would, only does (at least when my wife is not home!).   :)



#174 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    River Patroller

  • 2,142 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Sat Apr 2, 2016 7:08 PM

I got the NEC 1970vx and the Best cable. Working ok, but the scaler is not too good.  Seems to stretch the screen.  Low res looks good, but med res is hard.  Adjusting the H SIZE helps a little.  What are the best settings to use?  Also, on VGA mode I cannot get it clear and white.  I get interference (noise) and the color looks yellowing/dim.



#175 atarian63 OFFLINE  

atarian63

    River Patroller

  • 4,246 posts
  • Location:columbus ohio

Posted Mon Apr 4, 2016 10:47 PM

Just got a 1970vx today,my ste looks OK lots of vertical lines in high res, however the mega ste looks awful, lines in all res kinda pixelated. Using a new BEST cable. Regular non mega ste has a new Best power supply, mega is a fresh ebay purchase so I need to check it with a real st monitor to see if the mega is the issue. Any suggestions for 1970vx adjustments are welcome if you think it will help.

Edited by atarian63, Mon Apr 4, 2016 10:48 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users