Jump to content

Photo

LCD Monitor that supports ST Low Res! NEC MultiSync LCD 1970VX


221 replies to this topic

#201 Bikerbob ONLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 633 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Wed Sep 7, 2016 2:30 PM

Found NEC 1550V - 1550m is in the list from Best electronics.. any reason to think it wont work?

 

James



#202 LoTonah OFFLINE  

LoTonah

    Dragonstomper

  • 548 posts
  • Location:Penticton, BC Canada

Posted Thu Sep 8, 2016 2:26 AM

I just found that I already owned a NEC Multisync LCD 1560NX (ya, call me a hoarder if you want).  From the specs, it looks like it should work.  Anyone try this model before?

 

I already have the Best Electronics cable, but it is in storage.  Don't really want to go there, dig through boxes, etc. if it isn't a good match.

 

Your help is appreciated!



#203 Bikerbob ONLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 633 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Thu Sep 8, 2016 9:58 AM

Well the guy wants $10 for 2 monitors, so I will pick them up and hope they work.

 

James



#204 vizfizz OFFLINE  

vizfizz

    Space Invader

  • 41 posts

Posted Thu Sep 8, 2016 11:15 AM

I just found that I already owned a NEC Multisync LCD 1560NX (ya, call me a hoarder if you want).  From the specs, it looks like it should work.  Anyone try this model before?

 

I already have the Best Electronics cable, but it is in storage.  Don't really want to go there, dig through boxes, etc. if it isn't a good match.

 

Your help is appreciated!

 

It works. I own and NX. The only difference between it and the VX, as far as I know, is the NX has a better contrast ratio.

 

CORRECTION: I read over this too quickly. I thought you were talking about the 1970NX.


Edited by vizfizz, Thu Sep 8, 2016 11:17 AM.


#205 Bikerbob ONLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 633 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Thu Sep 8, 2016 1:14 PM

So I sat down today and built this circuit to feed the syncs into my EA190M monitor: (Hsync got fed the composite sync, Vsync got the Vsync output).

 

lm1881.png

 

 

 

 

Didn't change a thing; still had jailbars. :(   Do I need to add some resistance on the RGB lines?  I'm still not sure what causes these bars.

 

 

*Edit*  Ran the output through a GBS8220 v5 and the results are much improved.  It looks really nice now and I'm going to keep this combination.

 

Anyone have any good enclosures for the GBS?

 

But I dont understand.. if you had the GBS8220.. which you seem to like.. they you didnt need a monitor that sync to 15khz at all.. the GBS8220 will do that for you.

 

SO are you saying that the output from the GBS8220 is better than the straight output from the EA190M?

 

Do you run the GBS8220 on a different monitor? to compare?

 

Point I am making .. maybe the GBS8220 is a better investment in the money than finding a monitor?

 

James



#206 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 697 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Thu Sep 8, 2016 11:10 PM

 

But I dont understand.. if you had the GBS8220.. which you seem to like.. they you didnt need a monitor that sync to 15khz at all.. the GBS8220 will do that for you.

 

SO are you saying that the output from the GBS8220 is better than the straight output from the EA190M?

 

Do you run the GBS8220 on a different monitor? to compare?

 

Point I am making .. maybe the GBS8220 is a better investment in the money than finding a monitor?

 

James

 

My point is I don't know what causes the jailbars, but running the VBXE output through the GBS8220 v5 makes a nice picture.  The LM1881 circuit did not work for me.

 

I would like to be able to put a circuit on the 130XE case and eliminate the GBS8220, but don't know if that is possible.

 

Keep in mind this is for the 8-bit Atari, not the ST.  My STe with Best cable works good without the GBS8220.  I don't know if it is possible to get good LCD output on an 8-bit without a GBS8220 or scan doubler.


Edited by TheNameOfTheGame, Thu Sep 8, 2016 11:12 PM.


#207 Bikerbob ONLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 633 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Fri Sep 9, 2016 1:04 AM

I run my 8-bit stuff through s-video, im very happy with that output to my LCD TV. I think I will grab those 1550v monitors and keep my fingers crossed.

 

James



#208 poobah OFFLINE  

poobah

    Stargunner

  • 1,653 posts
  • Location:Beavercreek, Ohio

Posted Sat Sep 10, 2016 6:09 AM

I thought the jailbars were from the clock leaking into the video signal. Try a forum search, I know someone (ijor?) dug pretty deep into the jailbar issue on the 8 bitters



#209 bluemonday OFFLINE  

bluemonday

    Star Raider

  • 57 posts

Posted Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:42 PM

I've been using a NEC 1970VX with multisync cable on my ST and have been loving being able to get all three resolutions on one monitor.

 

I just picked up NEC EA190M, thinking it might be better due to the built-in speakers.

 

In my opinion, the 1970VX has far superior picture. It is less blurry and the colours are more vibrant. The EA190M just doesn't look as as good. The built in speakers are good but the lowest volume setting isn't that quiet.

 

I've posted screenshots below which don't show the differences as well as the naked eye, but you get the idea. Just thought I'd show this for anyone considering taking the plunge with one or the other.

all.png



#210 rj1 OFFLINE  

rj1

    Combat Commando

  • 3 posts

Posted Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:00 AM

For the sound, I have this for my 1970NXP:

 

https://www.amazon.c...2fa48612535fef4

 

 

May it be compatible with your 1970VX?



#211 gozar OFFLINE  

gozar

    Dragonstomper

  • 970 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:37 PM

 

Could you add it to this list, along with which graphics modes you tried etc.?  http://www.atari-wik..._Panel_Displays

 

Just want to report that NEC Accusync LCD71V works with both Atari and Amiga.

 

There is a seller on ebay who has Old New Stock. I purchase two from them for under $40 each shipped. Both came in mint condition. 

 

They first sent me 72V as the pallet was not sorted. They assumed all 40 on pallet were 71v models.  They took the listing down to sort the pallet but should be back up soon. 

 

If you are looking for a LCD that works with ST then I would suggest emailing them about 71v models.

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

 

I picked one of these up on eBay and it wouldn't sync to my MegaSTE, 1040STf or Amiga 500. It says it's a revision 1G, so I wonder if different versions don't work.



#212 Bikerbob ONLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 633 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sat Jan 7, 2017 3:28 PM

Pickup'd a 1970vx last night. now I need to build my cable!!

 

James



#213 paul92706 OFFLINE  

paul92706

    Combat Commando

  • 9 posts

Posted Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:10 PM

very cool!



#214 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,209 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:08 AM

I've been using a NEC 1970VX with multisync cable on my ST and have been loving being able to get all three resolutions on one monitor.

 

I just picked up NEC EA190M, thinking it might be better due to the built-in speakers.

 

In my opinion, the 1970VX has far superior picture. It is less blurry and the colours are more vibrant. The EA190M just doesn't look as as good. The built in speakers are good but the lowest volume setting isn't that quiet.

 

I've posted screenshots below which don't show the differences as well as the naked eye, but you get the idea. Just thought I'd show this for anyone considering taking the plunge with one or the other.

attachicon.gifall.png

Thanks for the tip on the NEC EA190M I've just got one, It's better on my eyes, plus the big screen is Awesome!



#215 CarpetSoldier OFFLINE  

CarpetSoldier

    Combat Commando

  • 9 posts
  • Location:Toronto, ON

Posted Mon May 1, 2017 12:26 PM

I also received an NEC Accusync LCD72V from a seller who mis-labelled their eBay auctions and can confirm that it does NOT work with the low 15Khz sync signal.  Bummer!  Make sure to have the seller double check the model # on the actual unit (and don't be like me).  What a waste of money and shipping.



#216 bfollowell OFFLINE  

bfollowell

    Chopper Commander

  • 120 posts

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:24 PM

I hate to revive such an old thread, but it deserves to be near the top anyway, if not stickied.

 

I was thrilled to find this thread! I found what I hope is a decent NEC MultiSync LCD 1970VX for $53 shipped on ebay. I really didn't want a third LCD on my desk, but I have been dying to get my 1040STF retr0brighted and cleaned up and out of the attic. Now to order a Best Electronics VGA cable.


Edited by bfollowell, Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:40 PM.


#217 KLund1 OFFLINE  

KLund1

    Dragonstomper

  • 633 posts

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:50 PM

Good thread!

  Anyone have any experience with a NEC LCD1990SXI. I think they work with a TT But what about L/M/H ST's res's?

from NEC spec page Synchronization Range Horizontal (Analog/Digital) 31.5-81.1 kHz Vertical 50-85 Hz

#218 bfollowell OFFLINE  

bfollowell

    Chopper Commander

  • 120 posts

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:16 AM

Well, I've already revived a two-year-old thread, so I might as well add to it.

 

I finally got my STf up and running on my "new" NEC LCD1970VX! It does all three resolutions and I think it looks decent. It's the first time I've ever seen Atari ST monochrome on anything other than an emulator, so that was kind of cool.

 

To me, the low and high resolutions look much better than the medium. The unavbailable, grayed out menu text looks really bad, I figure I'll likely be using low and high resolutions more than medium, with low probably being used the most, so I'm not overly concerned.

 

The monitor has an auto width adjustment, and the high resolution adjusts to take up most of the screen. The low and medium resolutions seem to be more squared off than I remember, so I may have to check against a real SC1224 to verify, but maybe this aspect ratio is normal.

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG-1500b.jpg
  • IMG-1501b.jpg
  • IMG-1502b.jpg


#219 Stguild OFFLINE  

Stguild

    Combat Commando

  • 1 posts

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 8:31 PM

Well, I've already revived a two-year-old thread, so I might as well add to it.

 

I finally got my STf up and running on my "new" NEC LCD1970VX! It does all three resolutions and I think it looks decent. It's the first time I've ever seen Atari ST monochrome on anything other than an emulator, so that was kind of cool.

 

To me, the low and high resolutions look much better than the medium. The unavbailable, grayed out menu text looks really bad, I figure I'll likely be using low and high resolutions more than medium, with low probably being used the most, so I'm not overly concerned.

 

The monitor has an auto width adjustment, and the high resolution adjusts to take up most of the screen. The low and medium resolutions seem to be more squared off than I remember, so I may have to check against a real SC1224 to verify, but maybe this aspect ratio is normal.

 

 

What cable are you using?



#220 bfollowell OFFLINE  

bfollowell

    Chopper Commander

  • 120 posts

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 9:22 PM

What cable are you using?

 

The Best Electronics Second Generation Upgraded / Improved ST Multi Sync adapter cable.



#221 blowback OFFLINE  

blowback

    Space Invader

  • 27 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Alberta. Canada.

Posted Thu Dec 6, 2018 11:06 AM

Anyone know if a NEC 1970GX is compatible with all three resolutions? I want to say it should be safe since the other 1970 models seem to work fine.



#222 Wally1 OFFLINE  

Wally1

    Moonsweeper

  • 339 posts
  • RAP SUCKS!

Posted Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:26 PM

here's a great deal on what could be a great monitor:

 

https://www.ebay.com...353.m1438.l2649

 

hope it helps

 

:)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users