Jump to content

Photo

Galaga Crashing All the Time


100 replies to this topic

#26 Ikrananka OFFLINE  

Ikrananka

    River Patroller

  • 2,456 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:17 AM

 

It would be helpful to gain more evidence from more owners, including how often it happens, when it happens, what happens. As much information as possible. Then we can hopefully figure out the root of the problem.

 

I love this game and so will definitely give it a good workout this coming weekend.  If the issue happens again I'll log the details and post back here.



#27 coleco_master OFFLINE  

coleco_master

    Dragonstomper

  • 645 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:24 AM

 

I love this game and so will definitely give it a good workout this coming weekend.  If the issue happens again I'll log the details and post back here.

 

I will contact the programmer to find out more!



#28 Pixelboy OFFLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,627 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:09 AM

I will contact the programmer to find out more!


I just hope you kept a list of all the buyers. You could be forced to do a general recall. :)

#29 scobb OFFLINE  

scobb

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:39 AM

I played a few times...up to level 12...no issues so far  :-D



#30 scobb OFFLINE  

scobb

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:40 AM

Also, I have the proto Galaga that does not require a SGM...the SGM version is much better!  Thanks!

Scott



#31 sega_SHARK OFFLINE  

sega_SHARK

    Dragonstomper

  • 748 posts
  • Location:YES!M!CH!GAN

Posted Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:25 PM

Crash usually occurs when Galaga is descending with a red captured ship.

Crash occurred on various normal stages 1, 4 so on.  No crash on challenging stage.  ( no ship to capture on challenging stages )

Tested with Atari Europad, Super Action Controller, and regular Coleco keypad.  Crash happened with all three different controllers.

Hope this helps to give a starting point?



#32 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,421 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:30 PM

I got my copy back the other day but I haven't fired it up yet to test. I'll give it some play this week and test it out.



#33 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,421 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Tue Nov 4, 2014 8:17 AM

No dice guys. Played Galaga last night on the new cartridge I got in the mail and it crashed on the second game I played.



#34 sega_SHARK OFFLINE  

sega_SHARK

    Dragonstomper

  • 748 posts
  • Location:YES!M!CH!GAN

Posted Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:25 PM

Got Galaga back in the mail.  Works Good so far.  



#35 iesposta ONLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,338 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:53 PM

My cartridge of Galaga has corrupt graphics also.

#36 scobb OFFLINE  

scobb

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts

Posted Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:29 PM

Weird...I've played 50+ times up to Wave 21 or so...no issues.

Scott 



#37 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,763 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 8:09 AM

The only way to know for sure what the issue could be is if everyone reports all the details about their system (modded and what mods and by whom or unmodded) and if they exerience the corrupted graphics or not and when.

Occassionally I have experienced the issue on my Yurkie modded CV that has his Video Mod Board, Pause Button, Power Light Mod, Bios Skip Mod, Power Supply Mod and numerous sockets added for quick chip replacement. We would also have to know for sure if there was any differences in the first run SGM that could cause the issue. Aside from that, possibly a change in the Cartridge PCB was made or a different manufacturer used.

Probably a programming bug, but everything would have to be considered.

Edited by NIAD, Tue Nov 18, 2014 8:12 AM.


#38 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,254 posts

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:02 AM

it is  a kind of Galaga gate...  a Galagate. .. lol. :)

 

Does the programmer managed to reproduce the issue?

 

NIAD is right, modded hardware could be the cause too.   For instance Battle of Hoth does not work properly if the console is modded with a FA118. :(



#39 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,421 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:24 AM

My CV has Yurkie's composite out mod. The SGM I have was from the first release. Galaga is the only game I have that crashes.



#40 sega_SHARK OFFLINE  

sega_SHARK

    Dragonstomper

  • 748 posts
  • Location:YES!M!CH!GAN

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:35 AM

My CV was modded by Yurkie with a Composite Mod, BIOS skip, I am using a first run SGM.  The first copy of Galaga didn't work.  The second does work.

Was the ROM modified in the second run as well as the PCB?

I think the first run of Galaga had "push Spacebar" on the title screen.  Now it says "push button".



#41 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 737 posts

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:28 PM

mine says push space key hope no prob with this cart didnt have time to test it

#42 coleco_master OFFLINE  

coleco_master

    Dragonstomper

  • 645 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 5:37 PM

Hi guys, We have a fix for anyone who as a problem with is Galaga.

 

You can PM me anytime to return it, please return the cart only.

I will change the pcb and label. Sega_Shark is the only one that has return it yet,

On the new label it will say "REV A"

 

The new rom was tested in a few system without issue. Thank you!



#43 imstarryeyed OFFLINE  

imstarryeyed

    Moonsweeper

  • 272 posts

Posted Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:39 PM

Greetings Coleco-master,

Did the solution imply a hardware incompatibility between the cart and console?
I ask this as I was wondering if it was combo so those of us would know to send in our carts before we get our SGM when the 2nd batch are shipped.

I figure if there was a way to tell you can avoid a bunch of requests all at once when the SGM does come out?

Thank you again for the dedication to a great game.

#44 ValkerieSilk OFFLINE  

ValkerieSilk

    Stargunner

  • 1,250 posts
  • Location:Earth

Posted Wed Dec 3, 2014 11:48 AM

I have two Galaga carts.  I played the first one and on the second game, part way into Level 2, the graphics suddenly became corrupted as shown in the image below.  The enemy and my fighter were still visible and the game continued to play, i.e. I could move the fighter left and right and the enemy moved and flew down the screen.  So, it's not a complete crash of the program.  I played around 20 more games on the same cart and the problem didn't occur again.

 

I also played a bunch of games on my second cart and the problem didn't occur at all.

I thought you were just supposed to shoot all the letter B's on this level ;(



#45 iesposta ONLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,338 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Wed Dec 3, 2014 7:02 PM

I mailed my back to ColecoMaster November 19. 
Waiting for Rev.A. 
I have a Yurki composite mod ColecoVision and first run Supergame Module. 

#46 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,763 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Wed Dec 3, 2014 9:48 PM

While it's unfortunate that it has happened, it seems to be a programming bug that has been corrected and not an issue with any hardware incompatibilities.



#47 sega_SHARK OFFLINE  

sega_SHARK

    Dragonstomper

  • 748 posts
  • Location:YES!M!CH!GAN

Posted Mon Dec 15, 2014 6:25 PM

Level 25 and counting...  

I can't stop playing...

 

help

 

:D

IMG_0939_zps90aaa24f.jpg



#48 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,763 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:14 PM

Level 25 and counting...  
I can't stop playing...
 
help
 
:D
IMG_0939_zps90aaa24f.jpg

Great games are meant to be played!!!

#49 slab0meat OFFLINE  

slab0meat

    Stargunner

  • 1,457 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:30 PM

Level 25 and counting...  

I can't stop playing...

 

help

 

:D

 

 

 

Whereas, I can't START playing... games on the shelf and still no SGM............

 

:_(



#50 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,763 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:27 AM

If you have an ADAM Computer, the game will work but with no sound.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users