Jump to content

Photo

sd cartridge for 7800?


1324 replies to this topic

#1 metzger130 OFFLINE  

metzger130

    Moonsweeper

  • 259 posts

Posted Mon Oct 13, 2014 7:33 PM

While I do have some games for the 7800, some of the ones I would like to find are a bit more expensive, such as ninja golf, I was wondering if there is a cartridge for the 7800 that uses sd to put the games on?  if not, any idea if one will become available?  Seems like the rest of the systems have them, but don't know of one for the 7800.



#2 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,779 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:23 PM

There was one made 12 or so years ago that was produced in low numbers and is expensive to buy when someone is looking to make a pile of cash. There is talk of a harmony cart like the 2600 of sorts for the 7800 that has lots of us waiting.
Its release date is hopefully in the next few years as not having a multi sd cart for the 7800 is easily the biggest drawback of playing the 7800. Until then get in line. I have no idea why no one has made one for the 7800. heck the intellivision has a couple multicarts?? no idea why? The a8bit computer has several as well.

#3 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 32,464 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:41 PM

http://www.schells.com/cc2.shtml  This cart sold out many years ago.

 

Batari is working on a Harmony flash cart for the 7800, which should include an emulated POKEY and work with every game that exists to date.  I don't know about years, but soon in terms of months is probably an accurate guess.

 

I made an NVRAM based cart, which can be flashed with one game at a time, I designed it for developers in mind and not ROM collectors.  A link to more info can be found in my signature, or the search feature with "MCP devcart", as the search term.



#4 Gregory DG OFFLINE  

Gregory DG

    TAT IS BACK!

  • 11,220 posts
  • Go Cardinals!
  • Location:Winter Haven, FL

Posted Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:48 PM

Yes, the Cuttle Cart 2 which is amazing. Let's you save your high scores, play 2600 games and SuperCharger games too. But it hasn't been in production since 2004. Originally sold for $200...

 

http://www.ataritime...?ArticleIDX=464

 

So, the 7800 Harmony Cart isn't out yet? Hmm...



#5 7800 OFFLINE  

7800

    Dragonstomper

  • 659 posts
  • Miserable SOB
  • Location:Westchester County, New York

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:35 AM

I thought the new Harmony cart for 7800 was going to be an SD cart. :(



#6 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,779 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:47 AM

I thought the new Harmony cart for 7800 was going to be an SD cart. :(

I think it is. Who said it wasnt. Just not out yet.

#7 7800 OFFLINE  

7800

    Dragonstomper

  • 659 posts
  • Miserable SOB
  • Location:Westchester County, New York

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:49 AM

Post #3...

 

"Batari is working on a Harmony flash cart for the 7800"



#8 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,779 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:19 AM

Post #3...
 
"Batari is working on a Harmony flash cart for the 7800"

ok I am not with it. sorry.

#9 Trebor OFFLINE  

Trebor

    River Patroller

  • 4,223 posts

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:32 AM

SD cards are often referred to as flash (memory) cards, and cartridges/multi-carts that are built utilizing SD cards are often called flash carts.  I think there's just a misunderstanding and semantics at play here.  The original Harmony uses SD cards.  The Harmony Encore uses SD cards, and it is extremely probable that Harmony Concerto will be using SD cards as well.  

 

SD is a type of flash memory format, and the dominant one for quite a number of years now.



#10 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,181 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:37 AM

In theory an adaptor could be made to allow using Atarimax flashcarts from the computer on the 7800.

Problem is though, they only use 8K address range which would limit what games could be run off them.  Plus the banking is different - I imagine no existing 7800 games would be 8K visible with the entire range bankswitched.



#11 78001987 OFFLINE  

78001987

    Stargunner

  • 1,230 posts

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:34 AM

Post #3...

 

"Batari is working on a Harmony flash cart for the 7800"

It is an SD cart. Flash is the type of memory the cart uses for it's temporary storage to feed the Console. It reads the roms from an SD card and places them in an internal flash memory, just like the Harmony cart for the 2600.



#12 7800 OFFLINE  

7800

    Dragonstomper

  • 659 posts
  • Miserable SOB
  • Location:Westchester County, New York

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:58 AM

Thanks for the clarification everyone. :)



#13 batari OFFLINE  

batari

    )66]U('=I;B$*

  • 6,663 posts
  • begin 644 contest

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:42 PM

Should be ready early next year, I hope.

 

Got these in two weeks ago :) The hardware was redesigned from the ground up, and I have to rewrite much of the code too. When I have something more to show you all, I will.

 

But this will be the final major redesign. Really.

Attached Thumbnails

  • concertov04.JPG


#14 tep392 OFFLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • 2,772 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:16 PM

Should be ready early next year, I hope.

 

Got these in two weeks ago :) The hardware was redesigned from the ground up, and I have to rewrite much of the code too. When I have something more to show you all, I will.

 

But this will be the final major redesign. Really.

Looks Awsome!  I'm curious why you chose to design the board for a full POKEY chip vs. putting your HOKEY components directly on the board.



#15 batari OFFLINE  

batari

    )66]U('=I;B$*

  • 6,663 posts
  • begin 644 contest

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 12:19 AM

I have a number of reasons for it, but one is that you can use a real POKEY if you want (Of course, I won't supply any real POKEY chips, I only have 2 or 3 of them!)



#16 godzillajoe OFFLINE  

godzillajoe

    River Patroller

  • 2,568 posts
  • Location:watch city, ma

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 2:15 AM

Can you rip a pokey out of an existing cart if you have one?

 

BTW I love my CC2.

 

Think I paid $375 for it on eBay several years ago

 

Worth every penny



#17 Shawn OFFLINE  

Shawn

    Nodus Tollens

  • 16,778 posts

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:26 AM

Can you rip a pokey out of an existing cart if you have one?

 

 

You sure can. Ballblazer's around the world are just waiting to be sacrificed at the H2 altar! :evil:



#18 godzillajoe OFFLINE  

godzillajoe

    River Patroller

  • 2,568 posts
  • Location:watch city, ma

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:42 AM

 

You sure can. Ballblazer's around the world are just waiting to be sacrificed at the H2 altar! :evil:

 

Is there desoldering or can you just yank it like a bad tooth?  :D



#19 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 15,335 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 4:03 AM

 

Is there desoldering or can you just yank it like a bad tooth?   :D

Yeah, go ahead and yank it. But first you need to heat it to 375 degrees, mhua-hua-hua!!! :evil:



#20 godzillajoe OFFLINE  

godzillajoe

    River Patroller

  • 2,568 posts
  • Location:watch city, ma

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 4:08 AM

The last time I used a soldering iron I destroyed my 7800.  Oopsy!



#21 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 15,335 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:07 AM

The last time I used a soldering iron I destroyed my 7800.  Oopsy!

Better leave it to the pros then. :_(  :_(  :_(

 

Many mistakes are repairable though. What were you trying to do?



#22 tep392 OFFLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • 2,772 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:41 AM

I have a number of reasons for it, but one is that you can use a real POKEY if you want (Of course, I won't supply any real POKEY chips, I only have 2 or 3 of them!)

Is Concerto going to be sold with that spot empty or will it include a HOKEY? Or maybe it's optional so people can use their own POKEY's ?



#23 7800 OFFLINE  

7800

    Dragonstomper

  • 659 posts
  • Miserable SOB
  • Location:Westchester County, New York

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 11:07 AM

Can someone give a quick description of what "Hokey" is?



#24 Trebor OFFLINE  

Trebor

    River Patroller

  • 4,223 posts

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 11:24 AM

Can someone give a quick description of what "Hokey" is?

 

Clone of POKEY.  In application for the Concerto Cart, the benefit of POKEY sound without needing an 'original' POKEY chip installed.

 

More here.



#25 Greg2600 OFFLINE  

Greg2600

    River Patroller

  • 2,792 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted Wed Oct 15, 2014 11:58 AM

Is Concerto going to be sold with that spot empty or will it include a HOKEY? Or maybe it's optional so people can use their own POKEY's ?

 

I'd assume there would an option.  Al spoke of giving the Hokey option on AA releases as well.  They probably haven't been produced yet though.






1 user(s) are browsing this forum

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users