Jump to content

Photo

2048K Cartridge


43 replies to this topic

#26 save2600 OFFLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,720 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Wed Jan 6, 2016 10:24 AM

Was playing Dig Dug the other night on the 2048k cart and discovered a bug or bad dump. When loosening a boulder, the animation is all messed up. Verified by playing the real cart afterwards. Thought you guys should know! 



#27 djugel OFFLINE  

djugel

    Star Raider

  • 86 posts
  • Location:Chicago

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:02 PM

HI!  First time poster ... Just rescued my old TI99 and PEB..  having fun collecting games I always dreamed of having.

 

Anywho..  is this cart going to be available again soon? 

It's out of stock at arcadeshopper


Edited by djugel, Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:07 PM.


#28 save2600 OFFLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,720 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:08 PM

HI!  First time poster ... Just rescued my old TI99 and PEB..  having fun collecting games I always dreamed of having.

 

Anywho..  is this cart going to be available again soon? 

 

 

Try hitting user Ksarul (Jim) or or arcadeshopper (Greg) here up for one...

 

-edit-



#29 djugel OFFLINE  

djugel

    Star Raider

  • 86 posts
  • Location:Chicago

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:14 PM

Thanks for the quick reply!  This forum is amazing! 

 

Stepping out the door.. I'll contact him/her shortly. 



#30 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 4,398 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:13 PM

HI!  First time poster ... Just rescued my old TI99 and PEB..  having fun collecting games I always dreamed of having.

 

Anywho..  is this cart going to be available again soon? 

It's out of stock at arcadeshopper

 

I'll have more stock next week prob..

 

Greg 

arcadeshopper.com



#31 djugel OFFLINE  

djugel

    Star Raider

  • 86 posts
  • Location:Chicago

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2016 5:13 PM

Great! I'll be watching

#32 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,318 posts

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2016 5:20 PM

I have some assembled cartridges on-hand at the moment.



#33 Serrameade6 OFFLINE  

Serrameade6

    Star Raider

  • 54 posts
  • Location:El Paso, Tx

Posted Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:07 AM

Hi Ksarul. Do you still have a 2048k cartridge available?.
Please let me know. Txs!

#34 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,318 posts

Posted Sun Mar 31, 2019 11:16 AM

I have plenty of the necessary parts and can build one for you today. 



#35 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 850 posts

Posted Sun May 5, 2019 9:28 PM

Is there any reason why the 2048K Cartridge does not appear in the selection menu on a TI-99/4 with the 32K attached to it? See at the end of this video


#36 iliketurtles OFFLINE  

iliketurtles

    Chopper Commander

  • 114 posts
  • Loading . . .

Posted Mon May 6, 2019 5:53 AM

It wasn't ever tested against a 99/4, but we can pull ours out and replicate the tests you did to see if it is a general issue. . .another thought is to test it against other ROM-only cartridges (TI didn't make any of these, so you have to try third-party or homebrew carts) to see if they work.



#37 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,514 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon May 6, 2019 3:44 PM

A lot of this stuff wasn't even tested against a /4.  The /4 also doesn't do ROM only carts (or at least the one that I have doesn't.)



#38 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 4,398 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon May 6, 2019 3:53 PM

A lot of this stuff wasn't even tested against a /4.  The /4 also doesn't do ROM only carts (or at least the one that I have doesn't.)

 

then that would explain it as it's a ROM cart.. 



#39 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,664 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Mon May 6, 2019 4:58 PM

Yep, just like the v2.2, the 99/4 needs a GROM for the menu. ;)

#40 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    >OLD CS1█

  • 6,158 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon May 6, 2019 6:38 PM

Yep, just like the v2.2, the 99/4 needs a GROM for the menu. ;)

 

This is noteworthy, and makes me wonder why the 4A OS dropped the GROM requirement.



#41 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,318 posts

Posted Mon May 6, 2019 6:41 PM

So, I guess the original /4A code that allowed the use of ROM-only cartridges was thus a bug that TI "fixed" with the V2.2 upgrade, as that was returning the machine's behavior with cartridges to its original 99/4 specification. . .



#42 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 4,398 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon May 6, 2019 9:16 PM

I wonder if the playground routine will work on a 4 then



#43 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,664 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Mon May 6, 2019 10:15 PM

More than likely, yeah, someone probably decided to use the extra space in the 4A ROM to add support for ROM cartridges. It's well documented that it was removed because TI felt third parties were abusing it. ;) I'd say the only mystery is whether adding it was deliberate, or just some kind-hearted engineer. ;)

We can test Playground on the 4 in Classic99. :) Just depends on whether the same buffer overflow is present (probably) and whether the scratchpad layout is compatible...

Edit: in a quick test all I had handy was the original 'LIFE' sample... all three modes on that crash. Which means the overflow part of the bug works, but the scratchpad layout is different. Edit2: tried again with the final release, and it crashes on the 4 too. ;)

Edited by Tursi, Mon May 6, 2019 10:29 PM.


#44 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 850 posts

Posted Sun May 12, 2019 12:50 PM

Thanks all for the replies!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users