IGNORED

[Help] Game engine written in assembly language and other questions

I am currently studying the assembly language using some books such as 'Atari Roots - A Guide to Atari Assembly Language' to make games in my spare time. I have several questions about this.

1. What is your development environment? (OS, Editor, Compiler)

2. Are there any kind of game engines written in assembly language such as MADS?

(Graphics initialization, sprite, sound, joystick engine and etc...)

3. What are the sprite and sound editor which you are currently using?

4. Recommended game source code written in assembly language to study the game development?

Thank you in advance.

Hi,

1. I'm working under Linux with Geany (as editor) and my own buggy assembler (similar to Mads but much simpler).

2. I don't think that there is any ready-to-use game engine. No such resources on a8. Graphics routines should be fit to your requirements (colors, modes, sprites, layout, etc...). Joystick is very easy - just read proper register. Sound is supported by tracker (msx player).

3. For sprites - I created own conversion tools from PC's .TGA format (created by modern paint stuff). Sound - there are various tools. On windows is Raster Music Tracker. In my soft music is composed on A8 using Theta Music Composer.

4. IMHO - it's hard to say. All final sources are optimized - code can be hard to read. Here you have some of them: http://sources.pigwa.net/?page=3

• Like 1

Crimson Editor, firing the source through Xasm for the Atari 8-bit or ACME/Pasmo for other platforms. All running on a collection of Windows XP boxes.

2. Are there any kind of game engines written in assembly language such as MADS?