IGNORED

New to Ti emulationm help needed.

MrGonker

Hello everyone, I'm new to Ti99 emulation. I have had a ti99/4a since 1983 and always used to like writing my own games in basic and extended basic. However now my Ti has a problem (keeps crashing after in use for more than half an hour) I thought I'd go with an emulator. At the moment I use win994a and classic 99. Win994a runs perfect and I like the tape feature which I use to save my XB programs. I find classic 99 however to be ok but when trying some XB games like intrigues Quasimodo it runs very slow despite what settings I try. What I want to know though is there anyway I can get these games working on win994a? I have tried renaming the dsk image to TIDisk and ir shows in win994a disk manager but I am unable to get it to load. (to be honest I'm not sure what I'm doing with disks hence why I use tapes). Also is there anyway of pasting a txt file into win994a? I know I can do it with classic 99 but again it seems to run really slow. Or should I use another emulator? I see MESS mentioned alot but I couldnt get rhe Ti99 to work on that with dsk images as well. I have used TiDir to view the dsk image as a txt file but other than printing it out and typing it in manually I am struggling a bit.

Thanks for any help

I see MESS mentioned alot but I couldnt get rhe Ti99 to work on that with dsk images as well. I have used TiDir to view the dsk image as a txt file but other than printing it out and typing it in manually I am struggling a bit.

Welcome to our forum!

I'm maintaining the TI-99-related parts of MESS, so if you are interested I can give you some advice to get it going. Also, for handling images I can offer my TIImageTool that is based on Java; see http://www.ninerpedia.org/index.php/TIImageTool

As for MESS, you cannot (reliably) paste text into the emulation. I am preparing that feature for my next release of TIImageTool so that you would paste it on a disk image instead of into the emulation itself.