Jump to content

Photo

ATR8000 Reversing Project


25 replies to this topic

#1 Jim Patchell OFFLINE  

Jim Patchell

    Space Invader

  • 36 posts
  • Location:Goleta, CA USAS

Posted Fri Nov 28, 2014 4:34 PM

I decided it might be fun to reverse the ATR8000.  The schematic really sucks, at least, by todays standards.  My first step is to redraw the schematic.  The copy I have is a Rev C.  Were there any other revs? 

 

The second question is, does any body know the bit pattern in U46.  This part is a 32x8 prom.  But only 16x4 of it is being used.  It would be nice if somebody has already done this, but I will get it myself if I have to.

 

Just for fun, here is the image of the Data Separator for the ATR8000.

 

DataSeparator.png



#2 warerat OFFLINE  

warerat

    Moonsweeper

  • 426 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:18 PM

Hi Jim,

I have the bit sequence and equivalent GAL equations for this PROM. Only 16 bytes are used. I am out of state for Thanksgiving but will post them when I get back tomorrow or maybe someone can beat me to it.

#3 Jim Patchell OFFLINE  

Jim Patchell

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Goleta, CA USAS

Posted Fri Nov 28, 2014 7:56 PM

Pal equations will be Great!  Thanks.

-Jim



#4 warerat OFFLINE  

warerat

    Moonsweeper

  • 426 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:23 PM

The nibble data from low-to-high order addresses is:

$1, $1, $3, $2, $4, $3, $5, $4, $e, $e, $e, $e, $f, $f, $1, $0

 

D0 =>
    !A1 & !A2 & !A3
  # !A0 & A1 & !A3
  # !A0 & A2 & A3
  # A0 & !A1 & A2

 

D1 =>
    !A0 & !A1 & A2 & A3
  # A1 & !A2
  # A0 & !A1 & A2
  # !A1 & !A2 & A3

 

D2 =>
    A1 & !A2 & A3
  # !A0 & A2 & !A3
  # A0 & A1 & A2 & !A3
  # !A1 & A3

 

D3 =>
    A1 & !A2 & A3
  # !A1 & A3



#5 Jim Patchell OFFLINE  

Jim Patchell

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Goleta, CA USAS

Posted Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:37 PM

Thank you  very much.  This simplifies things a lot.



#6 Jim Patchell OFFLINE  

Jim Patchell

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Goleta, CA USAS

Posted Sun Nov 30, 2014 9:48 PM

I have updated the drawing, with the supplied info.  See Above.  I am working on getting the whole schematic redrawn.



#7 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 4,110 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Mon Dec 1, 2014 4:48 AM

Maybe a new pcb could be somewhat smaller... ;)

 

-Larry



#8 Jim Patchell OFFLINE  

Jim Patchell

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Goleta, CA USAS

Posted Mon Dec 1, 2014 7:48 PM

Ultimate goal is to put the whole thing into an FPGA. 



#9 Bill Lange OFFLINE  

Bill Lange

    Dragonstomper

  • 984 posts
  • Location:Somerset, NJ

Posted Mon Dec 1, 2014 10:13 PM

Found this ad in Analog #20

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • atr8000_ad_analog20.png


#10 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Stargunner

  • 1,170 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Tue Dec 2, 2014 12:01 AM

Do the ATR8500 with Hard Drive support.



#11 TXG/MNX ONLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,637 posts

Posted Wed Dec 3, 2014 3:20 PM

Yep 8500 sound nice never saw info/pics abput that

#12 ricortes OFFLINE  

ricortes

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts

Posted Wed Dec 3, 2014 7:54 PM

For some reason I thought the 8500 needed a co-power88 board to work. Can anyone confirm this? I also thought the 8500 was scsi so a bit hard to find drives nowadays. hehe a bit hard to find floppies too! :)

#13 Subby OFFLINE  

Subby

    Moonsweeper

  • 259 posts
  • Location:Atlanta

Posted Sun Dec 7, 2014 2:40 PM

Now there is something that needs to be duplicated, the Co-Power88 board.



#14 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • 3,242 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Dec 8, 2014 8:54 AM

As someone who actually had one:

 

It's like every other modicum of MS-DOS compatibility from 1982 to 1984...it's OS compatible, not hardware compatible, IBM PC stuff which addresses hardware directly (Lotus 1-2-3) will not work.

 

The advantage to have one, seriously, is for the RAMDISK.

 

-Thom



#15 ricortes OFFLINE  

ricortes

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts

Posted Mon Dec 8, 2014 10:36 AM

Well, it is a hobby! :)

If only I had a Co-Power88. I could use it to run a CP/M emulator that would run a 6502 emulator that would run a Z-machine interpreter and play Zork.<sic>

I had a Sanyo MBC550<?> back in the day. Even belonged to a user group. Fortunately the guy who ran the user group was no small genius who patched everything to work with our hardware. Soon as I got a clone that had better compatibility I gave the Sanyo to my kids. I think I had absconded with one of the disk drives from the Sanyo for another project so just used electrical tape to cover the hole. After several months I got a report back that the computer was no longer working. I opened it up and my kids had shoved a sandwich through the electrical tape and into the computer. I'm not sure, I think they also shoved a VHS tape in there. Expecting to watch a video I imagine. I never fixed it but may have a copy of MS DOS 1.1ish for the Sanyo laying around on a 160k floppy somewhere.

Using those loosely compatibles was not that horrible. They all ran WordStar and had some level of floppy compatibility. I think I still have a version of LISP for the machine too.

#16 warerat OFFLINE  

warerat

    Moonsweeper

  • 426 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Mon Dec 8, 2014 6:49 PM

All this talk about the Co-Power made me pull mine out.  My ATR-8000 came equipped with the Co-Power Plus with 1MB of memory.  This board and the regulator are mounted below the Z80 motherboard.  It's a pretty simple setup and would be trivial to reproduce with a handful of ICs, a CPLD, and some SRAM.  Unfortunately I don't have CP/M up and running to test it.

 

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20141208_183537.jpg


#17 pixelmischief OFFLINE  

pixelmischief

    Stargunner

  • 1,288 posts

Posted Mon Dec 8, 2014 7:13 PM

All this talk about the Co-Power made me pull mine out.

 

 Whoa, dude. Put that away.  There's kids.



#18 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,649 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Mon Dec 8, 2014 7:32 PM

 Whoa, dude. Put that away.  There's kids.

That thing's bigger than a pay-phone, smaller than a Cadillac :)



#19 TheEditor OFFLINE  

TheEditor

    Chopper Commander

  • 162 posts

Posted Mon Dec 8, 2014 8:45 PM

Not sure if it will help but I found quite a bit of info on the ATR8000 on this page, http://blog.3b2.sk/i...t/ATR-8000.aspx

 

There is also a link for schematics, I have not looked yet to see how indepth they may be.



#20 Wally1 OFFLINE  

Wally1

    Moonsweeper

  • 393 posts
  • RAP SUCKS!

Posted Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:30 AM

best of luck with this...looking forward to it!



#21 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,937 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:12 PM

Very nice link! Useful!



#22 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Stargunner

  • 1,170 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:23 PM

All this talk about the Co-Power made me pull mine out.  My ATR-8000 came equipped with the Co-Power Plus with 1MB of memory.  This board and the regulator are mounted below the Z80 motherboard.  It's a pretty simple setup and would be trivial to reproduce with a handful of ICs, a CPLD, and some SRAM.  Unfortunately I don't have CP/M up and running to test it.

 

 

 

 

Nice Co-Power II/Plus board.



#23 evilmoo OFFLINE  

evilmoo

    Chopper Commander

  • 143 posts

Posted Fri Dec 19, 2014 5:52 AM

All this talk about the Co-Power made me pull mine out. 

 

Can you dump that ROM chip?



#24 warerat OFFLINE  

warerat

    Moonsweeper

  • 426 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:22 AM

 

Can you dump that ROM chip?

 

Yep.. This goes on a 2732, but really only about 1.5K is used.

Attached Files



#25 Almost Rice OFFLINE  

Almost Rice

    River Patroller

  • 2,086 posts
  • Prius rocks
  • Location:Houston

Posted Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:19 AM

wow, I just notice the address.  I will be in that area in a couple days.  I'll stop and take some pictures.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users