Jump to content

Photo

Found unknown (Dutch) ROM (R.OS v2 5-1990)

130XE ROM

15 replies to this topic

#1 SenorRossie OFFLINE  

SenorRossie

    Star Raider

  • 67 posts
  • Rediscovering the atari 8bit after 30 orso years
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Local Group, Milky Way, Solar System, Earth, Europe, The Netherlands, Flevoland, Almere

Posted Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:11 PM

A couple of weeks ago I purchased a beaten set of 8bit machines. One of them, a 130XE, booted into an unknown (to me that is) OS:

Screenshot.jpg

After booting the ROM, the machine doesn't respond to anything, but the RESET button.  I've contacted a couple of folks that could know more about this, but that came up empty, hence this post.

 

A couple more shots of the inside of the system with things that stood out (to me):

ROM.jpg

Wire Keyboard-C94.jpg

 

Anyone got some more info on this?

 

I plan on creating a dump somewhere next week, but any info on the ROM is welcome.

 

 

Kind regards,

Senor Rossie

 

P.S. Happy New Year !

 

 

 



#2 TXG/MNX OFFLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,633 posts

Posted Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:27 PM

Yes dump nice find :-)

#3 David_P OFFLINE  

David_P

    Dragonstomper

  • 928 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:46 PM

Have you tried swapping out the keyboard?  The boot prompt suggests that START and SELECT should be active - maybe the keyboard on that unit is bad?



#4 SenorRossie OFFLINE  

SenorRossie

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 67 posts
  • Rediscovering the atari 8bit after 30 orso years
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Local Group, Milky Way, Solar System, Earth, Europe, The Netherlands, Flevoland, Almere

Posted Fri Jan 2, 2015 7:13 AM

Have you tried swapping out the keyboard?  The boot prompt suggests that START and SELECT should be active - maybe the keyboard on that unit is bad?

I tested the hardware with a known working ROM and except for the HELP key, the keyboard worked fine.



#5 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,600 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Fri Jan 2, 2015 5:53 PM

Groningen is a city in The Netherlands for sure.....but never heard of this....maybe it was for some dedicated purpose ?

#6 adam242 OFFLINE  

adam242

    Dragonstomper

  • 997 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Fri Jan 2, 2015 6:19 PM

Maybe START or SELECT needs to be held down at power up?

(Grasping at a straw)

#7 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,315 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri Jan 2, 2015 8:06 PM

Or while Reset is pressed?



#8 Sikor OFFLINE  

Sikor

    Stargunner

  • 1,451 posts
  • Location:Warsaw/Poland

Posted Fri Jan 2, 2015 11:58 PM

I think, that not only OS ROM was change. I think, that also BASIC ROM must be read. With START you can go to Atari Basic, with Select - to other ones, user defines (and write into eprom with language - for example: Action!, Basic XE, or any tool). So, I think - both must be read: OS ROM i BASIC/otherone ROM.



#9 SenorRossie OFFLINE  

SenorRossie

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 67 posts
  • Rediscovering the atari 8bit after 30 orso years
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Local Group, Milky Way, Solar System, Earth, Europe, The Netherlands, Flevoland, Almere

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 2:42 PM

Thanks to Frankenstein's romsaver utility (http://atariage.com/...-rom-basic-rom/), I was able to dump the ROM.

 

I started with running the romsaver atr from a MyIDE][ cart, but that ended up in 'BOOT ERROR', so I tried to use my SIO2PI setup to boot the ATR, which again resulted in a 'BOOT ERROR' message. So, I opted for another route: I booted a DOS2.0s atr from the SIO2Pi D1, and added the romsaver.atr as D2. I ran the romsaver.com from D2: and swapped D1 with a blank formatted disk (Attached File  R_OS_v2.atr   90.02KB   179 downloads).

 



#10 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • 2,670 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 2:59 PM

BASIC ROM is vanilla rev C.

 

Besides the startup change, looks like the OS also has mods to the cassette tape routines, probably for turbo. Other than that it's mostly the same as the XL/XE OS.



#11 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,600 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 5:29 AM

Is that a 100% reliable way of dumping the ROM ? I've got an EPROM programmer that can read the ROM if needed.

#12 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,872 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 5:17 PM

Thanks to Frankenstein's romsaver utility (http://atariage.com/...-rom-basic-rom/), I was able to dump the ROM.

I don't see the attachment in that blog,  can you re-post?



#13 F#READY OFFLINE  

F#READY

    Star Raider

  • 98 posts

Posted Mon Jan 5, 2015 1:26 AM

Oops! Added now:
http://atariage.com/...-rom-basic-rom/

Will upload the source code later...

#14 SenorRossie OFFLINE  

SenorRossie

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 67 posts
  • Rediscovering the atari 8bit after 30 orso years
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Local Group, Milky Way, Solar System, Earth, Europe, The Netherlands, Flevoland, Almere

Posted Mon Jan 5, 2015 5:10 AM

Is that a 100% reliable way of dumping the ROM ? I've got an EPROM programmer that can read the ROM if needed.

I don't know wether it is a 100% reliable way of dumping the ROM. But if you can bring the EPROM programmer to Maarssen in two months, I'll bring the 130XE with me ;)



#15 SenorRossie OFFLINE  

SenorRossie

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 67 posts
  • Rediscovering the atari 8bit after 30 orso years
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Local Group, Milky Way, Solar System, Earth, Europe, The Netherlands, Flevoland, Almere

Posted Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:19 PM

Apologies for (necro)bumping this topic, but I found some additional info on the R.OS ROM while searching for ROMS to flash on my Antonia card.

Seems it contains an, ATARI compatible, modified OS with 2400baud cassette interface as Phaeron pointed out already.

When I dig up the machine again, I'll see if it contains the 16k BASIC EEPROM and will have a go at dumping its contents, but for now: Case closed.

#16 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,600 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:01 AM

Hope to make it to Maarssen next Atari event !!!!







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 130XE, ROM

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users