Jump to content

Photo

So, I was playing around with some binaries today....


78 replies to this topic

#1 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • 4,712 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 8:46 PM

...and I got this working...

 

...it's running the ST code directly...

 

Any interest? :D

 

rickydee1.png rickydee2.png rickydee3.png rickydee4.png rickydee5.png rickydee6.png

 



#2 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,023 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 9:01 PM

Wow, not bad.  So what tweeking was needed on this?



#3 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,712 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 9:03 PM

Wow, not bad.  So what tweeking was needed on this?

 

Same methods as used on Bubble Bobble, Mercenary, Virus and Buggy Boy - dump the ST binary, and patch it up until it works.

 

Basic introduction here: http://reboot.atari....edirection.html

 

I still need to:

 

Patch the sprite routine to use the GPU (just like I did in Bubble Bobble)

Intercept the sample calls

Replace the music with the amiga modules (I hope the amiga had modules!)


Edited by CyranoJ, Sat Jan 3, 2015 9:05 PM.


#4 PeterG OFFLINE  

PeterG

    Dragonstomper

  • 769 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 9:15 PM

Hah, played the hell out of the second one on my ST. Could give this one a try in my Jag.:)

#5 save2600 OFFLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 14,027 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 9:23 PM

http://www.rickdange...o.uk/sounds.htm



#6 ovalbugmann OFFLINE  

ovalbugmann

    River Patroller

  • 2,436 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, Arizona

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 9:27 PM

Awesome! Yes, that looks like a fun game, would love to have it on the Jag.☺


Edited by ovalbugmann, Sat Jan 3, 2015 10:21 PM.


#7 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,712 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 9:38 PM

 

Thanks :)



#8 travistouchdown ONLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 3,588 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2015 10:44 PM

This looks awesome, I'd like to give it a go.  You know what else was on the Atari ST? An excellent port of Gauntlet...... :) !

 

Speaking of which, I'd love to play Bubble Bobble on my Jag (just snapped it up on the cheap for 3DO).  Have you made that available anywhere par chance?

 

Thanks CJ



#9 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,712 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 12:50 AM

 Have you made that available anywhere par chance?

 

 

Bubble Bobble is here: http://atariage.com/...-3#entry2858859

 

^^ Cover your ears!



#10 Isgoed OFFLINE  

Isgoed

    Stargunner

  • 1,372 posts
  • Location:Holland

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 2:43 AM

This is great, played it on my ST recently!



#11 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,712 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 2:48 AM

Well, what the hell.

 

I'm getting sick of all the stuff sat on my HD anyway - have a binary ;)

 

Attached File  RAPAPP.ABS   259.84KB   209 downloads

 

No audio - but otherwise seems to be ok.  I'll keep plodding away at it I guess.



#12 Isgoed OFFLINE  

Isgoed

    Stargunner

  • 1,372 posts
  • Location:Holland

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 3:09 AM

Well, what the hell.

 

I'm getting sick of all the stuff sat on my HD anyway - have a binary ;)

 

attachicon.gifRAPAPP.ABS

 

No audio - but otherwise seems to be ok.  I'll keep plodding away at it I guess.

 

Can't get this running on the Skunk.

 

Also converted the file into a headerless rom, but still doesn't work.

 

The program seems to be flashed to the Skunk, but after that the screen stays black.



#13 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,712 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 3:43 AM

Its not a rom, don't flash it: JCP RAPAPP.ABS



#14 masematte OFFLINE  

masematte

    Dragonstomper

  • 611 posts
  • Location:Cologne Germany

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 4:13 AM

I used jiffi to create a rom (not headerless) and it works

#15 lotek_style OFFLINE  

lotek_style

    Moonsweeper

  • 258 posts
  • Location:www.tscc.de

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 4:25 AM

Nice!

 

Amiga version does not have mods btw: http://www.exotica.o.../Rick_Dangerous



#16 Isgoed OFFLINE  

Isgoed

    Stargunner

  • 1,372 posts
  • Location:Holland

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 6:16 AM

Got it to work, thanks guys!



#17 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,712 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 6:43 AM

Well, now you can delete it again :D

 

Here's one with sound effects*... just the music left now ;)

 

Attached File  RAPAPP.ABS   712.52KB   206 downloads

 

*thanks to XRick for the .wavs :)


  • ggn likes this

#18 Isgoed OFFLINE  

Isgoed

    Stargunner

  • 1,372 posts
  • Location:Holland

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 7:11 AM

Yes, this is much better :)



#19 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,023 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 9:38 AM

Nice!

 

Amiga version does not have mods btw: http://www.exotica.o.../Rick_Dangerous

 

Can confirm the lack of mods.  Was looking at the disk image last night...

 

2015-01-04 00.17.34.jpg

 

... and we have a music.spl file from what I see.

 

Checked the Mod Archive and no luck finding Rick Dangerous files there either.

 

Thought I would try to help save time in one leg of the search.



#20 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,023 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 9:41 AM

I used jiffi to create a rom (not headerless) and it works

 

Jiffi sounds familiar, but where can you find it?



#21 ggn OFFLINE  

ggn

    Stargunner

  • 1,210 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 9:45 AM

Well, you know this was forthcoming... New version with properly converted samples (damn it, what is it with indie jaguar coders and sound? Either they get the samples overdriven, or wrong sample rate, or, or or.... :P)

 

In any case, a non-ROM version including musics does look feasible now!

Attached Files



#22 ggn OFFLINE  

ggn

    Stargunner

  • 1,210 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 9:47 AM

Jiffi sounds familiar, but where can you find it?

 
http://reboot.atari....boot/jiffi.html and people have reported good results running it with wine on linux/osx.

Edited by ggn, Sun Jan 4, 2015 10:06 AM.


#23 masematte OFFLINE  

masematte

    Dragonstomper

  • 611 posts
  • Location:Cologne Germany

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 9:53 AM

http://reboot.atari....boot/jiffi.html

#24 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,736 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:North, England

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 11:14 AM

:cool: I both loved and hated this game back in the day :lol:.

#25 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 6,585 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2015 12:59 PM

Looks good....






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users