Jump to content

Photo

Something else with a II in the title...


130 replies to this topic

#26 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,533 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Thu Jan 8, 2015 11:00 PM

lol that's an awesome picture.



#27 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,441 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Thu Jan 8, 2015 11:23 PM

 

What's needed to speed up slow skunkboard connections again? USB hub? PCI card with usb connectors? 

 

I've tried repeaters (no use), expensive usb powered hubs (no use) and cheap $4 unpowered hubs (hurrah! it works!) - so, your guess is as good as mine!



#28 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,533 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 2:55 AM

loaded it up at 7kb/s. I just had to walk away and do something else. probably took ten minutes. I don't know. when I came back it was up. Very enjoyable though way better two player. 

 

Thanks CJ! Will dig into the others.

 

How hard would it be to adapt a role playing ST binary? Too hard? Like The City or The Dungeon? Save games would probably make it undoable.

 



#29 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,441 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 3:06 AM

How hard would it be to adapt a role playing ST binary? Too hard? Like The City or The Dungeon? Save games would probably make it undoable.

 

 

I don't like them, so probably totally impossible due to motivational issues  :)


Edited by CyranoJ, Fri Jan 9, 2015 3:11 AM.


#30 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,942 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 9:26 AM

loaded it up at 7kb/s. I just had to walk away and do something else. probably took ten minutes. I don't know. when I came back it was up. Very enjoyable though way better two player. 

 

Thanks CJ! Will dig into the others.

 

How hard would it be to adapt a role playing ST binary? Too hard? Like The City or The Dungeon? Save games would probably make it undoable.

 

 

If the protection scheme is anything like the 8bit version you'd have more luck writing Quake from scratch for the Jag that work on this title.  I love the AR series and would love to see it on the Jag but the titles coming out have been awesome :)



#31 Bill Loguidice ONLINE  

Bill Loguidice

    Quadrunner

  • 6,901 posts
  • Armchair Arcade Managing Director
  • Location:Burlington, New Jersey, USA

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 9:40 AM

 

If the protection scheme is anything like the 8bit version you'd have more luck writing Quake from scratch for the Jag that work on this title.  I love the AR series and would love to see it on the Jag but the titles coming out have been awesome :)

 

Not to take this too far off topic, but does anyone know is there was ever any luck in using different WADs on the Jaguar's version of Doom?



#32 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,942 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 12:40 PM

 

Not to take this too far off topic, but does anyone know is there was ever any luck in using different WADs on the Jaguar's version of Doom?

 

Yes this is possible with a skunk cart and some tools that were posted a long time ago.  There are a # of restrictions and if you want to use an existing WAD it must be converted to the restricted elements that Jag Doom supports.  Someone converted a majority of the Doom II WAD files to run on the Jag - for the most part it ran pretty well :)

 

I created 1 level that was to contribute to a new WAD for JagDoom but the project got cancelled.



#33 108 Stars OFFLINE  

108 Stars

    River Patroller

  • 2,275 posts
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 3:40 PM

I guess there is no hope for Llamatron, or better yet Rude Llamatron running on the Jaguar? I don't know if a sourcecode is available, nor would I know where to search for it tbh.



#34 Paul Westphal OFFLINE  

Paul Westphal

    Stargunner

  • 1,280 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 4:24 PM

One word for CJ : Completed soulstar. Oops that's two.

#35 108 Stars OFFLINE  

108 Stars

    River Patroller

  • 2,275 posts
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 5:09 PM

Five words: Square Enix loves legal action. :D



#36 Der Luchs OFFLINE  

Der Luchs

    Dragonstomper

  • 856 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 6:13 PM

Very cool ^^

#37 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,441 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 6:43 PM

One word for CJ  Neo-RG: Completed soulstar. Oops that's two.

 

Fixed it for you.



#38 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,533 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 6:46 PM

Five words: Square Enix loves legal action. :D

 

Rebellion owns the rights to Core now I do believe. 



#39 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,441 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Jan 9, 2015 11:54 PM

Right, so I think I've fixed all the audio, all the chained samples....

(Note: the [colour] sample doesn't play in VJ because the 68000 is too fast, but it works on a Jaguar)

  • Welcome [colour] [class]
  • [colour] [class] your life force is running out
  • etc

...seem to be working fine :)

 

Fixed the 'CONJURING' screen:

conj.png

 

Just the raster colours in the title screen to do now - although no rush for that. I'm calling this one done for now :)

 

Attached File  gaunt2.rom   4MB   179 downloads

 

 



#40 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ***Moon Patrol 5200*** *Moon Master2015* *Blue Max:Class 4*

  • 7,617 posts
  • *Star Raiders 2* **Captain -CL 2**
  • Location:*Star Raiders * *Star Commander -CL 1*

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:44 AM

CJ this is great!  I've done a lot of Gauntlet playing of the various editions over the years so this will be fun to try out.

 

You are really getting the converting of ST games down to a science now.  I guess your eyes have just grown accustomed on what to look for.

 

So are you trying to hone in on the 68000 mainly based games?  

 

I think what amazes me the most is getting an ST game to work on a Jaguar controller.



#41 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,441 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:50 AM

CJ this is great!  I've done a lot of Gauntlet playing of the various editions over the years so this will be fun to try out./quote

 

 

Thanks, I've always thought this was a really good conversion. Played it to death on the ST.

 

So are you trying to hone in on the 68000 mainly based games?  

 

 

All ST games are 68000 based ;)

 

I think what amazes me the most is getting an ST game to work on a Jaguar controller.

 

 

Err, Ok ;)



#42 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,533 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:59 AM

Thanks CJ, will be forcing my roommate to play this with me in a moment.



#43 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,441 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:47 AM

OK I lied, I wasn't done:

 

I fixed the title picture rasters  (Many thanks to Automation CD#1 background for providing the RGB values to lazy me) 

 

g2rast.png

 

Also, I realized that the file was only 1.91MB... so its now a 2mb ROM (that should please JC's 7k/second setup, LOL)

 

Attached File  gaunt2.rom   2MB   166 downloads

 

NOW I'M DONE*

 

*Until the Teamtap arrives in the mail from ggn :P


Edited by CyranoJ, Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:53 AM.


#44 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,441 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:41 AM

OK, I have NO IDEA if this will work because I don't have a TeamTAP.

 

Can someone who DOES HAVE ONE, try this WITH and WITHOUT the TeamTAP and confirm if it works please? All 4 players should be working.

 

NOTE: The TeamTAP must be connected at boot, you can't plug it in/out while its running.

 

Thanks.

 

Attached File  gaunt2.rom   2MB   203 downloads


Edited by CyranoJ, Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:47 AM.


#45 SCPCD OFFLINE  

SCPCD

    Star Raider

  • 67 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 4:26 AM

Just tried it with and wihtout a team tap, and it works fine :)



#46 108 Stars OFFLINE  

108 Stars

    River Patroller

  • 2,275 posts
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:00 AM

 

Rebellion owns the rights to Core now I do believe. 

That's an interesting notion, as I did not know about the Rebellion deal.

Looking into it, I see that the studio and "assets",whatever those may be, were bought by Rebellion. Yet the brand name and IP remained with Eidos, and thus were ultimately sold to Square Enix. Which is why for example Tomb Raider is a SE game.

 

I don't know for sure if old games are part of the "assets" bought by Rebellion, but my money is on that they belong to the IP and brands part that is in SE's hands now.



#47 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,158 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:26 AM

OK, I have NO IDEA if this will work because I don't have a TeamTAP.
 
Can someone who DOES HAVE ONE, try this WITH and WITHOUT the TeamTAP and confirm if it works please? All 4 players should be working.
 
NOTE: The TeamTAP must be connected at boot, you can't plug it in/out while its running.
 
Thanks.
 
gaunt2.rom

I can try it out after I off from work. If no one gets to before I do.

#48 Isgoed OFFLINE  

Isgoed

    Stargunner

  • 1,418 posts
  • Location:Holland

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:09 AM

Also tried this with and without Team Tap, works ok at 50 and 60Hz.

 

There is not always sound when shooting arrows, and/or hitting monsters, and if it the shooting sound is present, then it's only for player one.

 

Two minor things that I noticed that doesn't affect gameplay,

- the gamespeed on Jaguar seems faster then on the ST (just started the 1040STF up for comparison), but the intro music plays faster on ST and so is the speech during gameplay which sounds lighter and is higher pitched.

- when the next level is loading, then there is no hint text on the Jaguar.

 

Other than that, it's pretty awesome :)


Edited by Isgoed, Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:10 AM.


#49 Charlie_ OFFLINE  

Charlie_

    River Patroller

  • 2,900 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:21 PM

Awesome work CJ!

I don't play around with my Jag / CD too much, but is there a way to play this rom with a CD system? I don't have any type of flashcart for the Jag.

#50 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,315 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:01 PM

Thanks for continuing to work on this!! It's pretty much done now, correct?  Gauntlet II was a game worthy of the royal treatment (i.e. completion) and I know more people than will say so really appreciate it and will get a LOT of play time out of this. Not to mention the much needed (on the jag) multi-player capability.  I know it's got a permanent home on flash slot 1 of my Skunk for the foreseeable future and will be a reason for me to pull out the team tap for years to come.

 

I realize now my question about getting rid of the borders was dumb as that's in the code.  I googled different versions of Gauntlet II and they all have borders of some sort anyway.

 

Thanks again!!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users