Jump to content

Photo

HDMI for the TI


80 replies to this topic

#1 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:02 AM

<< THIS GADGET >>

turned up on another part of Atari Age.  It'll let you convert your TI's F18A output into HDMI... and even combine the audio & video together.  

 

At first I didn't see a need for it, until the guy told me that many of the newer TV's coming out  - no longer have VGA connectors -.  Also I got to thinking, maybe our European friends could use it too.

 

Anyway I thought it was neat, so decided to share...

 

61MRemyvH1L._SL1040_.jpg



#2 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,474 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:39 AM

Does HDMI include an analog channel? I wonder how it is possible to convert an analog VGA signal to a digital data stream as required by DVI-D or HDMI.



#3 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,766 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:55 AM

yes, I think it does excactly that converting, it´s a wizard :) hmmm, the cinch should be for (stereo?)-sound input ? and this micro-USB for power maybe.

#4 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:03 AM

A little more clarification...

maxresdefault.jpg

 

You might have a 'few cables' at the back of your TI... but only one going to the TV.

 

From the looks of what it comes with, you'll probably want to replace the original RF cable with a really short female audio connector wired up to split the TI's audio into two stereo channels.

 

415FhU8m77L._SY450_.jpg



#5 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,083 posts

Posted Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:49 AM

Interesting device. There are other variants that will also output S-Video or Composite RCA outputs--and which switch between NTSC and PAL.



#6 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:03 PM

Does HDMI include an analog channel? I wonder how it is possible to convert an analog VGA signal to a digital data stream as required by DVI-D or HDMI.

 

No.  It actually samples the signals and outputs digital.  FYI, those HammerHeads are really damn good.  I resell Sewell stuff and I have outfitted numerous installations with equipment like this, including a site where we went all digital and needed easy access for analog equipment.  Never been disappointed (except that they discontinued pretty much all of the video scalers.)

 

You would most likely need to power it with the USB cable as I doubt the F18A's VGA port delivers any power.  Though it can power itself from HDMI if available.



#7 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:21 PM

One could get a USB extension cable, hack off the male end and then tap the required 5v off of the consoles internal power supply.

Drill a small hole, make a knot in it so it will not come out any further than you want and you're good to go.

 

- OR -

 

The whole shooting match MIGHT be able to fit INTERNALLY in the TI.  Power, F18A connection and audio all between the 'clam shell' and case... then you just need the HDMI port...  that would be pretty slick looking.



#8 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:03 AM

With the new FlashROM 99 and JediMatt's new plug-in 32K project around the corner, the era of the small footprint TI console is just around the corner.  Who knows, by next year we might even have an RS-232 device or even a WIFI capable side-car device.  But as this era approaches, many of the newer TV's no longer have a VGA port (as I found out myself yesterday).  I thought it might be a good idea to re-visit this thread before all the remaining gadgets << like these >> disappear.  

 

I'm imagining a new project -- A single TI console, not taking up much space, but with full memory, hooked up to the big screen TV via a single HDMI cable.  Maybe someday this small footprint TI will also be able to communicate, without wires, over the home network to the HDX server on the PC.  

 

 



#9 Shift838 ONLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,908 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:15 AM

nice.  I like these.  Now I have to buy 2 of them!



#10 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    Stargunner

  • 1,841 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:22 AM

With the new FlashROM 99 .....

 

Uhm...what? I just got my "old I guess" kit last week. :(



#11 Shift838 ONLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,908 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:35 AM

Uhm...what? I just got my "old I guess" kit last week. :(

 

If you are talking about your flashrom99 kit, then it should be the same.  Omega is just talking about with all these new projects recently someone could make a smalle footprint TI-99/4A computer.



#12 Torrax OFFLINE  

Torrax

    Star Raider

  • 86 posts

Posted Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:06 PM

Another power solution is to use USB port on the HDTV to power the device.  As most newer HDTV's have both HDMI and USB connections.



#13 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:24 PM

Another power solution is to use USB port on the HDTV to power the device.  As most newer HDTV's have both HDMI and USB connections.

 

Wrong end.  The Hammerhead sits at the VGA device, so unless you are close... however, HDMI carries power.  Some HDMI devices are line-powered, and a lot are not.  Boggles my mind sometimes.

 

However, I have a wireless HDMI setup at my office.  The receiver is USB-powered and I use the USB port on the TV to power the receiver, which works very well.

 

To that end, these are AWESOME:

 

Wireless HDMI Transmitter and Receiver Kit

 

And you can get them here (another highly recommended vendor):

 

IOGEAR Wireless HDMI Transmitter and Receiver Kit

 

5GHz wireless HDMI.  The receiver supports up to four transmitters plus one local input.  I have not yet tested for range, but in my office they work amazingly well without any perceptible delays between the audio from the computers and the video on the TV.  At 5GHz, you are above the congestion of the over-used 2.4GHz wireless spectrum.  The only complaint I have, and it may actually be the TV, is how long it takes to switch inputs (15~30 seconds,) but I see that as an acceptable annoyance given the functionality gained.

 

I still have a 32" CRT TV, and when the time comes to replace it I will be getting a projector and will use this kit to maintain my cluster of entertainment equipment on one side of the room and the projector on the wall opposite (or wherever.)

 

The biggest plus about this kit versus other wireless HDMI is that it uses a real HDMI input, not a USB transmitter which requires drivers paired with an HDMI receiver.  I actually tried one of the IOgear wireless USB/HDMI video kits and performance was horrible.  Like almost every USB video device it uses the DisplayLink driver set.

 

Another kit I recommend is the Gefen wirelesss HDMI.  It is pricey, but works damn well.  I deployed one of these at a church and it works fantastic.  I am pretty certain the kit I deployed is a discontinued 2.4GHz set while this is 5Ghz, so I may have to give a YMMV warning.

 

Gefen Short-Range 5GHz Wireless Extender System for HDMI (33', US)

Available with a long-range transmitter:

Gefen Long-Range 5GHz Wireless Transmitter for HDMI (100', EU)

 

And, holy crap, looks like IOgear is coming out with a ridiculous long-range kit

IOGEAR Ultra Long Range Wireless HDMI Transmitter and Receiver Kit



#14 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,165 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Aug 17, 2016 8:45 AM

nice.  I like these.  Now I have to buy 2 of them!


Let us know if they are any good. Analog to digital video conerters all seem to render to frame buffer and then encode that.

-M@

#15 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:14 AM

Oh, I'm liking this!  Apparently latency is not an issue if you can play games with this thing.  Even though it's kind of spendy, I'd consider it if I could also have WiFi HDX capability in a sidecar unit.  



#16 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Sat Sep 3, 2016 5:34 PM

2481117-40.jpg?01AD=3EicDImpKllKMxx0gOei

 

This looks like a nice little connector for the back of the TI to go with an F18A and a Seawell mounted inside.



#17 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Mon Sep 5, 2016 11:28 AM

... but on second  look that one may be too big and this one is probably better.

short_hdmi_male_to_panel_mount_hdmi_fema

 

Has anyone here made an HDMI compatible TI yet?



#18 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,165 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:49 PM

I tried one of these with my TI & F18A last night. It worked really well, and a bunch cheaper than the hammerhead.

 

https://smile.amazon...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

I don't think I'll stuff it inside the console, but it does simplify my life, in that all my machines are on one HDMI switchbox. 

 

-M@



#19 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:45 PM

I tried one of these with my TI & F18A last night. It worked really well, and a bunch cheaper than the hammerhead.

 

https://smile.amazon...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

I don't think I'll stuff it inside the console, but it does simplify my life, in that all my machines are on one HDMI switchbox. 

 

-M@

 

Very cool... and I like the price.  I have a couple of questions Matt...

 

1.  Does it scale the output?

2. I read that there is some loss, is it really that noticeable?

3. Could you please take a photo for us?

 

This will probably be "the ticket" for most of us, thanks for bringing it to our attention.  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  :twisted:



#20 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,165 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Sep 14, 2016 9:10 PM

Very cool... and I like the price.  I have a couple of questions Matt...
 
1.  Does it scale the output?
2. I read that there is some loss, is it really that noticeable?
3. Could you please take a photo for us?
 
This will probably be "the ticket" for most of us, thanks for bringing it to our attention.  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  :twisted:


My TV says it is getting a 640x480 HDMI signal. So, no scaling in the little device.
I didn't notice any loss yet... I played a few rounds of Parsec and Midnight Mason, and everything looked very sharp. People reporting loss might have been working with more powerful sources than our friendly TI.
The 80 column mode looked good too.

I'll try and shoot some video when I get a chance.

-M@

#21 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:03 PM

I tried one of these with my TI & F18A last night. It worked really well, and a bunch cheaper than the hammerhead.

 

https://smile.amazon...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

I don't think I'll stuff it inside the console, but it does simplify my life, in that all my machines are on one HDMI switchbox. 

 

-M@

 

What is the power source?

 

Never mind.  I see the USB connector in another product photo.



#22 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,165 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:36 PM

Omega asked for video:  https://goo.gl/photo...hTc7pumXu5uxCf7

 

Here is a variety of action games... The angle is a little low, 'cellphone cam from desktop', but I think it shows the image is sharp and I don't see any loss... 

parsec lazer fire is basically the fastest animation in any TI game I know of, and it looks the same to me.  at about 14 minutes into the video.

 

-M@



#23 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:14 PM

I'll try and shoot some video when I get a chance.

 

 

Okay Matt, your video sold me.  I just bought << this one >> on eBay and will squirrel it away for another day.  Thanks for bringing this one to my attention.



#24 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,165 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:24 PM

 

 

Okay Matt, your video sold me.  I just bought << this one >> on eBay and will squirrel it away for another day.  Thanks for bringing this one to my attention.

 

Oh, nice, after shipping ( unless you are an 'amazon prime' user ) the ebay item ends up being cheaper even though the sticker price is otherwise a tad bit higher. 



#25 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Kwisatz Haderach

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,276 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:39 AM

I do find it interesting that he raised the price by one cent since I purchased mine.  Weird!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users