Jump to content

Photo

Telebunny doesn't work on the ADAM?


30 replies to this topic

#1 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,650 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:33 AM

I just tried my copy of Telebunny (real cartridge) on my ADAM, and it doesn't work. I see the first title screen, but instead of the second title screen, I get garbled graphics and sounds for a second and then the game resets, and it does this over and over again. I tried the same cartridge on my ColecoVision console and it works fine.

Has anyone else tried the Telebunny cartridge on their ADAM? I would just like to know if perhaps the problem is limited to my own ADAM only...

#2 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,255 posts

Posted Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:35 AM

Did you try with the SGM ? (on the CV not the ADAM)


Edited by youki, Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:35 AM.


#3 InfraMan OFFLINE  

InfraMan

    Chopper Commander

  • 195 posts
  • Location:North Carolina

Posted Sun Jan 25, 2015 12:22 PM

Did you try with the SGM ? (on the CV not the ADAM)

 

My copy of Telebunny works fine on the CV + SGM. I don't have an Adam to test on, unfortunately.



#4 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:54 PM

I just tested Telebunny and Comic Bakery on an ADAM Computer and neither one of them works.

 

- Comic Bakery locks up after the title screen (with the disclaimer about this version being a different port than Opcodes) and before the blue Konami title screen is displayed.

 

- Telebunny locks up at the language selection screen. All the screens leading up to this display fine.

 

I double checked these cartridges on a ColecoVision and they work perfectly, so it's strictly an issue when using them on an ADAM... or at least the Memory Console that I tested on and you are using as there were numerous revision and changes within revisions so I will have to test on a couple other Memory Consoles. BTW, the Memory Console that I was testing on can play SGM games like Thexder and King's Valley (no sound) without a SGM attached.


Edited by NIAD, Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:56 PM.


#5 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 7,650 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:05 PM

I just tested Telebunny and Comic Bakery on an ADAM Computer and neither one of them works.
 
- Comic Bakery locks up after the title screen (with the disclaimer about this version being a different port than Opcodes) and before the blue Konami title screen is displayed.
 
- Telebunny locks up at the language selection screen. All the screens leading up to this display fine.
 
I double checked these cartridges on a ColecoVision and they work perfectly, so it's strictly an issue when using them on an ADAM... or at least the Memory Console that I tested on and you are using as there were numerous revision and changes within revisions so I will have to test on a couple other Memory Consoles. BTW, the Memory Console that I was testing on can play SGM games like Thexder and King's Valley (no sound) without a SGM attached.


I just tested Comic Bakery and I get the same result on my ADAM. So it's not just me. Thanks for checking Jim. :)

#6 retroillucid OFFLINE  

retroillucid

    Facebook.com/Collectorvision

  • 7,427 posts
  • CollectorVision Games - Publishing Homebrew
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:55 PM

I just tested Telebunny and Comic Bakery on an ADAM Computer and neither one of them works.
 
- Comic Bakery locks up after the title screen (with the disclaimer about this version being a different port than Opcodes) and before the blue Konami title screen is displayed.
 
- Telebunny locks up at the language selection screen. All the screens leading up to this display fine.
 
I double checked these cartridges on a ColecoVision and they work perfectly, so it's strictly an issue when using them on an ADAM... or at least the Memory Console that I tested on and you are using as there were numerous revision and changes within revisions so I will have to test on a couple other Memory Consoles. BTW, the Memory Console that I was testing on can play SGM games like Thexder and King's Valley (no sound) without a SGM attached.

  

I just tested Comic Bakery and I get the same result on my ADAM. So it's not just me. Thanks for checking Jim. :)


That's mainly why we don't put ADAM mention on our boxes
These are designed to play on Colecovision first and foremost

#7 retroillucid OFFLINE  

retroillucid

    Facebook.com/Collectorvision

  • 7,427 posts
  • CollectorVision Games - Publishing Homebrew
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:28 PM

That's mainly why we don't put ADAM mention on our boxes
These are designed to play on Colecovision first and foremost


Looks like I'm wrong on that one :roll:
We indeed put ADAM mention on our boxes
Well......

#8 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • 708 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:27 PM

Any possible fixes in the future? What I have is an ADAM and that's all I'll ever have and would like at least one of these games.

#9 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 739 posts

Posted Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:50 PM

if you put the game on the atarimax will it work on the adam

i know i could test it by my self but i have to take it out of his box

#10 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:04 PM

if you put the game on the atarimax will it work on the adam

i know i could test it by my self but i have to take it out of his box

I finally just got around to testing the rom dumps of Telebunny and Comic Bakery using the AtariMax Ultimate SD Cart and they indeed DO work on the ADAM. I seem to recall another Homebrew game had the same issue (cart wouldn't work on the ADAM, but the rom dump loaded via AtariMax cart would) and the conclusion was that the programmer of the game wasn't properly clearing RAM, while the AtariMax cart does this before loading a rom image... or something to that extent. 

 

BTW, what's with the ADAM being boxed up? ;)


Edited by NIAD, Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:04 PM.


#11 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:06 PM

  
That's mainly why we don't put ADAM mention on our boxes
These are designed to play on Colecovision first and foremost

 

 

Looks like I'm wrong on that one :roll:
We indeed put ADAM mention on our boxes
Well......

Even after all these years, the ADAM is still causing people a lot of grief! :P



#12 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 739 posts

Posted Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:14 PM

I finally just got around to testing the rom dumps of Telebunny and Comic Bakery using the AtariMax Ultimate SD Cart and they indeed DO work on the ADAM. I seem to recall another Homebrew game had the same issue (cart wouldn't work on the ADAM, but the rom dump loaded via AtariMax cart would) and the conclusion was that the programmer of the game wasn't properly clearing RAM, while the AtariMax cart does this before loading a rom image... or something to that extent. 
 
BTW, what's with the ADAM being boxed up? ;)


i know its bad but but this beast take a lot of space.... and i dont use it.... i should buy the flash card kit but i dont know if i will use it enough to invest $$$ in

#13 CrazyBoss OFFLINE  

CrazyBoss

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Skåne, Sweden

Posted Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:33 PM

so something like this sould "Clear out" (could not help it :)) the problem.

 

ld    hl,$6000

ld    de,$6001
ld    bc,$03FF
ld    (hl),$0
ldir
  

both Telebunny and Comic Bakery do not ZERO the Memory until after the INTRO Screens. But is it really the problem?



#14 CrazyBoss OFFLINE  

CrazyBoss

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Skåne, Sweden

Posted Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:38 PM

Does Spectron work on Adam, I dont see any where in the code, where they reset the Memory.



#15 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:25 PM

 

both Telebunny and Comic Bakery do not ZERO the Memory until after the INTRO Screens. But is it really the problem?

 

Does Spectron work on Adam, I dont see any where in the code, where they reset the Memory.

I'll have to search for the thread or particular posts that I was referring to or hopefully someone like Nanochess can lend some insight into the matter as I think he did with that other issue. Anyway, there is something that the AtariMax Ultimate SD Cart does before loading a rom image that allows for Telebunny and Comic Bakery to work and I'm pretty sure it was clearing RAM.

 

As far as I recall, Spectron works fine on the ADAM when using the actual cartridge, but I will have to double check and get back to you.


Edited by NIAD, Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:27 PM.


#16 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,255 posts

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:04 AM

 

I'll have to search for the thread or particular posts that I was referring to or hopefully someone like Nanochess can lend some insight into the matter as I think he did with that other issue. Anyway, there is something that the AtariMax Ultimate SD Cart does before loading a rom image that allows for Telebunny and Comic Bakery to work and I'm pretty sure it was clearing RAM.

 

As far as I recall, Spectron works fine on the ADAM when using the actual cartridge, but I will have to double check and get back to you.

 

I remember a post where it was question of something that an Emulator Does , but not the ADAM.  And it was something like clearing the RAM.  Or the fact that the Emulator's RAM was always  initialized full of zero by default where the ADAM was random bytes.



#17 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 2:25 PM

That's exactly it Youki.

#18 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:16 PM

Checked out a few of Crazy Boss' other CV&ADAM games and they all worked, so I decided to retest Telebunny on the same ADAM that I used previously... and it worked this time. I next tried Comic Bakery next and that one worked as well.  WTF!!!

 

The only thing different I did was play about four other carts before Telebunny and Comic Bakery, so I have no idea what is going on.

 

Luc... try those games out again on your ADAM, but only after playing some other games first.



#19 retroillucid OFFLINE  

retroillucid

    Facebook.com/Collectorvision

  • 7,427 posts
  • CollectorVision Games - Publishing Homebrew
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:19 PM

Checked out a few of Crazy Boss' other CV&ADAM games and they all worked, so I decided to retest Telebunny on the same ADAM that I used previously... and it worked this time. I next tried Comic Bakery next and that one worked as well.  WTF!!!
 
The only thing different I did was play about four other carts before Telebunny and Comic Bakery, so I have no idea what is going on.
 
Luc... try those games out again on your ADAM, but only after playing some other games first.


Now this's weird! :?

#20 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:55 PM

Now this's weird! :?

Indeed especially since it shouldn't matter if I play a game or two or four before Telebunny because I still have to turn off the ADAM in order to swap cartridges. Back in the day I would hot swap the cartridges occassionally, but no way I will do that anymore.



#21 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,255 posts

Posted Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:16 AM

How much time do you wait before switching it on back?

 

If you go to fast, the RAM does not clear totally  and some capacity keep their charge.  Usually you should wait at least 10 seconde between  power off and a power on.



#22 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:11 AM

Yes, I always wait at least 10 seconds after turning off my CV or Adam before turning it back on. Will have to do some further testing when I have the time and if others with the game(s) and an Adam can test their's and report their findings, that would be appreciated.

#23 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 739 posts

Posted Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:21 AM

ok i will unbox my adam tonight 😜

#24 digress OFFLINE  

digress

    Dragonstomper

  • 900 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:49 AM

it's a new pcb. It might be something as simple as not aligning correctly in the slot or being the same thickness.

 

I've had to shift the new carts back & forth several times before getting some to work but then they all worked just fine.



#25 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,773 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:44 AM

it's a new pcb. It might be something as simple as not aligning correctly in the slot or being the same thickness.
 
I've had to shift the new carts back & forth several times before getting some to work but then they all worked just fine.

I was just considering the same thing seeing as the MaxFlash Cart Dumper has a hard time recognizing all the latest Homebrew releases starting from about 1 year ago.... the standard 32K Homebrew Cart PCB, not the MegaCart PCB. Had already fired off a PM to Crazy Boss about this possibility.

Thanks.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users