Jump to content

Photo

GPL ASSEMBLER SOURCE CODE

GROM GRAM GPL SOURCE ASSEMBLER TI994A

12 replies to this topic

#1 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,603 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Thu Feb 19, 2015 2:47 PM

Ran accross the source code of the GPL Assembler in my files.

 

 

Attached Files



#2 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,603 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Thu Feb 19, 2015 2:48 PM

Found a different version also.

Attached Files



#3 Gary from OPA OFFLINE  

Gary from OPA

    Moonsweeper

  • 422 posts
  • Location:The World Wide Web

Posted Thu Feb 19, 2015 6:23 PM

more like a dis-assembler output, needs still some alot of good clean-up before it can be useful to improve on and reassemble after changes.

 

But still useful to have, thanks for sharing.


Edited by Gary from OPA, Thu Feb 19, 2015 6:23 PM.

  • RXB likes this

#4 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    Quadrunner

  • 5,322 posts

Posted Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:10 PM

Thanks for uploading this, Rich!


  • RXB likes this

#5 Willsy OFFLINE  

Willsy

    River Patroller

  • 3,105 posts
  • Location:Uzbekistan (no, really!)

Posted Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 AM

If I had a GRAM device I'd develop a GPL assembler in Forth. You could then type GPL right in at the command and run it on the spot (no assemble "phase", it's done the moment you hit enter) just like you can write assembler language in Forth.

 

In TurboForth I can type:

 

ASM: RESET ( define a new word called RESET)

   0 @@ BLWP  \ branch and link to the vector at >0

;ASM

 

Ta dah. I've just added a machine code word that will reset the console. To test it I just type:

 

RESET <enter>

 

Imagine being able to do the same with GPL code. The only hard part (that I can think of right now) would be getting the "environment" set up to execute a GPL program, as (in the case of TurboForth) PAD memory and the like is (obviously) set up for TF, not GPL. It trounces over pretty much everything.



#6 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,231 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:05 AM

IIRC both Memotex and BBC had built-in assemblers ?



#7 atrax27407 OFFLINE  

atrax27407

    Stargunner

  • 1,272 posts

Posted Fri Feb 20, 2015 6:54 AM

Some of us have a GRAM device and others have one in storage (hint! hint!, Nudge! Nudge!)So, set yours up and get busy, mate! ;-)

#8 Lee Stewart OFFLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,991 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Fri Feb 20, 2015 7:13 AM

If I had a GRAM device I'd develop a GPL assembler in Forth. You could then type GPL right in at the command and run it on the spot (no assemble "phase", it's done the moment you hit enter) just like you can write assembler language in Forth.

 

In TurboForth I can type:

 

ASM: RESET ( define a new word called RESET)

   0 @@ BLWP  \ branch and link to the vector at >0

;ASM

 

Ta dah. I've just added a machine code word that will reset the console. To test it I just type:

 

RESET <enter>

 

Imagine being able to do the same with GPL code. The only hard part (that I can think of right now) would be getting the "environment" set up to execute a GPL program, as (in the case of TurboForth) PAD memory and the like is (obviously) set up for TF, not GPL. It trounces over pretty much everything.

 

Pretty much the same obtains for fbForth, except that the GPL parts of scratchpad RAM are preserved, primarily to maintain compatibility with TI Forth.

 

...lee



#9 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,603 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:35 AM

Some of us have a GRAM device and others have one in storage (hint! hint!, Nudge! Nudge!)So, set yours up and get busy, mate! ;-)

Classic99 can run GRAM this is how I write all my code now using the GPL Assember and GPL*LOADER to test my GRAM code.

 

This is how I wrote RXB 2012 and will soon release RXB 2015. Also I have the GPL tutorials called GPLHOW2 on AtariAge.



#10 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • 870 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:59 PM

The two versions you posted are identical, Rich. The zip files might differ, but the content is identical.

As there have been several GPL Assemblers released: Is this your GPL Assembler?

 

Do you know - Did we ever get the GPL Assembler mentioned in the GPL Programmer's guide?



#11 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    Quadrunner

  • 5,322 posts

Posted Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:07 PM

I have never seen a copy of the original TI GPL assembler in the wild. The TI-990 SDS MAC Assembler that did the 9900 Assembler side of things is out there, but not the GPL one that did the other half of TI cartridge development. I've looked for it off and on for the last couple of decades, to no effect.



#12 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,603 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:10 PM

I have never seen a copy of the original TI GPL assembler in the wild. The TI-990 SDS MAC Assembler that did the 9900 Assembler side of things is out there, but not the GPL one that did the other half of TI cartridge development. I've looked for it off and on for the last couple of decades, to no effect.

Well we do have the GPL Manual from TI that I bought from Jim Lesher and CCed to everyone.



#13 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    Quadrunner

  • 5,322 posts

Posted Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:23 PM

True, and a couple of the other GPL manuals from TI as well--I've had a copy of the GPL User's Manual since 1985 or so. I actually typed the entire thing into TI Writer and forwarded it that way, as my copy was a fourth or fifth-generation photocopy and it was getting a bit hard to read. . .I did eventually find an original, but that was long after I typed mine in.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: GROM, GRAM, GPL, SOURCE, ASSEMBLER, TI994A

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users