IGNORED

Technical Inquiry - 64K Memory/16 Bit Bus (Why it never happened)

Omega-TI

I'm curious, why a 64K memory expansion on the 16 bit buss never came to fruition. Logically it SEEMS like a no-brainer, but since it obviously never happened, I'm wondering why.

Some of the things that I think 'could have been reasons', may not have been, and I may be totally off-base in my thinking. So, I figure THIS is the place to ask, since many of you are experts on the TI and have been involved with it since the beginning.

Please, don't laugh too hard, as I'm not a hardware designer or programmer, these are the only possibilities I could think of...

1) 64K on the 16 Bit buss would require no wait states correct? If this is the case, it could render some programs in-operable or maybe they would run too fast, right? So no one wanted to make their TI's incompatible with existing software?

2) I would have figured the extra memory would have been addressable, but I might be off-base here too.

3) It conflicts with something else in the consoles architecture.

4) The complexity of installing it would be to great for the average user?

5) The 4A had already been abandoned by TI and was being abandoned by users as well, so there was no point in making something that only a small percentage of a dwindling user base would want, especially with few prospects of software ever being developed for it.

Did I get even close to the mark, or did I miss it entirely? If I missed it, what is the reason it never came to be?

I pick your points 4) and 5) for the most logical reasons why third-party people didn't push this after the crash in '83.

Other reasons of course breaking software, and the fact most people that still were using their 4A's for things after '83 already had PE-BOX with 32K in it.