Jump to content

Photo

New game released: Tecno Ninja 25 years anniversary edition


57 replies to this topic

#1 apemaster OFFLINE  

apemaster

    Star Raider

  • 98 posts

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:44 AM

I hereby proudly present the new release: TECNO NINJA 25 Years Anniversary Edition - exclusively for Atari 8-Bit computers (XL/XE standard models work fine).

 

gamecontents.png

 

It comes in a big box (31x22 cm, that's 12.2x8.7 inches).

 

It contains:

- the 5.25" disk for Atari 8-Bit

- 12 page full color instruction booklet

- wall poster

- detailed maps for all 10 levels (100 screens)

- $5 discount coupon for the upcoming Tecno Ninja II release

 

Enhancements compared to the original game: Of course the box, instructions, poster and maps already make it a great collector's item. The old titlescreen has been replaced with a more modern one that also fits the box design. It has a new cool music and I removed the annoying landing-code copy-protection. The game itself is still the same great fun as before, with 10 levels (100 screens in total) each with different themed graphics, music, monsters, lots of hidden passages and items, weapon upgrades etc.

 

I will make a very limited number of copies. You can order it by sending 25 Euros to yoda@yodagames.de. This already includes international airmail shipping. In case you want more than one copy, you can deduct 5 Euros of each additional copy (so 45 for 2, 65 for 3 etc.).

 

screenshot0.png screenshot1.png screenshot2.png screenshot3.png

 

Here's the ATR file for playing. Enjoy! But be aware that without the instructions and maps, it's quite difficult ...

 

Attached File  TECNONINJA25-test.ATR   130.02KB   261 downloads

 

Important: Do NOT write-protect the disk, otherwise it won't load.


Edited by apemaster, Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:50 AM.


#2 Justin Payne OFFLINE  

Justin Payne

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts
  • Busy updating XEGS Podcast website to Angular2
  • Location:Kent, Washington, USA

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 11:10 AM

Awesome! Much praise for contributing to the homebrew community.

#3 Magic Knight OFFLINE  

Magic Knight

    Moonsweeper

  • 450 posts
  • The Great Escape on ATARI!
  • Location:Outpost 31..

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 11:21 AM

Well done on a splendid looking release and professional Package. Its great that A8 software development is still ongoing and at this high level as well!  :) :thumbsup:



#4 gilsaluki OFFLINE  

gilsaluki

    Dragonstomper

  • 683 posts

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:11 PM

I am guessing all the instructions are in English?



#5 Sikor ONLINE  

Sikor

    Stargunner

  • 1,320 posts
  • Location:Warsaw/Poland

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:50 PM

Hmm, test atr don't work on atari800win. Did run on real PAL Atari? (crash after airport run - go to compiler error code)



#6 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,045 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:56 PM

I'm getting a ongoing set of crashes on Altirra and Atariwin, its write enabled..

 

Screens look great..



#7 apemaster OFFLINE  

apemaster

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 98 posts

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:16 PM

Yes, instructions are in English.

 

Where exactly do you get crashes?



#8 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • 8,854 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:26 PM

Yes, instructions are in English.
 
Where exactly do you get crashes?


When the level starts.

#9 Sikor ONLINE  

Sikor

    Stargunner

  • 1,320 posts
  • Location:Warsaw/Poland

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:29 PM

After load Airport - first screen after titlescreen. It's crashed after graphics mode change. Look at video from atari800win:

Attached File  atarivid.zip   2.83MB   188 downloads



#10 apemaster OFFLINE  

apemaster

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 98 posts

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:33 PM

I've seen the problem. Strangely, it occurs when you load the title-screen and then the game. If you just load the game (by renaming the files on disk), without the title-screen first, it works fine. Looks like although there is a coldstart, the emulator doesn't erase the RAM properly?



#11 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • 8,854 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:41 PM

Bad programming ;)

#12 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:41 PM

What are the system requirements on this?

 

On my Incognito 800,  I have tried all XE combos, but I get this response:

"Fehler - 9 in Zeile 128 ($C400)"



#13 snicklin OFFLINE  

snicklin

    River Patroller

  • 2,066 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:31 PM

What are the system requirements on this?

 

On my Incognito 800,  I have tried all XE combos, but I get this response:

"Fehler - 9 in Zeile 128 ($C400)"

 

This will be because the disk is write protected.

 

After load Airport - first screen after titlescreen. It's crashed after graphics mode change. Look at video from atari800win:

attachicon.gifatarivid.zip

 

I get this too in Altirra.



#14 Clint Thompson OFFLINE  

Clint Thompson

    River Patroller

  • 4,185 posts
  • Kiss Reality Goodbye.
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:34 PM

Impressive packaging, nice work! :D



#15 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:59 PM

 

This will be because the disk is write protected.

After changing the write protect option to "Never" on the Sio2SD, I'm now getting this:

"Fehler - 9 in Zeile 15249 ($C40D)"



#16 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:12 AM

Hmmm, after inspecting the ATR after the first error,  I'm seeing a bunch of files that are flagged as Open/InUse, which might be the cause of the second error?

 

Re-downloaded the game and copied to the SD card of the Sio2SD again,  now it just boots to a black screen.  Tried it on a stock 130xe and getting the same reults.

 

My previous settings on the Sio2SD were set to "Obey ATR Flag".  Just reset that back and now booting to a black screen too...  Strange...



#17 apemaster OFFLINE  

apemaster

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 98 posts

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:16 AM

It's weird problem.

 

First, here's a version that just loads the game, and this works fine (as long as you boot without BASIC and without write-protection.)

 

Attached File  TECNONINJA25-test.ATR   130.02KB   128 downloads

 

Make sure to clone this atr before you run it, since after it runs one time, it actives the loader and then it doesn't work again.

 

The loader shows the title-screen and plays the music. So I tried to remove all this and strip it down.

 

Here's the stripped-down code of the loader:

 

430 RENAME "D:AUTORUN.CTB,TITEL.CTB"

435 PAUSE 20
440 RENAME "D:MAIN.CTB,AUTORUN.CTB"
445 PAUSE 20
450 A=USR(58487)
460 END 
 
Now it just renames the two files (in order to let Turbobasic runtime = autorun.sys load the other file at the next boot).
 
And still, although it does a coldstart, something in RAM must be different, because if this loader is run first, it doesn't work.
 
How to safely "reset" the machine so the main prog runs properly?

Edited by apemaster, Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:20 AM.


#18 apemaster OFFLINE  

apemaster

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 98 posts

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:34 AM

Problem solved!

 

Here's the new version.

 

Remember to boot without Basic, and without write-protection.

 

Attached File  TECNONINJA25-test.ATR   130.02KB   185 downloads

 

 



#19 apemaster OFFLINE  

apemaster

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 98 posts

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:44 AM

Some instructions:

 

Joystick 0. Left/Right to run. Up/Down to climb ladder. Leftdown and rightdown to fight. Firebutton to jump. While jumping, left/right to change direction and diagonal to fight is possible (and neccassary).

 

Hearts replenish energy.

Coins give score.

Diamonds upgrade weapon (new weapon after 20 diamonds).

Key open doors.

Shield makes you invincible for short period of time.

Potion gives you an extra life (full energy bar after empty).

Find the eye to advance to next level (10 in total).

Screens may be connected maze-like. Draw a map (included in the box).

 

Important: Kill all killable monsters. Try to hit walls, there are lots of hidden items and passages.



#20 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,045 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 8:14 AM

Thanks Apemaster, having a blast now..



#21 CrazyChris OFFLINE  

CrazyChris

    Dragonstomper

  • 823 posts
  • Location:OH

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 10:15 AM

Thanks for the Fix!



#22 +Adam+ OFFLINE  

+Adam+

    Moonsweeper

  • 403 posts

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:47 AM

Unfortunately even the latest "fixed" versions crash on my Altirra and Atari800Win after loading the first level.

#23 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,045 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:50 AM

You deffo write enabling the disk otherwise it still crashes..

 

Or you could have done what I did and downloaded it again which appended a (1) to the name but silly sod me was still loading the original image :)


Edited by Mclaneinc, Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:51 AM.


#24 +Adam+ OFFLINE  

+Adam+

    Moonsweeper

  • 403 posts

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:58 AM

I have tried with a new downloaded ATR file and with R/W option set for the disk. Doesn't work.

Edited by +Adam+, Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:59 AM.


#25 invisible kid OFFLINE  

invisible kid

    Star Raider

  • 98 posts
  • Location:New Jersey, U.S.A.

Posted Sat Mar 28, 2015 12:10 PM

In atari800 it worked in pal mode but not in ntsc mode






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users