Jump to content

Photo

Game Factory


131 replies to this topic

#1 Eric7100 OFFLINE  

Eric7100

    River Patroller

  • 3,266 posts

Posted Fri Apr 3, 2015 4:43 PM

My two copies of Game Factory have arrived, along with four overlays!  Thanks, Rev!  :)



#2 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 16,043 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Fri Apr 3, 2015 4:46 PM

My two copies of Game Factory have arrived, along with four overlays!  Thanks, Rev!  :)


I expect you to be making games now. If you can figure it out!

Adventures of Eric and Keith: Saga of Owe-Ver-Lays

#3 Eric7100 OFFLINE  

Eric7100

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,266 posts

Posted Fri Apr 3, 2015 5:18 PM

Adventures of Rev and Cmart: The Hardcore Chronicles



#4 Special Teams OFFLINE  

Special Teams

    Dragonstomper

  • 889 posts
  • Location:Seattle

Posted Fri Apr 3, 2015 5:24 PM

Mine arrived too.  Very nicely done - thanks again!



#5 7800fan OFFLINE  

7800fan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,555 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted Fri Apr 3, 2015 6:08 PM

Game Factory? Someone find a stash of unsold Blockbuster Game Factory carts?



#6 Crazy Climber OFFLINE  

Crazy Climber

    Crazy Climberer

  • 12,174 posts
  • Metamuciler
  • Location:NICHIBUTSU DELUXE

Posted Fri Apr 3, 2015 6:29 PM

didnt know they were shipping so soon! I havent even got the box yet :)

#7 m-crew OFFLINE  

m-crew

    River Patroller

  • 4,719 posts
  • Location:Toronto -Canada

Posted Fri Apr 3, 2015 6:40 PM

I have received shipping notice.. thanks rev :)

#8 slab0meat OFFLINE  

slab0meat

    Stargunner

  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted Fri Apr 3, 2015 6:49 PM

Got mine today, thanks.

#9 Intymike OFFLINE  

Intymike

    River Patroller

  • 2,936 posts
  • Location:Rhine Valley

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 5:29 AM

Reminds me to glue the box together.  :)



#10 Intellivisioner OFFLINE  

Intellivisioner

    Chopper Commander

  • 242 posts
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 7:19 AM

Where to order???

 

Did not know this one will be released so soon...



#11 mr_intv OFFLINE  

mr_intv

    Stargunner

  • 1,586 posts
  • Location:Alberta, Canada

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 7:35 AM

I also recieved my shipping notification.

#12 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 16,043 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 8:37 AM

Where to order???
 
Did not know this one will be released so soon...



;-)

Edited by revolutionika, Sat Apr 4, 2015 8:38 AM.


#13 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 10,888 posts
  • Triple-Stripe Mo' Bro
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 9:33 AM

I got mine.  I expect to play with it this week-end.  Thanks, Rev!

 

   -dZ.



#14 JasonlikesINTV OFFLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,012 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 9:54 AM

It pays to visit

IntellivisionRevolution.com

I believe it was announced there as well as the newsletter.

Edited by JasonlikesINTV, Sat Apr 4, 2015 9:56 AM.


#15 atari5200dude82 OFFLINE  

atari5200dude82

    Stargunner

  • 1,309 posts
  • Location:ATLANTIS

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 10:35 AM

Thanks Rev,  Got mine last nite as well. Play it tonight.  :P



#16 Lathe26 OFFLINE  

Lathe26

    River Patroller

  • 3,566 posts

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 11:50 AM

Mine arrived.

 

It seems to mostly work, but the game "Guess Who's Going to be Dinner" doesn't work.  I see a lot of garbage on screen, some of the dinosaur heads move around the screen briefly, and then the screen goes all green and then all black.  The screen doesn't look like the manual (released separately).  I tested this on 2 consoles and 2 ECSs (one US and one Euro).

 

Is that expected behavior?  I understand that this was an unreleased and perhaps incomplete game.



#17 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 16,043 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 11:53 AM

I'll be honest. I have no idea how this game works. The manual is like 50 pages or whatever. Im sure some talented people will know what to do with it.

Whoever does something meaningful with it, please share!

#18 Intymike OFFLINE  

Intymike

    River Patroller

  • 2,936 posts
  • Location:Rhine Valley

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 3:17 PM

I have the slight feeling that there was no quality control involved.

 

How could this game ever got the Intellivision seal of approval?



#19 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 16,043 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 3:35 PM

I have the slight feeling that there was no quality control involved.
 
How could this game ever got the Intellivision seal of approval?


I have heard of one talented individual that has utilized GF code or design for certain things. But I dont know much details.

#20 Special Teams OFFLINE  

Special Teams

    Dragonstomper

  • 889 posts
  • Location:Seattle

Posted Sat Apr 4, 2015 3:43 PM

Mine arrived.

 

It seems to mostly work, but the game "Guess Who's Going to be Dinner" doesn't work.  I see a lot of garbage on screen, some of the dinosaur heads move around the screen briefly, and then the screen goes all green and then all black.  The screen doesn't look like the manual (released separately).  I tested this on 2 consoles and 2 ECSs (one US and one Euro).

 

Is that expected behavior?  I understand that this was an unreleased and perhaps incomplete game.

 

The rom was on Intellivision Rocks - does it work in emulation?  My ECS is acting up, so I'm not able to check my cart.

 

Per the official Intellivision site, the game was finished:

Game Factory

ECS CARTRIDGE [#4539/UNRELEASED]
Aka: Game Maker
Design/Program: David Stifel
Graphics: Karl Morris

lives.gif Play this game on Intellivision Rocks for Windows & Mac!

factory_screen.gifDESCRIPTION
Now you can create your own video games without having to do all the work. Because our Game Maker comes with the graphics and game play already designed for you. You choose from a library of characters, backgrounds and gameplay, then create your own custom video game. You can even plug any regular Intellivision game cartridge into the system to borrow your favorite Intellivision characters!

DEVELOPMENT HISTORY
Designed for the Entertainment Computer System, this was the last game finished atMattel Electronics - David Stifel completed it on the day before the final layoff.

Although it was never released, David was sure the game had potential. At his next job, designing computer software, he was constantly called on to put together demos of the software he was working on. He realized the principles he used in Game Factory could be applied to a software prototyping tool. He proposed this to his new company, but they didn't see the potential in it. Later, he saw that another company was releasing such a tool. "There, that's exactly what I had in mind," he told his boss. But his company still wasn't interested in pursuing it.

The rival program he saw was Director, which went on to become the main authoring tool of multimedia projects



#21 intvnut ONLINE  

intvnut

    River Patroller

  • 3,025 posts
  • Location:@R6 (top of stack)

Posted Sun Apr 5, 2015 12:08 AM

Mine arrived.

 

It seems to mostly work, but the game "Guess Who's Going to be Dinner" doesn't work.  I see a lot of garbage on screen, some of the dinosaur heads move around the screen briefly, and then the screen goes all green and then all black.  The screen doesn't look like the manual (released separately).  I tested this on 2 consoles and 2 ECSs (one US and one Euro).

 

Is that expected behavior?  I understand that this was an unreleased and perhaps incomplete game.

 

Game Factory requires additional RAM in the cartridge, otherwise it will crash when you try to run a game.  It's basically worthless without the additional RAM so far as I can tell.



#22 intvnut ONLINE  

intvnut

    River Patroller

  • 3,025 posts
  • Location:@R6 (top of stack)

Posted Sun Apr 5, 2015 12:25 AM

 

The rom was on Intellivision Rocks - does it work in emulation? 

 

It works great in jzIntv with a proper .cfg file (to enable the extra RAM).  It also works great on the real hardware if the extra RAM is present.  (Tested w/ LTO Flash! just now.  Also tested that removing RAM leads to the observed crash, and to other menus, such as "Special Effects" crashing.)

 

I don't have whatever cartridge was (apparently) sold, so I clearly can't test that.  I wasn't even aware someone was trying to sell physical copies of this title until this thread appeared.


Edited by intvnut, Sun Apr 5, 2015 12:34 AM.


#23 pimpmaul69 OFFLINE  

pimpmaul69

    River Patroller

  • 4,853 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Technician
  • Location:Colorado

Posted Sun Apr 5, 2015 12:46 AM

 
It works great in jzIntv with a proper .cfg file (to enable the extra RAM).  It also works great on the real hardware if the extra RAM is present.  (Tested w/ LTO Flash! just now.  Also tested that removing RAM leads to the observed crash, and to other menus, such as "Special Effects" crashing.)
 
I don't have whatever cartridge was (apparently) sold, so I clearly can't test that.  I wasn't even aware someone was trying to sell physical copies of this title until this thread appeared.

does the .rom work or do i have to have a .bin/.cfg?

Edited by pimpmaul69, Sun Apr 5, 2015 12:47 AM.


#24 Intymike OFFLINE  

Intymike

    River Patroller

  • 2,936 posts
  • Location:Rhine Valley

Posted Sun Apr 5, 2015 12:55 AM

 

Game Factory requires additional RAM in the cartridge, otherwise it will crash when you try to run a game.  It's basically worthless without the additional RAM so far as I can tell.

 

 

now it's getting funny...

 

Happy Easter by the way!


Edited by Intymike, Sun Apr 5, 2015 12:56 AM.


#25 intvnut ONLINE  

intvnut

    River Patroller

  • 3,025 posts
  • Location:@R6 (top of stack)

Posted Sun Apr 5, 2015 1:59 AM

does the .rom work or do i have to have a .bin/.cfg?

 

If you have a .ROM created from the correct BIN+CFG, it should work fine.  I tested that just now to be sure. 

 

Note that the .CFG on Intellivision Rocks! doesn't list all the ROM segments, only the RAM segment.  I've updated my big spreadsheet of configs (and corresponding ZIP file) to ensure the correct .CFG is included.

 

EDIT: Everything seems to work in both the BIN+CFG version and the ROM version created from it.  I wasn't able to fully test the game save/load functionality.  It does start up the tape drive when saving (as evidenced by a click from the relay in the unit), but I don't have a cassette drive (or a patch cable to my sound card) hooked up at the moment to capture what it tries to save.


Edited by intvnut, Sun Apr 5, 2015 2:25 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users