Jump to content

Photo

XB2.7s cartridge & BOOT return interception utility?


38 replies to this topic

#1 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Sat Apr 18, 2015 10:57 AM

I use BOOT quite a bit, and would prefer to stay within the environment without returning back to XB2.7s' main screen upon exiting a program.  Now Gazoo's new SETCLOCK program does this as does BA-Writer, but there are other programs I use quite often, like DM2K in the 2.7s cartridge. 

 

In the case of DM2K I use the cartridge version because it loads FAST and I save on disk space.  Inside BOOT I have an entry "X DSK1.DM", which is a simple one line program:  10 RUN "DM2K".

The problem is, once I exit DM2K, I'm back at the cartridges menu screen, so I was wondering, could a loader type assembly program be written that automatically returns to BOOT upon exiting DM2K or any other program? 

 

I figure the program would have to be slightly modified for each program it's used with, but I have no clue if there would be a safe place in memory to store it or how it could be called for a proper exit, but if possible, it would be cool for sure.  

 

I'm not always clear in explaining what I mean, so I've used the example below to help convey my thoughts: 

 

1) LOAD loader program (from BOOT)

2) loader program EXECUTES "DM2K"  

3) upon exit from DM2K, executes next instruction in it's program, in this case reloading BOOT

 

I dunno, programming wizards, is this possible?



#2 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:41 PM

I use BOOT quite a bit, and would prefer to stay within the environment without returning back to XB2.7s' main screen upon exiting a program.  Now Gazoo's new SETCLOCK program does this as does BA-Writer, but there are other programs I use quite often, like DM2K in the 2.7s cartridge. 

 

In the case of DM2K I use the cartridge version because it loads FAST and I save on disk space.  Inside BOOT I have an entry "X DSK1.DM", which is a simple one line program:  10 RUN "DM2K".

The problem is, once I exit DM2K, I'm back at the cartridges menu screen, so I was wondering, could a loader type assembly program be written that automatically returns to BOOT upon exiting DM2K or any other program? 

 

I figure the program would have to be slightly modified for each program it's used with, but I have no clue if there would be a safe place in memory to store it or how it could be called for a proper exit, but if possible, it would be cool for sure.  

 

I'm not always clear in explaining what I mean, so I've used the example below to help convey my thoughts: 

 

1) LOAD loader program (from BOOT)

2) loader program EXECUTES "DM2K"  

3) upon exit from DM2K, executes next instruction in it's program, in this case reloading BOOT

 

I dunno, programming wizards, is this possible?

 

Probably the easiest solution will involve pressing 1 key. That is, to select XB v2.7 from the menu. You then have your DSK1.LOAD program as a one-liner such as this:

 

10 CALL MLOAD("DSK1.BOOT",1)

 

You could have boot on another drive and change the disk number if you so desire.

 

And if you're really adventurous, you could edit the XB27 file on your disk to reload the Grom part of the XB v2.7 Suite cart and reprogram the cart. Within the first few sectors you'll find 'DSK1.LOAD', which is the file XB autoloads. You could change it to another disk number if you wanted to keep DSK1 available.

 

Gazoo



#3 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:34 PM

I use BOOT quite a bit, and would prefer to stay within the environment without returning back to XB2.7s' main screen upon exiting a program.  Now Gazoo's new SETCLOCK program does this as does BA-Writer, but there are other programs I use quite often, like DM2K in the 2.7s cartridge. 

 

In the case of DM2K I use the cartridge version because it loads FAST and I save on disk space.  Inside BOOT I have an entry "X DSK1.DM", which is a simple one line program:  10 RUN "DM2K".

The problem is, once I exit DM2K, I'm back at the cartridges menu screen, so I was wondering, could a loader type assembly program be written that automatically returns to BOOT upon exiting DM2K or any other program? 

 

I figure the program would have to be slightly modified for each program it's used with, but I have no clue if there would be a safe place in memory to store it or how it could be called for a proper exit, but if possible, it would be cool for sure.  

 

I'm not always clear in explaining what I mean, so I've used the example below to help convey my thoughts: 

 

1) LOAD loader program (from BOOT)

2) loader program EXECUTES "DM2K"  

3) upon exit from DM2K, executes next instruction in it's program, in this case reloading BOOT

 

I dunno, programming wizards, is this possible?

 

Well, another thought has entered my devious little mind.  :evil:

 

Where do you keep BOOT? Pathname, please.  ;)

 

Gazoo



#4 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Sat Apr 18, 2015 11:17 PM

 

Well, another thought has entered my devious little mind.  :evil:

 

Where do you keep BOOT? Pathname, please.  ;)

 

Gazoo

 

For ease of use, and 1 button press, I've been using the "A" button of your fantastic little cartridge to go into XB2.7 where the utility loader for BOOT named LOAD takes over... the path name is DSK1.BOOT.

 

I love having your menu come up when I first turn on the computer or do an ALT-F12 on the PS/2 Keyboard, but I would really like to stay within the BOOT environment for most of my personalized activities like BBSing, scheduling, DM2K, using DSK2PC over the HDX, etc.

 

Devious huh?  So, what do you have in mind :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:   



#5 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:11 AM

 

For ease of use, and 1 button press, I've been using the "A" button of your fantastic little cartridge to go into XB2.7 where the utility loader for BOOT named LOAD takes over... the path name is DSK1.BOOT.

 

I love having your menu come up when I first turn on the computer or do an ALT-F12 on the PS/2 Keyboard, but I would really like to stay within the BOOT environment for most of my personalized activities like BBSing, scheduling, DM2K, using DSK2PC over the HDX, etc.

 

Devious huh?  So, what do you have in mind :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:  :?:   

 

Attached File  XB27BOOT.dsk   180KB   23 downloads

 

The attached disk has a new Grom file for the XB v2.7 Suite cartridge. It's loaded the usual way with the GROMCFG program. The data file is XB27BOOT. There is also included a short EA5 program named XB27MENU which can be used as a selection on the BOOT menu to go directly to the XB v2.7 Suite main menu.

 

When the console is powered on or reset with this version of the cartridge, it will immediately try to load and run BOOT from DSK1. If BOOT is not found there, it will go to the XB v2.7 Suite main menu.

 

If while powering on or during a reset the forward slash (/) key is held, the attempt to load BOOT is skipped and the cart goes directly to the XB v2.7 Suite main menu.

 

While on the XB v2.7 Suite main menu, pressing enter will attempt to load and run BOOT from DSK1.

 

The option to hold the space bar during a reset or powerup to go to the TI menu remains in place.

 

Pretty devious, huh?  ;)

 

Gazoo

 

 

 

 

 



#6 atrax27407 OFFLINE  

atrax27407

    Dragonstomper

  • 659 posts

Posted Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:33 PM

Would there be a HSGPL version on the horizon?

#7 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:13 PM

All Hail The Great Gazoo!

 

41EUkVEcORL._SY355_.jpg

 

 

 

 

I'm going to convert this into an 80 track DSK, then into an HFE tonight and then update my XB2.7S!

 

THANKS!



#8 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:56 PM

Gazoo,

   You truly are a TI Cartridge God!  It works great!  -------- THANKS AGAIN!

 

** EDIT **

This is so freakin' cool!  Now when I press 8 in BOOT to run the F18A screen enhancement utility (PALEA5) it runs it and then pops back AUTOMAGICALLY to BOOT!  Sometimes it's the little things in life that gives one the most pleasure.   I highly recommend this upgrade to everyone who uses BOOT.



#9 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Sun Apr 19, 2015 7:03 PM

Would there be a HSGPL version on the horizon?

 

I've actually considered this. The Grom part would be fairly simple, just load the 15 Groms in the proper places on the HSGPL card. The Rom part is a different story entirely.

 

While the Ubergrom cart and the HSGPL have the same amount of Rom memory (512k), it is organized differently. The first 4 banks (32k) behave the same, but after that all bets are off. The Ubergrom cart switches banks by writing to even addresses in the Rom counting up to the 64 banks available. The HSGPL switches banks in 4 bank increments depending on the Grom page selected. It would be a major undertaking to rewrite the Rom bank switching to accommodate the HSGPL card, and considering the small audience that would be able to use such a piece of software it is not worth the effort involved. Better to just get an Ubergrom cart and use the software for the device it was designed for.

 

Gazoo



#10 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Sun Apr 19, 2015 7:58 PM

One of my biggest TI wishes has been fulfilled tonight.  For so long I have dreamed of being able to drop right into BOOT without having to press a button to get past the TI title screen, then another button to get past the menu screen.  I knew guys with rare and expensive items like Gram Cracker's and P-Gram cards had that luxury, but us lowly slobs were stuck in the cheap seats having to make do.  Now anyone with an XB2.7s cartridge can do it no matter what they run, Nano or P-Box.

 

If anyone has been holding out on getting an XB2.7S cartridge, I think you've just run out of excuses!   :-D



#11 Swim OFFLINE  

Swim

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts
  • Location:Staten Island

Posted Tue Apr 21, 2015 2:10 AM

Excellent.

#12 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:37 PM

Attached File  XB27BOOT.dsk   180KB   22 downloads

 

Here's what I think is a better solution to accomplishing this. Reload the Grom portion of the cartridge as previously described using this disk image.

 

This cartridge will behave very much like the standard XB v2.7 Suite cartridge. There is a difference in that when the spacebar is held during a reset for the TI menu screen, the REVIEW MODULE LIBRARY function is enabled. This allows for the viewing of the menu entries on all the Grom pages. It was necessary to make this change to enable the main added function of this version. 

 

The added function works as follows:

 

When on the main menu screen of the XB v2.7 Suite cartridge, pressing <enter> will load BOOT from DSK1 into the 15k of Gram on the cartridge. A powerup header will be written for BOOT so that it will automatically load instead of the XB v2.7 Suite menu upon a reset, a reset will be activated at that point and BOOT will be loaded and run. The spacebar holding feature upon a reset is enabled so the user can choose something else other than BOOT on a reset if desired. This environment will be enabled until power is removed from the cartridge.

 

Have fun,

 

Gazoo

 



#13 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Fri Apr 24, 2015 7:13 PM

attachicon.gifXB27BOOT.dsk

 

Here's what I think is a better solution to accomplishing this. Reload the Grom portion of the cartridge as previously described using this disk image.

 

Have fun,

 

Gazoo

 

 

Freakin' A   Gazoo!  You did it... AGAIN!

 

I was happy (for once) with that last upgrade just a day or so ago... and now you go and top it already!

 

Damn, that lightning fast (RAM disk-like) instantaneous reload of BOOT after I exit a program is just too slick for words to describe! 

 

thanks.jpg



#14 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:20 PM



#15 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • 383 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:52 AM

Great video Omega and fantastic work as always by "The Great Gazoo"!!

I've been busy with my (cough) Atari STE lately, but I'll be checking this out when I get back to my TI.

Fantastic!!

#16 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2015 8:37 AM

... fantastic work as always by "The Great Gazoo"!!

 
Fantastic is right!  Gazoo's made that cartridge so dang useful, I only have two reasons left to ever pull it out of the console.  The first reason is Multiplan, the second is to use 4A/DOS in my Super Cart.  Now if he ever figured out a way to stuff 4A/DOS in that 15K space, I'd be able to retire my Super Cart too!  (I don't like switching cartridges).



#17 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 545 posts

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:15 AM

I am having some troubles to understand this. Or how to get it to work.

 

1. TI-99/4A (no F18A chipset), normal system

2. Speech

3. Nano-PEB

4. XB27Boot.dsk loaded as DSK1.xxxx

5. Extended Basic Suite v2.7  (original chipsets)

    (side note:  the call mount(1,13) does not work in XB 2.7,  but it works in TIBAS?  Not sure if something wrong here as well).

 

All items work as mentioned,  e.g. press spacebar to go the Cyan blue titelscreen (to see nano-pen) and  "review module library" with XB27

 

The other options  "/"  I think it works (during reset/power-up)

 

And pressing "enter" does not work  (during reset/power-up)

 

 

Then XB27, loads via DSK1. the GROMCFG tool  (showing base 9800, etc., see the screenshot)

 

Now I am lost.   (I also have seen the manual in the other thread about BOOT, but I do not understand it how to get the new menu).

 

 

 

Q1:  Do I need to do something in the GROMCFG tool?

 

Q2:  I tried to edit line 110  and change it to  "DSK1.XB27MENU"), but that gives all kind of colours on the screen (video chipset ?)

 

Q3. I also tried to load "OLD DSK1.BASICLOAD", but it does not work.

 

 

Do I miss here something?  Or do I need other hardware?

Q4:  F18A video card ?

 

Q5:  I see the clock in the upper right hand corner in the video demo of the menu,  is this from a special card? (like Corcomp or Horizon Disk?)

 

 

Thanks in advance.

ronald

Attached Files



#18 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:41 AM

Yes, before the XB2.7S cartridge will perform the new functions, it must be updated using the program shown in your program above.

Type CTRL L to 'load the device', type the DSK1.filename and press ENTER (assuming the disk image is in your Nano's Volume 1).

 

Correct, you'll have to mount the DSK image in your Nano from TI BASIC before you try to update your cartridge.

 

No you don't need an F18A.

 

Yes, the clock is shown because the system used in the demo has a CorComp real time clock.

 

Sorry to be so brief, but I'm behind schedule and gotta split.



#19 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:47 AM

Oh yeah, one last thing... the version in << THIS MESSAGE >> of this thread over there is the one that load BOOT into the 15K section of the cartridge.  NOT the one in this thread.  Sorry, I had updated the video when he updated the software, sorry for the confusion.



#20 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 545 posts

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 11:43 AM

Thanks for the fast reply!  

(sorry I am a bit careful doing these steps to avoid that I don't break the XB27 module)

 

 

I need to use the .dsk in the other thread correct as it is better to load everything into the 15K ?

 

Then CTRL-L  and I enter  DSK1.XB27MENU   (or do I need to load another filename?)

 

The other menu items, like :

> Show directory

> Display a file

> Run a program

* will come automatically in the menu and then I can add more programs with CTRL-L?

 

Q2: the original XB27 Menu will remain correct?  (like in the video with all the options)

Q3: will also the games remain (2nd screen, when pressing the space bar)



#21 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:08 PM

If I remember right, the version in this thread automatically loads BOOT on powerup, bypassing the XB2.7s cart menu.  This would have been awesome for sysops back in the old says as the BBS could automatically reset after a power outage.  Anyway the version in this thread does NOT stuff it in the 15K space.  The other version WILL and all options are retained, although I'm having problems with Dec2Hex... the program loads, but that's it.  It might be something on my system.

 

I'm not home at the moment (Mom duty today) so I gotta go again...



#22 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • 383 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:16 PM

Upgrading my XB27 Cart at the moment, although I couldn't read the HFE file I created from Gazoo's XB27BOOT.DSK image. I had to create a blank image and then copy over the files inside the DSK image using TI99DIR. Then I created the HFE file which the HxC then ran quite happily.



#23 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • 383 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:23 PM

This is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO COOL!

 

Selected Rasmus games on the HxC, Booted to the XB27 menu. Hit enter and the Rasmus games boot menu loaded.

 

Stupendous work Great Gazoo!



#24 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • 383 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:36 PM

However, on returning to the BOOT menu after pressing QUIT in the games, displays corrupt data. Is this an F18A problem or something else? Anyone else get this?

 

img_1495.jpg



#25 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,086 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Wed Apr 29, 2015 3:33 PM

However, on returning to the BOOT menu after pressing QUIT in the games, displays corrupt data. Is this an F18A problem or something else? Anyone else get this?

 

 

 

Ahh, I see the sprite "Thingies"!  You must have already upgraded your F18A to version 1.6!  ;)

 

To eliminate that video crud, you need to power cycle your console, which in this case will erase BOOT from the 15K segment of the XB2.7s cartridge... not what you wanted to hear, right?   The good news is, if you just load another Rasmus game, you should not notice them in game.  When the F18A is unlocked to access it's extended capabilities, like in the Rasmus' games, it's a byproduct of an improper exit.  This was not an issue with version 1.5, but with version 1.6's new 'Uber Capabilities', a new exit strategy will have to be conjured up.

 

This will NOT happen when using all the other 9918 compliant programs or even 80 column capable programs like BA-Writer, HFSECTOR, etc.  

 

Strangely enough, using an ALT F12 (reset) on my PS/2 connector seemed to clear it up, while still retaining BOOT in the 15K segment.  I'll have try this again a few times to verify that this was not just a random event that just appeared to clear it up.

 

I'll leave the more technical and better informed explanations for the pro's like Matthew or Rasmus.  






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users