IGNORED

Harmony or Harmony Encore? SD or MicroSD?

gsrel

Just wondering if someone could tell me which unit is worth getting? Im not concerned about the deluxe version as I have many usb cables and memory cards kicking around (sd and mini)

Im in Canada so the cost overall is fairly expensive due to the conversion rate (30% more).

I contacted Batari via PM (along with email) but no response yet.

Edited by gsrel

Such as? I guess the better question is the extra money for the encore worth it? is the microsd version an "updated" board or is it the same with just a different memory reader?

I find homebrews interesting but as im totally new to this I thought id ask

I bought the Encore with regular SD slot. With the way homebrews are going, I wanted the extra capacity. It would suck if a 64K version of DK VCS came out and I couldn't play it!

I can use a stardard SD or a micro-SD left permanently in an adapter. All my PCs have standard SD slots so I would need the adapter anyway. Micro-SDs have their place in really small devices but they are almost always a pain in the ass to insert or remove...plus they have a tendency to disappear if dropped.

I'm using a 16GB mirco with adapter which was about $12 at Staples.

• Like 1

I bought the Encore with regular SD slot. With the way homebrews are going, I wanted the extra capacity. It would suck if a 64K version of DK VCS came out and I couldn't play it!

I can use a stardard SD or a micro-SD left permanently in an adapter. All my PCs have standard SD slots so I would need the adapter anyway. Micro-SDs have their place in really small devices but they are almost always a pain in the ass to insert or remove...plus they have a tendency to disappear if dropped.

I'm using a 16GB mirco with adapter which was about $12 at Staples.

Harmony cart stops at 32K? or smaller? I'm leaning towards the Encore myself - I want to be able to play the most homebrews I can get my hands on!

• 1 month later...