IGNORED

Adding to the x Register

Is there a easy way to add to the x register ?. Lets say that the equate "DC" contains value 10

LDX #10

STX DC

then i want to add 10 more to this DC equate, how can i go about this.

LDX DC+ 10# - i tried that one but it didnt work when using atasm to compile.

Im still a beginner but i guess it should be easy to learn how this is done.

There's no add or subtract for X and Y, only A.

There's INX, DEX which adds or subtracts 1.

Generally you use A if you want to do maths or bitwise operations.

LDX DC + 10# isn't a legal instruction. LDX DC + 10 would be legal but it loads X with whatever is 10 bytes after DC. e.g. if DC is $4000 then X gets loaded from $400A.

In the example you gave, if you want to add 10 to what's in DC, you'd do something like:

LDA DC
  CLC
  ADC #10
  STA DC

Is there a easy way to add to the x register ?

You always can use undocumented code:

to add value to X register:

LAX DC

SBX #$100-10

to substract value from X register:

LAX DC

SBX #10

no need to clear or set C.

• Like 2

You always can use undocumented code:

to add value to X register:

LAX DC

SBX #$100-10

to substract value from X register:

LAX DC

SBX #10

no need to clear or set C.

Yes, you can do that, but it means that those of us who have 65802 and 65816 processors aren't able to run it.

Atari never shipped a computer with more than 128K of memory, either.

Undocumented instructions have a lot of caveats. Besides compatibility with the 65816, they are also neither consistently documented nor supported by assemblers and debuggers. For a beginner I would definitely recommend avoiding such instructions.

• Like 3

I say use them only if you're writing something to show how fast it can be (i.e. inner loop of 1337 democode). Otherwise, reorder your code to have the value in A when you need to manipulate it. LUTs can be used for some things you do frequently with limited possible outcomes.