Jump to content

Photo

Web99 - Search your TiFiles/Disks v0.5 Beta 4

DiskImages RS232 PcTool Serial Transfer Search

83 replies to this topic

#51 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Nov 19, 2015 3:16 AM

Looking forward to it... The bootstrapping feature alone makes this package fascinating. Are you planning any YouTube tutorials? The Faire footage was excellent, but I would like to see some direct and pointed hardcore tutorials on the multiple features of Web99.

#52 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:33 AM

Yes Opry. Definately! I am planning to setup a dedicated youtube channel. I wanna do an updated version of the Powerpoint Presentation there. And of course some live demo where the computer screen is captured.
Currently I am solely working on the Index&Search Area of Web99 and not enhancing anything on the Communication towards the real TI iron. But the time for that will come.

Your feedback is very welcome.

Klaus



#53 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:15 AM

Web99 v0.5 Beta:

Attached File  Web99 2015-11-22 v0.5 Beta.zip   2.29MB   15 downloads

 

Please provide as much feedback as possible. Enjoy!



#54 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,238 posts

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:51 AM

Vielen Dank, Klaus!



#55 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 7:44 AM

Grossartig :)

 

 

 

(awesome)



#56 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:07 AM

Klaus, could you list the steps for the bootstrap interface? I am trying to move over an XB program, but am getting a 255 at the top of the screen (indicating No Program) instead of the 01 and the bootstrap program loading. I watched the Faire video, but I am missing something.

#57 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:54 PM

http://screencast.com/t/Dl1HeeNM

Which RS232 Hardware are you trying to connect?



#58 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:59 PM

Step 2 Step Guide for Index Setup & Search:

Attached File  Web99.pdf   1.79MB   14 downloads



#59 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:51 PM

I am using com0com (Null Modem Emulator) [http://com0com.sourceforge.net]to connect Web99 with TI Emulators on the same machine.

This gives me two virtual Serial Ports, that are connected together and you can configure how the pins should connect.

Attached File  com0com.png   18.05KB   1 downloads

 

This com0com Tool is not necessary for Web99 to function, you can use Web99 with a real serial Port or an Serial2USB adapter going to a TI.



#60 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 3:52 PM

My rs232 is HDX modded and has no DSR right now. I am unable to use hdx. I was hoping to transfer an XB listing over to the TI, but with no DSR on my card, I do not believe it is possible until I reload the HDX DSR.

I will try once I get the disk to reload it. :)

#61 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:46 AM

for now Web99 relies on DSR commands, so you need a working RS232 device that is defined in the DSR.

And I guess Bootstrapping a virgin TI-99 will always rely on having a DSR.

 

I got permission to integrate the Audio Tape Simulation from Fredrik Öhrström into Web99.

http://nivelleringsl...u/ti994a_basic/

So it might be that a future revision only requires your Pc Sound Output connected to the Ti-99 Cassette Port in order to bootstrap it and then load all programs via that Sound output, which might be interesting for not expanded TI-99.

Also I wanna tweak it together with Playground to escape the TI Basic Sandbox in order to get Assembler Programs running via Audio.

 

But we are talking far in the future here. First I need to decode all FileTypes correctly, get support for the Pc99 Diskformat, single TiFiles.

I also want to give Emulator Users an option to quickly copy a TiFile from the Treelist into a predefined Target Path on the Pc (D:\Classic99\DSK1) in the right format.So it's directly usable from the Emulator.  Done with v0.5 Beta 2

Or even start the emulator like the Gamebase does. JS99er would make a nice 5th Tab in the Search to execute the selected program in the Search Window right away, but I would need to ask Rasmus for permission before going that direction.


Edited by kl99, Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:31 AM.


#62 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:00 AM

Okay, I made a prototype for Classic99 Export.

In Web99 just right click your TiFile in the Tree and select "Copy to Classic99".

It's hardcoded to "C:\Classic99\DSK1\" for now, so please ensure this path exists, before trying out the feature.

It will create a File called "WEB99" in that Directory with the necessary TIFILES Header. For now it's hardcoded to be a PROGRAM Header, so no Data Files Support.

 

In Classic 99 just use "OLD DSK1.WEB99" to load the exported Basic Program.

 

Have fun and please give feedback:

Web99 [2015-11-24] v0.5 Beta 2

Attached File  Web99 2015-11-24 v0.5 Beta 2.zip   4.01MB   15 downloads


Edited by kl99, Tue Nov 24, 2015 5:12 AM.


#63 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:04 AM

If I were to hook the PC audio out into the TI cassette cable, would I just need a 6' audio cable and a F->F gender changer to attach the cassette interface cable to the audio line?

Would stereo/mono make a difference, or would that woek itself out? PC out is stereo, TI in is mono. Just curious if I need an adapter or whether it would be okay running all mono OR all stereo...

#64 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:09 AM

A new release of Web99, which fixes some issues, mainly

- you can now define on your own the path for the Classic99 Export

- wildcard issue on the FileName Field which is in the Christmas Edition.

 

The index is compatible/identical to the one from the Christmas Edition. So please download the data from there, or move the directory "index" over.

 

Web99 [2015-12-28] v0.5 Beta 4

Attached File  Web99_2015-12-28_v0.5_Beta_4.zip   4.03MB   33 downloads

 


Edited by kl99, Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:21 AM.


#65 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:19 AM

...if I have your christmas-index, do I have your data ? or just the index only ? 

(if the latter, so what for do I get it ? playing around?)

(as my own index is much bigger, and more interesting for me.... or I do not understad a detail on that)

 

thx



#66 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:43 AM

Hi,

 

is this the setting of the Classic99-folder itself, or of a DSK-Folder ?

(where does the "copy" land, and how? as a TI-File in the DSK-folder ?)

 

thx

 

EDIT:

 

OK, it is a DSK-folder which is set here, and a TI-file called WEB99 is copied there.

But if I OLD DSK1.WEB99 it , I get an I/O Error 02.

Good luck, the Paste-XB in Classic99 works


Edited by schmitzi, Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:50 AM.


#67 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:54 AM

Hi,

 

Is it possible to have a new right-klick-function, to open an windows-explorer with the containing path here ?

This would be a great help for me.

 

 

Attached File  open.JPG   120.99KB   3 downloads



#68 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:56 AM

...if I have your christmas-index, do I have your data ? or just the index only ? 

(if the latter, so what for do I get it ? playing around?)

(as my own index is much bigger, and more interesting for me.... or I do not understad a detail on that)

 

thx

 

The Index Technology allows storing indexed data as well. And this is what I am doing.

Once you did the step "Add to Index" your original data is no longer touched (not even read), still you have all the binaries from those TI Files.

 

In the index I am storing the binary data of every single binary which is representing one single file on a TI Disk.

In the index I am storing the Basic Source Code (100 CALL CLEAR,...) of all identified TI Basic and TI XB Programs.

 

When you run the Find Duplicates option, the index no longer stores 2 or more copies of the same binary. The binary is stored once in the index with a certain ID, and the information is stored that this binary ID is used by 2 or more TI Files (also represented with a certain ID). This goes further to a TI File with a certain ID is a member of a TI Disk with a certain ID.

 

I do not store the complete binary data of a TI Disk as such. For 99% of the cases this is not necessary for a program to work. It's sufficient to know some Meta Data about the Disk and which TI Files should be on it. Further I already mentioned in the thread, two TI Disks that are not matching on binary level can still represent the same Disk.

 

In the end having a directory structure with 100.000 disks is totally insufficient compared to what you can achieve with a fully searchable index.

 

The goal for Web99 is to accept any input format for programs/file data, from Single TIFILES File, V9T9 Disk Image, Pc99 Disk Image, Rom Dump, Grom Dump, zipped, unzipped, or even an Rss Feed from a website. And to be able to output any desired format on the fly, without the need that the input format was like that. The transformation from the input format to raw data happens in Web99 and the transformation to the output format happens in Web99 as well. It will mean I want to create a TI Disk on the fly or something the target platform needs.

It will no longer matter if you have a Rom Dump from a cartridge directly as Pc File on your Pc Harddisk, zipped for an Emulator, or contained as some TIFiles on a V9T9 Disk Image. If you have any of that, you have the software and will be able to output it in any format your target platform desires. Further with the help of Hash comparison it will no longer matter if you don't have nice names for your files or disk images. The Software will be detected as such and you will know that you be informed that you have "Hunt the Wumpus" in front of you, even if it's called GAME.ZIP or some TIFiles on a Disk Image.

 

Your index might look bigger for you, but having 4 times as much Disk Clones is not giving you any more Disks. Disk Clones are simply identified duplicates within your collection. Your indexed collection is actually smaller to what comes with the christmas edition, did you delete the index directory before adding your stuff? You shouldn't.



#69 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:04 AM

OK, it is a DSK-folder which is set here, and a TI-file called WEB99 is copied there.

But if I OLD DSK1.WEB99 it , I get an I/O Error 02.

Good luck, the Paste-XB in Classic99 works

 

For me it's working. Which file and which filetype did you export? Is it TIXBASIC or TIBASIC? Or something else?

Are you sure that Classic99 DSK1 is configured to FIAD and to that path? Try loading another File from that path.

Try to open the File WEB99 in TI99Dir. Did it recognize it as Basic Program?



#70 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:06 AM

sounds good, thx ;)

 

Yes, I deleted the christmas-index before building my own index, to get an overview of my files.

 

But this looks here as I can do 2 installations in 2 folders, one "Christmas", and one with my Index.....

 

Yes of course I have many disks (DSKs) more than once, as I have stored them i.e. in a targetfolder in my structure,

where they are detailed sorted by categories, to find them quick.

And I have them second in the collection from people, from magazines, from libraries, from usergroups, a.s.o

And I want this doubles, as I want to have and to save the legacy of this collections.



#71 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:07 AM

Hi,

 

Is it possible to have a new right-klick-function, to open an windows-explorer with the containing path here ?

This would be a great help for me.

 

 

attachicon.gifopen.JPG

 

I wonder what is the task you are trying to achieve after you jumped to Windows Explorer and that path.

And whether I can change Web99 in order that you achieve it within Web99.

 

Do you want to see the rest of the content of that TI Disk? Do you want to have a treeview with only that Disk?

Do you want to copy that TI Disk to some place?



#72 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:13 AM

 

For me it's working. Which file and which filetype did you export? Is it TIXBASIC or TIBASIC? Or something else?

Are you sure that Classic99 DSK1 is configured to FIAD and to that path? Try loading another File from that path.

Try to open the File WEB99 in TI99Dir. Did it recognize it as Basic Program?

 

 

it was as TIXBasic exported (Bomber, 48K? size, if this number in the 2nd column is the size),

DSK3 is FIAD here (I´ll try DSK1 tonight), and the path is working for other files.

 

Attached File  isch-hann-en-bomb-jeköppt.JPG   134.28KB   1 downloads

 

 

 

Error in XBasic:

 

Attached File  xb1.JPG   52.29KB   1 downloads

 

 

 

If I run TIBasic, the OLD DSK3 works, but if I run the proggie I get shredder/errors

 

Attached File  shred.JPG   93.3KB   1 downloads

 

 

If I use another program, IT WORKS. Maybe this bomber was bombed ?  :)

 

 

 

AND: The index shows me this .DSK where the bomber comes from, 3 times.... maybe this is part of my issue ?

 

Attached File  triple-b.JPG   118.49KB   1 downloads


Edited by schmitzi, Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:22 AM.


#73 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:25 AM

 

I wonder what is the task you are trying to achieve after you jumped to Windows Explorer and that path.

And whether I can change Web99 in order that you achieve it within Web99.

 

Do you want to see the rest of the content of that TI Disk? Do you want to have a treeview with only that Disk?

Do you want to copy that TI Disk to some place?

 

Today is used it to find a desired TIfile inside a DSK-File, and then I had to jump into this folder to get this DSK-file

And it is much more work to walk through the path, the just to do a right-klick, of course :)



#74 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:33 AM

I want to have some option in the Relations Tab to show&hide the other Ti Files on that Disk in some other color. And/or start a new search with a right click.

 

If your target is starting an emulator or copying that disk image to a certain location, I can try to automatize this. Classic99 is working more or less. I still don't like having the filename hardcoded to Web99 there but there are certain ascii characters used for TI Files that are not allowed as characters for PC Filenames and I didn't dare to ask Tursi yet about the proper mapping, he was quite busy lately on Backup/Server Data losses.

 

Of course Mess should be on the list of supported emulators. It just needs some time. Then your step and the step afterwards will be no longer necessary.



#75 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:37 AM

I do not work with emulators very often, I almost use real iron (95%) .

 

Today I wanted to jump to the DSK-file´s folder to catch it and to make a HFE and a Real Disk (OmniDIsk) from it.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: DiskImages, RS232, PcTool, Serial, Transfer, Search

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users