Jump to content

Photo

Scott Adams adventures (unknown)


42 replies to this topic

#1 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,842 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 4:14 PM

I just found these adventures created for the adventure card with the Adventure Editor that most I was not aware of.  These are not Scott Adams programmed but use the adventure cartridge.

 

I have had an original of Knight Iron Heart and Colossal Cave back in the 80's and I think I remember 'Moon' but the others I do not recall.  Anyone else recall them?

 

These games are homebrew games written with the Adventure Editor,
and pay on either a TI99 emulator with the Adventure cartridge module,
or with the Bunyon Interpreter.
 
Advocado  - The Great Advocado Adventure
bondo1 - Matilda's Dilemma by Bob Viering
cannibal  - Escape from Cannibal Island by Jims Soft
cap_kidd  - Mystery of Captain Kidd by Jims Soft
cave1  - Colossal Cave v4.0
cave2  - Colossal Cave - Masters Game
comprama  - Computorama by Rusty
escape  - Escape from Alcatraz by Jon Green
gerrys  - Gerrys Place
grayelf  - Tomb of the Gray Elf by John Stephens
ironheart  - Knight Ironheart by M.Weiand
moon  - Moon Adventure
nessy  - Nessy
 
 
You can download them if you want to have some fun..

Attached Files



#2 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,388 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 4:41 PM

Here's another one, which I and a friend of mine wrote in the late 80ies. It was our first and only one adventure that we composed with the Adventure Editor.

Attached Files



#3 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 5:56 PM


Advocado  - The Great Advocado Adventure
bondo1 - Matilda's Dilemma by Bob Viering
cannibal  - Escape from Cannibal Island by Jims Soft
cap_kidd  - Mystery of Captain Kidd by Jims Soft
cave1  - Colossal Cave v4.0
cave2  - Colossal Cave - Masters Game
comprama  - Computorama by Rusty
escape  - Escape from Alcatraz by Jon Green
gerrys  - Gerrys Place
grayelf  - Tomb of the Gray Elf by John Stephens
ironheart  - Knight Ironheart by M.Weiand
moon  - Moon Adventure
nessy  - Nessy
 
 
You can download them if you want to have some fun..

 

 

Hi,

 

is there a possibility to get the .FIAD-files to a DSK-File ?



#4 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,016 posts

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:03 PM

Most of these floated around back in the late eighties on a disk full of PD adventure games. I think I have most of them on disk somewhere in my old user's group disks. Nessy was a lot of fun, IIRC.



#5 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:12 PM

 

Hi,

 

is there a possibility to get the .FIAD-files to a DSK-File ?

 

...and how can I "mount" them in Classic99 ? Have read the manual now. but don´t find about how to use.



#6 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:35 PM

hmmm, in Classic99, with the adventure-cart inserted, this only tells me "file not found"

 

I have used -> Disk  -> DSK1  -> MyFolder - opens a windows

here I say DiskType: FIAD and Path: ..\DSK1\.. and point i.e. to the advocado.foad-file ->OK



#7 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,842 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:36 PM

Schmitzi.. you beat me to it.

 

 

 

 


Edited by Cschneider, Mon May 18, 2015 6:38 PM.


#8 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:38 PM

ah, ok, thanks. but how did you convert it to a DSK ?



#9 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:40 PM

(as I just want to learn about, but all manuals and wikis are only have a mass of theoretical stuff about formats,

 but no practical walk-throughs  for me dumb user,  or I have the wrong learning-material)



#10 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:44 PM

hmm, the DSK works now, can mount it in Classic99 v3.80, but when I open it, I get this:

 

 

 

 

 

Attached Files



#11 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,221 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:46 PM

FIAD to DSK (and in reverse) can be done via TI99Dir... Open your desired directory, highlight the desired files, click the convert icon.

TIImageTool does it as well, IIRC.

Edited by Opry99er, Mon May 18, 2015 6:47 PM.


#12 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,842 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:49 PM

yea for some reason when I converted it in TI99DIR it got are garbled.  just use the FIAD..



#13 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:51 PM

ah OK, i have tried that, but both tools gave me an error.

TI99DIR shows me the file as "DOS", and if I copy it to a opened, empty DSK-File,

it asks me for the format (D/V, PROGRAM ...) any many questions more,

TIimageTools also stops with a strange "corrupted" message

 

Wow, this is a real adventure :)



#14 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:52 PM

yea for some reason when I converted it in TI99DIR it got are garbled.  just use the FIAD..

 

yes, but how can I "mount" the ,FIAD-Files from your ZIP-file in Classic99 ?

I am sorry but I don´t know the way, have read and tried now for more than an hour,....



#15 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,221 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:56 PM

Classic99 runs FIAD natively.

Just open the Classic99 main folder, if there is not one already, create a "DSK1" folder.

Unzip whatever files you want, then drop them in the DSK1 folder.

There should already be a DSK1 folder there.

#16 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,221 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:57 PM

In emulation, IMHO, FIAD is the simplest format for moving stuff around, copying, etc...

Do it just like regular Windows files. :)

Best part is, when running in this mode, any time you save an XB program, you can watch it "create" in the DSK1 directory.

DL a fresh copy of Classic99... DSK1,2 and 3 are already there.... Plus, DSK1 has a ton of sample programs and stuff in it, like ARC303G

Edited by Opry99er, Mon May 18, 2015 6:59 PM.


#17 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,842 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:58 PM

not sure why it is not converting correctly to TI files..  But FIAD works good.

 

I typically use FIAD for most everything I do in classic 99..


Edited by Cschneider, Mon May 18, 2015 6:59 PM.


#18 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 6:58 PM

Classic99 runs FIAD natively.

Just open the Classic99 main folder, if there is not one already, create a "DSK1" folder.

Unzip whatever files you want, then drop them in the DSK1 folder.

There should already be a DSK1 folder there.

 

Yes, I am working with all of that, but i.e. the ADVOCADO.FIAD-file (and all other from the ZIP)

I cannot "mount" to in the menues dialog, as described before.

 

If I doubleclick the AVOCADO.FIAD-file in the last instance of the DSK-Dialog (have chosen FIAD on the left side)

then - before pressing the last OK - there is only the path in the field, missing the choosen AVOCADO.FIAD-file...

maybe that is the prob ?



#19 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,842 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 7:00 PM

i ended up renaming the files after I extracted them and took the .FIAD off. (should not matter though)

 

When you mount it with fiad sometimes after you drill to the directory you will need to select one particular file in the directory and then click OK..


Edited by Cschneider, Mon May 18, 2015 7:00 PM.


#20 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 7:00 PM

all other files in my Classi99´s DSK1-Path are without file-extension, or are .DSK-files.

The unzipped AVOCADO.FIAD is the only one with this extension



#21 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,221 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 7:01 PM

You needn't mount anything... Classic99 expects to look first in the DSK1 subdirectory file. No mounting of any kind.

Just rename it "AVOCADO" and run it from the Adventure module in standard FIAD mode.

Edited by Opry99er, Mon May 18, 2015 7:02 PM.


#22 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 7:04 PM

ah OK, have renamed the ADVOCADO.FIAD to ADVOCADO - Now it works.
 Thanks :)

 

Maybe this is the same problem on converting them wih the tools to a DSK ?

I´ll try it



#23 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,842 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 7:05 PM

check your disk mount for dsk1 and make sure it is set to FIAD and not Image(DSK)



#24 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,697 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 7:13 PM

yep, had to rename the files. (but why are thy named .FIAD?)

 

Have now unpacked and renamed all files from the ZIP, but cannot convert them to DSK as TI99DIR asks me a ton of questions I don´t now:

 

 

Attached Files


Edited by schmitzi, Mon May 18, 2015 7:13 PM.


#25 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,221 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon May 18, 2015 7:21 PM

It is strange that those are showing as DOS files... They should.be showing up as TI formatted... When that is the case, it does not ask you those questions...




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users