IGNORED

Need Troubleshooting Advice - Stuck on Press any key screen

I recently bought a TI-99/4a on Ebay. It was a single owner machine with all of the original manuals, packaging, and cables. It is all in beautiful condition. It looks like it is brand new. I have always wanted one since my cousin showed me his back in 1981 or so. I had a TRS-80 Model 1 at the time. He showed me the sprite capabilities and the voice synthesizer. I was envious!

The problem is that my TI-99/4a doesn't work. It powers up and shows the press any key screen, but when I press any key it doesn't do anything.

I have a Master's degree in Computer Science and 30 years of experience. I am a device programmer. I mostly program, but I do some module level hookups and electrical work. I don't do a lot of board level work, but I have used a multimeter, oscilloscope, and soldering iron. I found a technical manual on the Internet that included a schematic.

I am looking for any advice before I crack the case. Has anyone seen this symptom before? What is the most probably cause? Is it possible to get replacement parts? Is there anything I can reseat? Could something have just come loose in shipping. That kind of thing. Any advice would be better than what I have now. I would really love to have a working unit so I could play around with Basic programming and show my daughter what a real beginners computer should look like.

Thanks!

Sean Lane Fuller