Jump to content

Photo

Another small game: IntyPak


11 replies to this topic

#1 nanochess ONLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • 4,490 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico, Mexico

Posted Wed Jun 3, 2015 8:06 PM

Hi everyone.

 

I've been working in this for some days using IntyBASIC.

 

I was thinking in naming it "Rev in Cmart's lair chasing Spiker copies" but at the end I choosed IntyPak :)

 

You'll recognize immediately a common theme here ;) but it's a sample that I want to include in IntyBASIC to show some basic algorithms like movement in a labyrinth and enemies chasing player.

 

intypak.gif

Click to animate

 

Attached Files



#2 nanochess ONLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,490 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico, Mexico

Posted Wed Jun 3, 2015 9:56 PM

Jess Ragan just warned me of a non-desired interpretation of my original title, so I've changed the game title and reuploaded it.



#3 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 9,702 posts
  • Triple-Stripe Mo' Bro
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Thu Jun 4, 2015 3:11 AM

It won't work for me.  The title screen appears and it says "PRESS BUTTON" and before I do anything, it runs by itself, but won't accept input.

 

I am trying to run a ROM compiled and assembled from the BASIC source.

 

    - dZ.

 

P.S.  If I run the ROM included in the ZIP file, it works.  Why are the binaries different when I compile myself?


Edited by DZ-Jay, Thu Jun 4, 2015 3:13 AM.


#4 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 9,702 posts
  • Triple-Stripe Mo' Bro
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Thu Jun 4, 2015 3:14 AM

Hi everyone.

 

I've been working in this for some days using IntyBASIC.

 

I was thinking in naming it "Rev in Cmart's lair chasing Spiker copies" but at the end I choosed IntyPak :)

 

You'll recognize immediately a common theme here ;) but it's a sample that I want to include in IntyBASIC to show some basic algorithms like movement in a labyrinth and enemies chasing player.

 

attachicon.gifintypak.gif

Click to animate

 

 

Great first try.  As someone who implemented Pac-Man on the Intellivision (you know the story, right?), I can offer a few suggestions on improvements, if you'd like. :)



#5 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 9,702 posts
  • Triple-Stripe Mo' Bro
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Thu Jun 4, 2015 3:18 AM

It won't work for me.  The title screen appears and it says "PRESS BUTTON" and before I do anything, it runs by itself, but won't accept input.

 

I am trying to run a ROM compiled and assembled from the BASIC source.

 

    - dZ.

 

P.S.  If I run the ROM included in the ZIP file, it works.  Why are the binaries different when I compile myself?

 

Update:  I just realized that it doesn't compile correctly, it has strange errors.  Perhaps my version of the compiler is outdated.

 

Update 2: I've updated to the latest version of IntyBASIC and now the game works as expected.


Edited by DZ-Jay, Thu Jun 4, 2015 5:20 AM.


#6 nanochess ONLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,490 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico, Mexico

Posted Thu Jun 4, 2015 7:35 AM

 

Great first try.  As someone who implemented Pac-Man on the Intellivision (you know the story, right?), I can offer a few suggestions on improvements, if you'd like. :)

 

I've read the story of Christmas Carol :)

 

I'll be glad to read your suggestions also you're free to improve over my code.

 

 

Update:  I just realized that it doesn't compile correctly, it has strange errors.  Perhaps my version of the compiler is outdated.

 

Update 2: I've updated to the latest version of IntyBASIC and now the game works as expected.

 

Yes, it uses the latest CONT syntax to check for the two controllers at same time.



#7 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 9,702 posts
  • Triple-Stripe Mo' Bro
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Thu Jun 4, 2015 8:28 AM

 
I've read the story of Christmas Carol :)
 
I'll be glad to read your suggestions also you're free to improve over my code.
 
 
Yes, it uses the latest CONT syntax to check for the two controllers at same time.


Great! I'll take a look at the code this week-end and see if I can include the "cornering" feature and controller heuristics.

That way, the code can serve as an example of a 4-way maze handling routine as well. :)

#8 nanochess ONLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,490 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico, Mexico

Posted Thu Jun 4, 2015 9:26 AM

Great! I'll take a look at the code this week-end and see if I can include the "cornering" feature and controller heuristics.

That way, the code can serve as an example of a 4-way maze handling routine as well. :)


BTW, about different binaries, I've used the TITLE feature of IntyBASIC to include game title in the ROM file.

#9 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 14,829 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2015 4:37 PM

Cool looking so far.

#10 cmart604 OFFLINE  

cmart604

    Quadrunner

  • 10,925 posts
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2015 11:06 PM

I liked the original title better. 😂

#11 intvnut OFFLINE  

intvnut

    River Patroller

  • 2,710 posts
  • Location:@R6 (top of stack)

Posted Wed Jun 10, 2015 2:20 AM

I liked the original title better.

 

I didn't.  But then, I've worked with and gone to school with folks that fell in the demographic that might've taken it the wrong way.  Make it Polish themed and spell it Paczki;) They're round after all. Who could get offended at a pastry?



#12 freewheel OFFLINE  

freewheel

    River Patroller

  • 2,854 posts

Posted Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:35 AM

Stunning that "a guy sitting in his basement" can make a decent Pac-Man clone for the INTV in what I bet was only a small handful of hours.

 

Atari programmers spent weeks and still couldn't do it. :P






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users