Jump to content

Photo

DataSoft Spell Wizard ?

DataSoft Spell Check

44 replies to this topic

#1 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • 1,275 posts

Posted Mon Jun 8, 2015 5:50 AM

Anyone have an image of this?



#2 fujidude OFFLINE  

fujidude

    River Patroller

  • 4,972 posts
  • Location:United States of America

Posted Mon Jun 8, 2015 2:27 PM

This might bake your cake...

 

Attached File  Datasoft Spell Wizard.zip   85.55KB   123 downloads



#3 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,275 posts

Posted Tue Jun 9, 2015 6:21 AM

How awesome is that!  Thanks!



#4 fujidude OFFLINE  

fujidude

    River Patroller

  • 4,972 posts
  • Location:United States of America

Posted Tue Jun 9, 2015 9:23 AM

Hopefully it is.  I used the APE Pro system on the disks I had of it, which were Happy backups to begin with.  I have never actually tried them myself.  I did this back in 2003 it seems by the time stamp.  I had water damage in the house a few years later and ended up getting rid of all my Atari hardware, disks, books, and even cartridges.  The carts and disks were not damaged at all but I no longer had anything to plug them into.  Had I known about ebay values for some OSS carts and the like, or that I would find this online community later, I would have held on to some more of what I could have.

 

I would be interested to know if that works, just as a matter of curiosity.



#5 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,275 posts

Posted Tue Jun 9, 2015 5:53 PM

It boots and seems to work.  I did get a single error in my first test document.  I'm still working with it to validate if its working properly.



#6 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,275 posts

Posted Tue Jun 9, 2015 6:33 PM

Sadly while it appears to function, there is something not quite right.  Errant matches are identified, but not displayed correctly.

 
SE Ss Proof05Fail
 

I thought maybe it was the dictionary disk, but searching for correct words finds the match and displays it incorrectly as well.  Im thinking the dictionary is ok since it finds words properly, but the code to display is bungled up.  Here I searched for and found the word "correct":

 

SE Ss Search02Y

Edited by Ripdubski, Tue Jun 9, 2015 6:34 PM.


#7 fujidude OFFLINE  

fujidude

    River Patroller

  • 4,972 posts
  • Location:United States of America

Posted Tue Jun 9, 2015 8:02 PM

Bummer.  Sorry to hear that for your sake.  Me, I just use the PC for my spelling needs these days.  I was hoping it would have worked for ya.



#8 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,275 posts

Posted Wed Jun 10, 2015 6:57 PM

no problem, thanks for providing the image anyway!  anyone else have an image of at least the program disk?



#9 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 3,985 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:30 AM

You may have some problems getting this.  I just looked at my original disk, and Spell Wizard is pretty heavily protected with lots of bad and missing sectors.  Unfortunately, this is the type of protection that causes a PRO image to destroy a disk.  An ATX image might be possible.  If you're interested, do some research -- does one of the "unprotectors" (Chipmunk, etc.) have a patch for Spell Wizard?  That should solve the problems.

 

-Larry



#10 bob1200xl OFFLINE  

bob1200xl

    River Patroller

  • 2,536 posts

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:01 AM

It is on the list for Chipmunk.

 

I can't find my disks, though.

 

Bob



#11 fujidude OFFLINE  

fujidude

    River Patroller

  • 4,972 posts
  • Location:United States of America

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:23 AM

It is on the list for Chipmunk.

 

I can't find my disks, though.

 

Bob

I think I have backups of Chipmunk.

Attached File  Chipmunk.zip   47.56KB   78 downloads


Edited by fujidude, Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:26 AM.


#12 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,095 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:27 AM

Here's the two Chipmunk disks.

Attached File  Chipmunk A.atr   90.02KB   92 downloads

Attached File  Chipmunk B.atr   90.02KB   91 downloads



#13 fujidude OFFLINE  

fujidude

    River Patroller

  • 4,972 posts
  • Location:United States of America

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:48 AM

I must say I am a bit curious as to what's driving this quest to get some more spell checking working on the A8.  Is there a personal connection with Spell Wizard?  Do you have a goal to get an A8 setup that is capable of performing office productivity tasks just for the sake of doing it?  Do you prefer to get your work done on an A8 vs. a modern computer?  Inquiring minds want to know. :twisted:  

 

I forgot a potential reason: for collection completion goals.


Edited by fujidude, Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:48 AM.


#14 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,275 posts

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:14 PM

I want to do a podcast episode about it and other spell checkers.  Plus it should be archived.



#15 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,275 posts

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:20 PM

You may have some problems getting this.  I just looked at my original disk, and Spell Wizard is pretty heavily protected with lots of bad and missing sectors.  Unfortunately, this is the type of protection that causes a PRO image to destroy a disk.  An ATX image might be possible.  If you're interested, do some research -- does one of the "unprotectors" (Chipmunk, etc.) have a patch for Spell Wizard?  That should solve the problems.

 

-Larry

 

Does that mean that executing the PRO image will cause it to destroy itself, to the act of creating the PRO image destroys the source disk?  Curious?  The Chipmunk A disk linked by Stephen doesn't boot btw.



#16 bob1200xl OFFLINE  

bob1200xl

    River Patroller

  • 2,536 posts

Posted Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:31 AM

Yes, Chipmunk A is just a blank, formatted disk image.

 

Anybody have the latest Chipmunk? It should have Spell Wizard in the index.

 

Bob



#17 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,873 posts

Posted Fri Jun 12, 2015 12:29 PM

Well,

 

one can find Chipmunk e.g. at Mr Bacardi`s webpage:

http://mrbacardi.000space.com/

just click on "Tools" and scroll down a bit to find Chipmunk 3.04. Don`t know if it is the latest version...

 

Pigwa or better the Holmes collection at Pigwa also has Chipmunk 2.9 to 3.04 available:

http://ftp.pigwa.net... A-Z/index.html

scroll down to C...



#18 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,637 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:08 PM

Yes, Chipmunk A is just a blank, formatted disk image.

 

Anybody have the latest Chipmunk? It should have Spell Wizard in the index.

 

Bob

I don't remember Chipmunk.  I have one lavender disk and it doesn't list Spell Wizard, closest is 'Spelunker'.

I do have Black Patch and it does have 'SPELL WIZZARD'.  Is there another data disk for Chipmunk?

....

I just checked, there are four black patch .atr on ftp.pigwa.net, so I don't need to copy mine.

I believe the SPELL WIZZARD patch is on disk one of BP.

edit again:

Yes Chipmunk has 'Spell Wizard' on side two.


Edited by russg, Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:18 PM.


#19 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,275 posts

Posted Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:06 PM

How does one use Chipmunk?



#20 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,637 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:52 PM

How does one use Chipmunk?

You pick your original software from a list.

Then Chipmunk tells you to put in your original disk.

Chipmunk copies the disk and tells you to put in a formatted empty disk.

Chipmunk then writes out the copy using the crack of the original disk.

Now, you have a working, unprotected/cracked copy.



#21 Ripdubski OFFLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,275 posts

Posted Fri Jun 12, 2015 7:58 PM

So I could take the PRO image, convert it to ATR (?), then run Chipmunk against the ATR?  Or will this only work on the real deal?  Is there a PRO to ATR conversion utility?



#22 FULS OFFLINE  

FULS

    Moonsweeper

  • 330 posts
  • Location:Troy, Ohio

Posted Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:08 PM

Hi,

Try this out. I did a sector copy of my disk and used Chipmunk on it.

I don't know if this is error free but try it.

 

 

Hope it works,

Doug



#23 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,637 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:26 AM

So I could take the PRO image, convert it to ATR (?), then run Chipmunk against the ATR?  Or will this only work on the real deal?  Is there a PRO to ATR conversion utility?

I don't think so.  A PRO image is readable on a PRO interface from Atarimax using APE.  This has been asked before, can you

use a PRO image to write a real disk.  No, I think.  You can't write bad sectors or the miriad of copy protection schemes on a

stock Atari disk drive, or an emulated drive.



#24 Shawn Jefferson OFFLINE  

Shawn Jefferson

    Stargunner

  • 1,987 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Canada

Posted Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:19 PM

You could copy the PRO image to an ATR, if you can skip bad sectors, but you can't convert them directly.



#25 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,637 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Sat Jun 13, 2015 3:38 PM

You could copy the PRO image to an ATR, if you can skip bad sectors, but you can't convert them directly.

there are lots of other schemes than bad sectors.  I'm not familiar, but I've heard 'fuzzy' sector, faulty sector links.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: DataSoft, Spell Check

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users