Jump to content

Photo

Ramp Rage (v1.2) has finally arrived

New Game 2015

19 replies to this topic

#1 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • 7,303 posts
  • High Score Club - Post a score already
  • Location:Approaching "Space Fortress Omega"

Posted Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:40 AM

After a lot of assembles here is my game Ramp Rage v1.2

 

I've commented on just about every game released in recent times so here's your chance for revenge, comments welcome, good or bad. Yes it's probably still fairly hard on the default level "normal" but easy is easy. Once you've played a few times you should get through a couple of levels and start to learn what is what. It is intended to offer a lasting challenge.

 

The high score club guys play tested v1.1 and I've since made a few changes; hopefully not sanitised the game too much! I've struggled to get all the game elements to work together, probably as I have stuck with movement in a window, rather than fixed vertical position like in other vertically scrolling games. It will never be perfect and probably v1.3 will come after some of you have played it more!

 

Full instructions here Attached File  Ramp Rage - Instructions v1.2.pdf   562.08KB   279 downloads

Download the Game here Attached File  Ramp Rage - Boot Game v1.2.ATR   130.02KB   259 downloads

(1050 enhanced density) probably could be made into a file version but I've used lots of odd addresses.

 

Post any scores here Ramp Rage High Scores

 

Video of level 3 (spoiler: shows docking) Attached File  Ramp Rage Video #2.wmv   2.27MB   235 downloads

Video showing PMG shield Attached File  Ramp Rage Video #1.wmv   1.37MB   162 downloads

 

Let me know if it doesn't run on your system or you need a file version or single density disk version creating.

 

If you have NTSC and PAL systems I would really like to hear what you think about the comparative speeds, and if one plays better than the other?

 

Possible issues:

NTSC TV's: speed gauge may not be fully visible (probable), please post if you can't see 4 segments of the gauge.

May lose a life, even with the PMG Shield: if collecting power-up and baddie at same time (probable)

Some levels may not have enough fuel (unlikely)

Baddie may get stuck in margin area (possible), if you collect last target docker will not appear until this goes off screen, may take way too long

Non-moving obstacles may make sections impossible to pass (possible)

 

Have Fun

trbb


Edited by therealbountybob, Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:41 AM.


#2 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,450 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:03 PM

Well!!! That is some excellent news!

When I am back to my atari i'll download it and play!

#3 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,354 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:58 PM

You have brought joy to an otherwise rough day... thank you for this wonderful diversion!



#4 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,450 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:38 PM

Ok now I've downloaded it. Let me try this on real hardware.

 

Your movie looks very promising!!

 

Love the bad guys. 


Edited by ProWizard, Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:44 PM.


#5 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,450 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Sat Jun 13, 2015 3:11 PM

Ah... I remember myself playing this game a while ago. I already loved the first version, but Jason... you did a great job here.

 

What an entertaining and challenging game. I almost collected the 8 targets (1 left, and died) and I stared at the screen with such a face like: this is not happening right?!!?

 

Haha and RESTART!

 

Thanks for this pleasant surprise. I know what I'm going to do tomorrow! Ramp Rage it is!!!



#6 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,878 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:05 AM

Proper product that, really great little game...

 

Well done that man and thank you..

 

Will be giving this a proper bash later......

 

(PS, ask SONY for a PS4 for my daughter :)  comes out of hospital this month)


Edited by Mclaneinc, Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:06 AM.


#7 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 267 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:34 PM

Thank you very much for sharing your game.
I tried to load it.
However, i ran into problems.
My config is:
Atary800xl with myide2, sio2sd and ultimate 1mb.

I unplugged myide, loaded game(atr) into D1: of the
Sio2sd. After booting, have a look at the picture...
Guess i did something wrong?

Happy about an advise...

uhh, by the way. I discovered one strange thing. If it loads on the Sio2SD,

it says something like SIO xex loader? Looks like the atr is handeled as a xex-file

instead of a disk image?

 

Stefan
...IMG_20150614_201812.jpg IMG_20150614_201831.jpg


Edited by Stefan Both, Sun Jun 14, 2015 1:15 PM.


#8 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,049 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Sun Jun 14, 2015 1:01 PM

Hi Jason

great work....i like it :)

greetings Walter



#9 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 267 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:38 PM

Still problems loading the game from sio2sd, but
it R U N S great from MyIDE2 image menu...
so probably an issue regarding Sio2SD.
Maybe I should load it with a different speed/
without speeder.
 
IMG_20150614_223931.jpg

 

Thank you very much. I made a short test, and can't wait

'till tomorrow evening. looks like a L O T of fun !

 

 

Stefan


Edited by Stefan Both, Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:44 PM.


#10 Grevle OFFLINE  

Grevle

    Moonsweeper

  • 369 posts
  • Location:Norway

Posted Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:58 PM

Nice title screen also. Are you using DLI's for color effects ? Seems i have still a lot to learn...



#11 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,450 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:03 PM

The sounds of the game (well some of the sounds) do remind me of that brilliant game Special Delivery... (my favorite holiday seasons game ever!) 

 

Do you hear it too?



#12 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 7,303 posts
  • High Score Club - Post a score already
  • Location:Approaching "Space Fortress Omega"

Posted Sun Jun 14, 2015 5:09 PM

Thanks for the comments everyone :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:

Still problems loading the game from sio2sd, but it R U N S great from MyIDE2 image menu...
so probably an issue regarding Sio2SD.
Maybe I should load it with a different speed/without speeder.

Anyone know if there are any addresses (on page 0 perhaps?) that should be avoided re sio2sd loading?

 

If anyone wants to get involved with some improvements I will be sticking to MAC/65 and real hardware, so must I be able to transfer any files via APE :)

Nice title screen also. Are you using DLI's for color effects ? Seems i have still a lot to learn...

Suprisingly this was just a "simple" single DLI (that's why there is the tearing). I also used PMG overlays for the first time.

 

If someone wants to do a proper title screen (small as possible) or a front page "box cover" graphic for the documents get in touch :)

 

The sounds of the game (well some of the sounds) do remind me of that brilliant game Special Delivery... (my favorite holiday seasons game ever!) 

 

Do you hear it too?

Hmm, I wish!! still could do with help on the sound effects - what I have evolved with a lot of trial and error!



#13 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,878 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:37 AM

Played late into the night, loving it...

 

Thank you RBB...

 

And a question, it must be daunting going from so much in the way of machine resources to trying to cram it all into 48 - 64K, so do you think working on such resource friendly items with hardware to do almost as you want, has that improved the way you code on an Atari?

 

Always wondered about this, I'm sure over the years you have leaned many new coding ways for the new hardware but is any useful retro wise?


Edited by Mclaneinc, Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:44 AM.


#14 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 7,303 posts
  • High Score Club - Post a score already
  • Location:Approaching "Space Fortress Omega"

Posted Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:47 AM

Played late into the night, loving it...

 

Thank you RBB...

 

And a question, it must be daunting going from so much in the way of machine resources to trying to cram it all into 48 - 64K, so do you think working on such resource friendly items with hardware to do almost as you want, has that improved the way you code on an Atari?

 

Always wondered about this, I'm sure over the years you have leaned many new coding ways for the new hardware but is any useful retro wise?

OK now I'm sure you are mixing me up with someone else (probably another Jason... we are legion! so no PS4!) but I've mainly done database programming on the PCs but I go back to when they were just the IBM XT etc with limited resources. Funnily enough I found I could fit in so much more with the assembler than with basic and turbo basic. Usually I ran out of RAM sooner and the game came to an end sooner too (Gwobby etc)

 

Glad you like the game :)



#15 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,878 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:28 AM

OK now I'm sure you are mixing me up with someone else (probably another Jason... we are legion! so no PS4!) but I've mainly done database programming on the PCs but I go back to when they were just the IBM XT etc with limited resources. Funnily enough I found I could fit in so much more with the assembler than with basic and turbo basic. Usually I ran out of RAM sooner and the game came to an end sooner too (Gwobby etc)

 

Glad you like the game :)

 

Ack, senior moment Jason..

 

Yes, mixed you up with someone else...

 

So much going on with my daughter coming out of hospital and a million and one other things..

 

Comments re the game are correct and proper tho :), having great fun with it..


Edited by Mclaneinc, Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:30 AM.


#16 CrazyChris OFFLINE  

CrazyChris

    Dragonstomper

  • 794 posts
  • Location:OH

Posted Tue Jun 16, 2015 4:42 AM

How about a 5200 version?



#17 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 7,303 posts
  • High Score Club - Post a score already
  • Location:Approaching "Space Fortress Omega"

Posted Tue Jun 16, 2015 12:13 PM

How about a 5200 version?

Good luck with that :-D



#18 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,049 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Tue Jun 16, 2015 12:59 PM

How about a 5200 version?

a 7800 version with 7800 Badic should be doable
greetings Walter

#19 CrazyChris OFFLINE  

CrazyChris

    Dragonstomper

  • 794 posts
  • Location:OH

Posted Fri Jun 19, 2015 6:15 AM

Good luck with that :-D

Thanks for the response. I should have checked the system requirements.
 



#20 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 7,303 posts
  • High Score Club - Post a score already
  • Location:Approaching "Space Fortress Omega"

Posted Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:06 PM

Thanks for the response. I should have checked the system requirements.
 

Seriously I don't have a 5200 or the inclination as I want to start my next A8 project but would be happy to help if someone did want to convert Ramp Rage, if it was possible. Of course I'm flattered even by the thought :thumbsup:

 

If anyone does have any issues including those I've listed on the first post please let me know and remember you can post any Ramp Rage scores on the thread in the HSC :)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: New Game, 2015

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users