IGNORED

Assembling .a, .S files; .bas files; Fixed point; Functions; Questions?

M12

Hi all,

I'm new to 7800 programming. I'll let you know some of the things I know (and maybe you can correct me). And I also have some questions.

.a78 files are the machine language files that run directly in an Atari or an emulator such as Mess. How does one assemble such files? Is there an assembler I can download that can convert a ".S" or a ".a" into the machine code file that I can run on an Atari or emulator?

What is the difference between a ".S" file and a ".a" file? I downloaded source code from atarimuseum.com for a game such as Dig Dug, and all of the files are ".S" files, which seem to just be assembly files.

I also downloaded a game called INV+ (http://www.dos486.com/atari/index.shtml), which came in the form of a ".a" file, which seems to be an assembly file with some other assignments such as "BombDelay = $C6" at the beginning of the file; are these assignments just defining things so that the code is easier to read? INV+ also had a ".bin" file, which seemed to just be machine code (so a ".bin" file can also be run on an emulator or an Atari?).

Now, when it comes to BASIC files, the extension is ".bas". The games that came in the 7800basic download such as simple and adventurer had ".bas" files. The 7800basic is a compiler that takes in a ".bas" file as input and produces a ".a78" machine code file. Whenever I run 7800basic on a file such as "adventurer.bas", it outputs a 7800.asm file (which is an assembly file) and a "a78info.cfg" file. But there is no adventurer.bas.a78. Am I just not waiting long enough for the compiler? How long should it take?

Finally, are interpreters useful to use on a BASIC file rather than a compiler?

Thanks if you answer any of these questions!

Edited by M12