IGNORED

Just For Fun: Brainstorming New Uses for 64C Housings

I've been a happy user of the Atari 400/800 computer family since about 1983, but I decided recently that, for the sake of completeness, I should probably add a Commodore 64—aka "that damn competitor that's getting all the cool games that my beloved Atari isn't getting!"—to my growing collection of vintage computers. I had already decided on a 64C (the 1986 redesign of the original Commodore 64) when I learned that Commodore's original injection molds for the 64C housing had been found, and that a Kickstarter campaign had been started to fund the production of new housings in novelty colors. Even though I haven't yet bought a 64C computer, I figured that I could use a few of these cases when the time came, so I sent in my pledge, and I finally received my new housings yesterday afternoon. Here's a quick picture of the white one:

image2.jpg

This is my first time seeing the 64C housing in person, with a computer in it or not, and I have to say that it's a fairly nice example of the 1980s wedge form factor, which I've always liked anyway. But now that more of these housings can potentially be made, I find myself wondering what else can be done with them. Despite their lineage as Commodore housings, it might be interesting if a new Atari XL/XE mainboard could be designed for them, one which is compatible with the original machines but is made from all-new parts—except the original Atari chips, presumably—and which integrates all the various upgrades that Atari owners have had to add to their original machines over the years.

image1.jpg