Jump to content

Photo

midi module or synthesizer connected to the TI-99/4A

synthesizer midi

89 replies to this topic

#1 Dexter OFFLINE  

Dexter

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Landgraaf, Netherlands / Übach-Palenberg, Deutschland

Posted Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:54 PM

Who owns a new or old midi module or synthesizer, and has connected it to his TI-99/4A or other home computer.

 

Which module / synthesizer
Which interface, how connected
Which software

 

  • Around 1988 I had a Roland D10,
  • Connected through a CLAB MIDI interface
  • Software was Supertrack 64.

 



#2 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,159 posts

Posted Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:01 PM

The TI software to use with MIDI is called MIDI Master. It requires a special cable connected to the RS-232 card (it came with the software when originally sold, but I think the pinout for it is readily available).



#3 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:42 PM

Midi Master 99 

 

gallery_29515_833_59252.jpg

 

Casiotione MT-540

 

Casio_MT-540.jpeg

 

Easy Peasy midi cable from RS232 to keyboard, only 2 signal wires plus ground. If you're really interested I can use a meter to find out the pinouts.

 

Gazoo



#4 sparkdrummer ONLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Dragonstomper

  • 749 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:58 PM

I wouldn't mind having that info.

#5 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Mon Jul 20, 2015 6:12 PM

I wouldn't mind having that info.

 

I'll see what I can do. I hope you're not in a hurry, it may be a weekend project.

 

Gazoo


Edited by Gazoo, Mon Jul 20, 2015 6:13 PM.


#6 sparkdrummer ONLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Dragonstomper

  • 749 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Mon Jul 20, 2015 6:20 PM

Absolutely no hurry what so ever. I appreciate you taking the time when you can to check it.

#7 Dexter OFFLINE  

Dexter

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Landgraaf, Netherlands / Übach-Palenberg, Deutschland

Posted Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:29 AM

The TI software to use with MIDI is called MIDI Master. It requires a special cable connected to the RS-232 card (it came with the software when originally sold, but I think the pinout for it is readily available).

 

I haven't found anything on the net regarding software or hardware information. I'm totally blank on that subject, except for that I recognize the name MIDI Master 99. Do you have any link or other info you could upload? So some sort of cable is connected to the serial port, AND might be incompattible with the nanoPEB?

 

Midi Master 99 

 

gallery_29515_833_59252.jpg

 

Casiotione MT-540

 

Casio_MT-540.jpeg

 

Easy Peasy midi cable from RS232 to keyboard, only 2 signal wires plus ground. If you're really interested I can use a meter to find out the pinouts.

 

Gazoo

 

1997, that looks like a pretty recent version. Thanks for the offer Gazoo, if noone comes up with a schematic or something, measuring the pinouts would be a last resort to find out.



#8 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,842 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:04 AM

...

I haven't found anything on the net regarding software or hardware information. I'm totally blank on that subject, except for that I recognize the name MIDI Master 99. Do you have any link or other info you could upload? So some sort of cable is connected to the serial port, AND might be incompattible with the nanoPEB?

....

 

 

...so here´s just what I found quickly, maybe there is something you can use to enter the topic...

 

but it is software only, by random, absolutely nothing about schematics or hardware...

Attached Files



#9 Dexter OFFLINE  

Dexter

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Landgraaf, Netherlands / Übach-Palenberg, Deutschland

Posted Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:01 AM

Thanks  :thumbsup:

That's probably all the software there is. :)

 



#10 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,842 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:40 AM

I hope Gazoo or anybody else can dig out some more, as I am oblivious :)



#11 Dexter OFFLINE  

Dexter

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Landgraaf, Netherlands / Übach-Palenberg, Deutschland

Posted Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:45 PM

https://ia700702.us....Asgard_v2_3.pdf

 

Found this among other Asgard newsletters.

However, not much wiser about the cable, so I'd definitely like you to measure the cable, Gazoo. But there must be some kind of level conversion from RS323 to TTL.

 

However, no hurry. :)

 



#12 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:40 PM

DIN 5 (midi)   RS232 (TI)

------------   ----------

2              1

4              3 

5              7

 

 

Pretty simple cable.

 

I'm not sure if I have the original disks, the version I use has been on my hard drive for like forever.

I can try and make a program disk from it if you guys are really interested. 

 

Gazoo

 



#13 sparkdrummer ONLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Dragonstomper

  • 749 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:15 PM

Thank you sir!
I don't think you would need to build a disk because the latest upload of Asgard stuff included midimaster disks.
thanks go to Ralf for that one.
-Ralph.

#14 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:29 PM

Thank you sir!
I don't think you would need to build a disk because the latest upload of Asgard stuff included midimaster disks.
thanks go to Ralf for that one.
-Ralph.

 

I wasn't aware that Asgard had anything to do with the software.

 

I purchased it from Cecure, and I just found my original disks.

 

Are they Bruce Harrison's disks? His version had a lot of improvements.

Midi Album is the best of them, it requires a Supercart or comparable (I wrote a program to autoload it in to the HSGPL). It allows you to select a playlist and listen to hours of TI Midi stuff (you probably need a hard drive for hours of music, though).

 

Gazoo


Edited by Gazoo, Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:35 PM.


#15 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,159 posts

Posted Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:20 PM

The Asgard version was the one Mike Maksimik did--before Bruce Harrison got his mitts onto it (and IIRC, added support for the SAMS card to it, among all of his other tweaks and improvements).



#16 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:43 AM

The Asgard version was the one Mike Maksimik did--before Bruce Harrison got his mitts onto it (and IIRC, added support for the SAMS card to it, among all of his other tweaks and improvements).

 

The disks I purchased from Cecure are the original version by Mike Maksimik.

 

I got the Bruce Harrison version from him at a Lima Fair. They had handwritten labels, I may still be able to find them.

 

Gazoo



#17 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 3,922 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:05 AM

I've had my share of synths over the years. I'm pretty sure the first ones were without MIDI. First hookup was with the Amiga. :)

 

Around 1988 I had a Roland D10

 

Some good sounds there. ;)

 



#18 TheMole OFFLINE  

TheMole

    Dragonstomper

  • 744 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:26 AM

DIN 5 (midi)   RS232 (TI)

------------   ----------

2              1

4              3 

5              7

 

 

Pretty simple cable.

 

I'm not sure if I have the original disks, the version I use has been on my hard drive for like forever.

I can try and make a program disk from it if you guys are really interested. 

 

Gazoo

 

 

I'm guessing this is for Midi-out only? Is there a way to do Midi-in (and use the TI's sound chip as a synthesizer)?



#19 Dexter OFFLINE  

Dexter

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Landgraaf, Netherlands / Übach-Palenberg, Deutschland

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:33 PM

DIN 5 (midi)   RS232 (TI)

------------   ----------

2              1

4              3 

5              7

 

 

Thanks a lot!

I assume you’re connecting that cable to the back of the PHP1220 RS232 Interface Card?
http://www.unige.ch/...nouts.htm#RS232

 

I'm not sure if I have the original disks, the version I use has been on my hard drive for like forever.
I can try and make a program disk from it if you guys are really interested.

 

 

Are they Bruce Harrison's disks? His version had a lot of improvements.

Midi Album is the best of them, it requires a Supercart or comparable (I wrote a program to autoload it in to the HSGPL). It allows you to select a playlist and listen to hours of TI Midi stuff (you probably need a hard drive for hours of music, though).

 

I do have a Super-Cart, so your version could be of importance. However, I’ve got no SAMS nor hard drive.

 

I've had my share of synths over the years. I'm pretty sure the first ones were without MIDI. First hookup was with the Amiga. :)

 

 

Some good sounds there. ;)

 

 

Most of them, I recognize.  :music:

 

 

I'm guessing this is for Midi-out only? Is there a way to do Midi-in (and use the TI's sound chip as a synthesizer)?

 

I'd guess that too. I'm not sure. :?



#20 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2015 3:30 PM

 

I'm guessing this is for Midi-out only? Is there a way to do Midi-in (and use the TI's sound chip as a synthesizer)?

 

Yes, Midi-out only. There is another configuration for the Midi-in cable which includes a resistor and I don't have any longer so I can't describe it better than that.

 

The Midi-in function is for recording what you play on the keyboard and dumping it in SNF format for editing or recompiling into image files. I believe Bruce's program for that was called "Midi Play In".

 

Gazoo



#21 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:49 PM

I couldn't find the Harrison disks which I know were freeware.  :(

 

Am I violating any copyrights if I upload dsk images of these 2 disks?

Just wanted to check before I did so.

 

Gazoo

 

 

gallery_29515_833_52021.jpg

 

gallery_29515_833_57343.jpg



#22 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,842 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:12 PM

hmm, maybe you mean this toolbox here ?

Attached Files



#23 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,842 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:15 PM

and pls watch out page 15+

 

 

Attached Files



#24 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 3,922 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 1:10 AM

I couldn't find the Harrison disks which I know were freeware.  :(
 
Am I violating any copyrights if I upload dsk images of these 2 disks?
Just wanted to check before I did so.
 
Gazoo


Why the sudden interest in copyrights ?

;)

#25 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 1:23 PM

Here's some SNF files in case anyone's interested.

 

Gazoo

 

Attached File  SNF1.dsk   360KB   13 downloads

Attached File  SNF2.dsk   360KB   13 downloads

Attached File  SNF3.dsk   360KB   13 downloads

 

 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: synthesizer, midi

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users