Jump to content

Photo

CoolCV emulator for Mac OS X, Linux, Windows and Raspberry

Colecovision Emulator Mac Windows

477 replies to this topic

#26 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,724 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:02 PM

That's a little more complicated :)


COMMAND LINE LOVER!!!!!!


(just kidding...) ;)

#27 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,990 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:03 PM

COMMAND LINE LOVER!!!!!!


(just kidding...) ;)

 

:lol: :thumbsup:



#28 TPR OFFLINE  

TPR

    Stargunner

  • 1,714 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:38 PM

 

Anyway to have GUI file-->open for rom

I just went in and associated all my CV roms with the app so I just have to double click on the rom and it auto opens the app.  It's easy to do:

 

Click a rom file.

Right Click > Get Info

Open With > CoolCV.app

Change All

 

I also changed all my icons so that they share the same as the app.  I also have the app in my dock and it's easy to just drag the rom I want onto the icon and it auto-opens!

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2015-07-24 at 19.38.50.png


#29 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,378 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:43 PM

I just went in and associated all my CV roms with the app so I just have to double click on the rom and it auto opens the app.  It's easy to do:

 

Click a rom file.

Right Click > Get Info

Open With > CoolCV.app

Change All

 

I also changed all my icons so that they share the same as the app.  I also have the app in my dock and it's easy to just drag the rom I want onto the icon and it auto-opens!

 

 

how do you change the icon?



#30 TPR OFFLINE  

TPR

    Stargunner

  • 1,714 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:58 PM

 

 

how do you change the icon?

 

First, go to your Applications directory and right click on coolCV and select "get info" and then click on the icon to highlight it then > Edit > Copy

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 01.57.59.png

 

Then go to your directory of roms.  Click Command-A to highlight all your roms and then press Control+Command+I to open the info box for all of them in one box.  Click to highlight the icon they are currently using them go to Edit > Paste and it should change the icon for all of your files.  Easy!

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 01.59.10.png



#31 5-11under OFFLINE  

5-11under

    River Patroller

  • 3,264 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 7:03 AM

How do I run this in Windows 7 (or 10)?



#32 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,990 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 7:40 AM

How do I run this in Windows 7 (or 10)?

 

It's only compiled for Mac at this time. Although given it's using libsdl 2 it would be easily portable to Windows and Linux.



#33 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 755 posts

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:13 AM

How do I run this in Windows 7 (or 10)?


vmware

#34 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,990 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:05 PM

Just compiled for Windows, very early (see first post). This version needs the ROM file to be drag&drop into the window.

 

It looks like Windows isn't so optimized, so if audio gets cut or runs slow then make smaller your window.



#35 TPR OFFLINE  

TPR

    Stargunner

  • 1,714 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:24 PM

Just compiled for Windows, very early (see first post). This version needs the ROM file to be drag&drop into the window.

 

It looks like Windows isn't so optimized, so if audio gets cut or runs slow then make smaller your window.

 

It really IS like Christmas in July!!!



#36 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 755 posts

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:43 PM

thanks work fine for me with win 7

#37 digress OFFLINE  

digress

    Dragonstomper

  • 916 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:48 PM

i KNEW IT WAS COMING. Thanks

 

Just tried it out with some files and my own projects and it works great.  I noticed the music slowdown on a couple of screens like you mentioned. Seemed very compatible.

 

 

 

Just compiled for Windows, very early (see first post). This version needs the ROM file to be drag&drop into the window.

 

It looks like Windows isn't so optimized, so if audio gets cut or runs slow then make smaller your window.



#38 jblenkle ONLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,291 posts

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 9:35 PM


Edit: Jul/25/2015 I compiled this for Windows (very early). Same as Mac version, but you need to drop your ROM file INTO the window. If it's running slow, make smaller the window.

 

Any plans to add joystick support? This emulator is great!!!



#39 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,990 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 10:01 PM

 
Any plans to add joystick support? This emulator is great!!!


I don't have joysticks to test.

BTW, I don't remember when was the last time I used joysticks with a PC, circa 2000?

#40 jblenkle ONLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,291 posts

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 10:10 PM

Joysticks for PCs are quite commonplace these days. I have a USB controller that is shaped like a SNES controller and I love it. I use it for all my emulated gaming. It's much preferable to using arrow keys and keyboard buttons.

 

 

I don't have joysticks to test.

BTW, I don't remember when was the last time I used joysticks with a PC, circa 2000?



#41 Tarzilla OFFLINE  

Tarzilla

    Stargunner

  • 1,917 posts
  • Huh?
  • Location:Alberta, Canada

Posted Sat Jul 25, 2015 11:13 PM

I don't have joysticks to test.
BTW, I don't remember when was the last time I used joysticks with a PC, circa 2000?

Tons of cheap USB controllers.
http://www.amazon.co...rds=Usb oystick

http://www.amazon.co...rds=Usb oystick
Or just get the Ultimate PC interface from Intellivision.us and use your Colecovision or Flashback controllers

http://intellivision...e/interface.php

Edited by Tarzilla, Sat Jul 25, 2015 11:13 PM.


#42 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,990 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:31 AM

Now available Linux version, 32 and 64 bits :)

 

Check 1st post.



#43 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 755 posts

Posted Sun Jul 26, 2015 12:42 PM

 
Any plans to add joystick support? This emulator is great!!!


use joy to keyboard it translate joystick key to keyboard key should work fine

#44 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 755 posts

Posted Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:24 PM

joytokey not working with it 😢

i dont know why arrows keys dont get emulated in coolcv space and M key work with the joystick... we will have to wait for usb support but so far very great emulator for cv

again thanks nanochess

#45 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 755 posts

Posted Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:17 PM

it work with pinnacle game profiler😀

#46 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,990 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:38 PM

Updated Mac OS X version. Check first post.

 

Now supports for controller 2 in keyboard. Higher audio volume. Also implemented support for two joysticks, but not tested. I hope someone could give it a test :)



#47 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,378 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:09 PM

Updated Mac OS X version. Check first post.

 

Now supports for controller 2 in keyboard. Higher audio volume. Also implemented support for two joysticks, but not tested. I hope someone could give it a test :)

 

works for me with my Sega Saturn USB controller.

 

Button A is right action button

Button B is left action button

 

anyway to switch that?  If not it's not a big deal. 

 

Thanks for adding USB controller support.



#48 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,990 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:29 PM

 

works for me with my Sega Saturn USB controller.

 

Button A is right action button

Button B is left action button

 

anyway to switch that?  If not it's not a big deal. 

 

Thanks for adding USB controller support.

 

Just added. By default switched buttons, press Fn+F7 to revert to other state.



#49 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,378 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:36 PM

 

Just added. By default switched buttons, press Fn+F7 to revert to other state.

button A = left action button

button B = right action button

 

still says version is 0.3 Alpha

 

Fn + F7 says it switches, but it does not switch



#50 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,990 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:45 PM

button A = left action button

button B = right action button

 

still says version is 0.3 Alpha

 

Fn + F7 says it switches, but it does not switch

 

Good catch! corrected and updated :) :thumbsup:







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Colecovision, Emulator, Mac, Windows

3 user(s) are browsing this forum

1 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users