Jump to content

Photo

Improved Color For Your 4-Switch Woody: A Public Service Bulletin


52 replies to this topic

#26 rednakes1 OFFLINE  

rednakes1

    Chopper Commander

  • 177 posts
  • Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted Sun Oct 16, 2016 8:37 PM

Okay, so I just tried it on my Rev 13 four-switch woody 2600. Huge difference! Attached is a grid of photos, with the 'Before mod' on the left, and the post-mod on the right. I've also attached a clear photo of the 820 Ohm resistor I soldered on.

Thanks for sharing this mod. Next I will work on an AV mod because the RF is very fuzzy.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_1698.JPG
  • IMG_1700.JPG

Edited by rednakes1, Sun Oct 16, 2016 8:44 PM.


#27 ubersaurus OFFLINE  

ubersaurus

    River Patroller

  • 4,963 posts
  • Location:Maryland

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2016 9:28 PM

I think this is exactly what mine needs - I've noticed the color is off from my Jr, and those photos show the exact colors I see on Pac Man, for example.

#28 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Dragonstomper

  • 948 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Nov 6, 2016 4:31 AM

Yes my 4-switch Sunnyvale with Rev.13 PCB must be missing this resistor too as the colors (despite turning them up to the maximum on my TV) are still not full enough.

Gotta find my resistors....


Edited by Level42, Sun Nov 6, 2016 4:31 AM.


#29 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Dragonstomper

  • 948 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Nov 6, 2016 4:34 AM

Okay, so I just tried it on my Rev 13 four-switch woody 2600. Huge difference! Attached is a grid of photos, with the 'Before mod' on the left, and the post-mod on the right. I've also attached a clear photo of the 820 Ohm resistor I soldered on.

Thanks for sharing this mod. Next I will work on an AV mod because the RF is very fuzzy.

 

You did a very neat job installing that resistor. The isolation tape is not really needed, there is an insulating lacquer layer over the PCB.....but it won't hurt of course :D



#30 rednakes1 OFFLINE  

rednakes1

    Chopper Commander

  • 177 posts
  • Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted Sun Nov 6, 2016 9:35 AM

Thanks for the tip, yeah I eventually removed the tape and it didn't do any harm. One thing I noticed with the video quality is that you may see a row of white dots on the left side of the screen. My 2600 Jr. also has the same effect so I guess it's a symptom of the extra saturation.

#31 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Dragonstomper

  • 948 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 3:34 PM

Mmmm, doing the mod now....your pic really helps (saves counting pins ;) )



#32 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Dragonstomper

  • 948 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 4:20 PM

WOW !!!! What a difference one little resistor can make !!!

 

Finally the Demons of Demon Attack look like I remember them (well, I mean almost like I remember them, I am in PAL territory so I grew up with the (less colorful) PAL 2600 and games, but anyway, the colors are much much richer now !

 

Excellent tip :D Pretty weird is this is _so_ old and must be well known since it was an official Atari bulletin.



#33 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 17,326 posts

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 4:34 PM

Can someone post a pic of Video Pinball running on a modded machine?

#34 ubersaurus OFFLINE  

ubersaurus

    River Patroller

  • 4,963 posts
  • Location:Maryland

Posted Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:36 PM

I've got kinda funky colors on a revision 17 board that had the resistor added on. I don't know if that revision needs it or not, but yeah - some colors are blurry and indistinct, everything is kind of washed out, some colors aren't easily distinguished (like Pitfall Harry's shirt and the background). Anyone know if I should try removing it or not?



#35 mojoatomic OFFLINE  

mojoatomic

    Chopper Commander

  • 185 posts
  • Location:Memphis, TN

Posted Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:25 PM

Yes, remove it - the resistance had been doubled on the board as it already has the resistor from the factory. 



#36 ubersaurus OFFLINE  

ubersaurus

    River Patroller

  • 4,963 posts
  • Location:Maryland

Posted Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:11 PM

Well that is the other thing - there was no resistor already on the underside of the TIA when this was attached. So you're saying that the one designed for the system is already elsewhere on the board?

#37 mojoatomic OFFLINE  

mojoatomic

    Chopper Commander

  • 185 posts
  • Location:Memphis, TN

Posted Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:12 PM

Yes, look at the topside of the board and find R234



#38 ubersaurus OFFLINE  

ubersaurus

    River Patroller

  • 4,963 posts
  • Location:Maryland

Posted Mon Mar 13, 2017 7:26 AM

Cool - I'll give that try tonight. I had my suspicions, but figured I'd check with folks who may know for sure. Thanks!



#39 mojoatomic OFFLINE  

mojoatomic

    Chopper Commander

  • 185 posts
  • Location:Memphis, TN

Posted Mon Mar 13, 2017 7:28 AM

Cool - I'll give that try tonight. I had my suspicions, but figured I'd check with folks who may know for sure. Thanks!

Don't remove R234, just the resistor that was added to the reverse side of the board - 



#40 ubersaurus OFFLINE  

ubersaurus

    River Patroller

  • 4,963 posts
  • Location:Maryland

Posted Mon Mar 13, 2017 7:41 PM

That definitely fixed the color issue. Now if only I could suss out why certain colors seem so fuzzy and indistinct on certain backgrounds (like the blue ghost in Ms. Pac-Man, or Pitfall Harry's shirt), this rev 17 board would be in business.



#41 Kapikui OFFLINE  

Kapikui

    Space Invader

  • 22 posts
  • Location:Idaho, United States

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:45 PM

Is this something for the RF output only, or does it work for the composite mods as well?



#42 Hank Rearden OFFLINE  

Hank Rearden

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:Stanley, North Carolina

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:39 AM

Is this something for the RF output only, or does it work for the composite mods as well?

I've been wonder this same thing myself.



#43 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,959 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:54 PM

I've been wonder this same thing myself.

 

I haven't dug into the schematics but it should work for all video output. With this little tweak, you're literally modding right at the source of the video signal for the entire system, as it leaves the TIA chip.



#44 RamrodHare OFFLINE  

RamrodHare

    Chopper Commander

  • 238 posts
  • Lost in Time.
  • Location:Greeneville TN, USA

Posted Sun Jun 4, 2017 10:01 PM

I've been wondering about this ever since I got my revision 12 board back in a case. It doesn't have the resistor, but from what I've read, it will help the color if I add one, right?

 Also, while I've got the case opened up again, should I go ahead and replace the caps and voltage regulator?

 

 I'm guessing it needs something, since the color is off a bit when compared to my 7800, which is a lot more vibrant and bright.



#45 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 14,813 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Sun Jun 4, 2017 10:33 PM

You guys have me curious. I'm gonna go take another crack at my morning woody. :P

 

Nope. Mine is a revision 12. No resistor underneath the TIA. Picture is good enough. I'm just gonna leave it stock for now.

FYI, I performed the 820ohm resistor mod sometime last year '15 or '16, can't remember, but it was fall. i do not regret it. Makes the colors pop!



#46 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Chopper Commander

  • 147 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sun Jun 4, 2017 11:23 PM

I've been wondering about this ever since I got my revision 12 board back in a case. It doesn't have the resistor, but from what I've read, it will help the color if I add one, right?

 Also, while I've got the case opened up again, should I go ahead and replace the caps and voltage regulator?

 

 I'm guessing it needs something, since the color is off a bit when compared to my 7800, which is a lot more vibrant and bright.

Console5's caps kit includes the 820 resistor and the joystick protection update to keep from wreaking the 4050ic.

 

From console5 site:

"

Service Update Parts:

These updates were included in field service campaigns. Note that depending on revision, not all parts may be necessary for all 2600 models.

  • Pre-Revision 14: A pair of zener diodes and capacitors used for static protection on the trigger lines (J202 & J203). Equivalent to service parts CA018263.
    Each small yellow .1uf cap is soldered across each zener diode.  Each diode/cap combo is then soldered with the diode's stripe end connected to joystick port Pin 6 and the opposite side to the nearest ground plane.
  • Pre-Revision 16: An 820 ohm resistor added as a field service repair across TIA pins 6 and 9 and only incorporated in late-model PCBs. Improves color saturation.

Pre-Revision 14 consoles use a 4050 IC which can go bad and cause joystick button problems.  Most 2600 PCBs do not have the 4050 and we've chosen to make it available separately for cost savings.  The zener/cap parts provided are intended to limit the static issues which cause 4050 failure.

Additional service information available on our wiki page"



#47 RamrodHare OFFLINE  

RamrodHare

    Chopper Commander

  • 238 posts
  • Lost in Time.
  • Location:Greeneville TN, USA

Posted Mon Jun 5, 2017 12:19 AM

Thanks for the link! :thumbsup:



#48 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Chopper Commander

  • 147 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Mon Jun 5, 2017 12:52 AM

Thanks for the link! icon_thumbsup.gif

No problem.

I've put the resistors on a couple early boards and does improve the color - well worth the 30 seconds to install.



#49 RamrodHare OFFLINE  

RamrodHare

    Chopper Commander

  • 238 posts
  • Lost in Time.
  • Location:Greeneville TN, USA

Posted Mon Jun 5, 2017 1:02 AM

No problem.

I've put the resistors on a couple early boards and does improve the color - well worth the 30 seconds to install.

I just ordered the kit. I'm looking forward to seeing the difference the resistor makes. :-D

Whats odd is that on my  HDTVs, the color is really close on the 2600 and the 7800. Where it really stands out is on the CRTs. As an example,  Seaquest on the 7800 connected to my 13 inch CRT, Game mode off, brightness at lowest setting, everything looks great. Now the 2600, I have to turn game mode on and turn the brightness up past halfway to get a similar picture. So if the resistor corrects that so I don't have to adjust the settings on the TV all the time, I'll be a happy camper! :P



#50 atari-dna OFFLINE  

atari-dna

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:Glen Allen, VA

Posted Mon Jun 5, 2017 2:51 PM

I've installed the resistor once, it seemed to help. The "mini" version of the resistor (which has the same characteristics as an older, physically larger resistor) fits nicely. About 10 of these for a dollar at DigiKey. I have a part number if anyone is interested.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users