Jump to content

Photo

High Score Competition (December: St. Nick)


2256 replies to this topic

#1976 Davvel OFFLINE  

Davvel

    Moonsweeper

  • 259 posts
  • Married
  • Location:Malta

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 1:17 PM

I do not know how to do it myself but I am sure someone in this great community can assist you in how to flash a GROM chip with my Bin file. What I think needs to be done is split the BIN file into 5 8K chunks with a binary splitter and then burn the first 5 slots of bank 0 with these 5 split parts. But I do not know how to see the banks and slots in the EPROM programmer you will be using.



#1977 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,910 posts

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 5:19 PM

On this one, I'd have to create a new UberGROM image for this, as anyone trying to update theirs would have to blank the program memory of their UberGROM and reprogram it with the new image. I'll see if I can get the time to build that this weekend (or next weekend, as this one is pretty full-up already with "Honey-Do" tasks).



#1978 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 2:27 AM

Do you start at easy level?or other level?

That's more like it :) Got to the 3rd screen on Crazy level. 
 
attachicon.gifBreak Free HS.jpg


Sent from my VIE-L29 using Tapatalk

#1979 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,456 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 5:10 AM

Do you start at easy level?or other level?
Sent from my VIE-L29 using Tapatalk

 

From a scoring standpoint, it makes little sense to start higher than Easy level and move your way up. That way you can accumulate a healthy amount of lives before tackling the harder levels. You end up rotating through all the levels anyway. For my score I went through all 6 screens on Easy and Normal and made it to the 3rd screen on Crazy. It does take some time though because there are many instances where you are just watching the ball bouncing around while you are protecting the holes, particularly when you have no powerups.



#1980 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,456 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 5:12 AM

On this one, I'd have to create a new UberGROM image for this, as anyone trying to update theirs would have to blank the program memory of their UberGROM and reprogram it with the new image. I'll see if I can get the time to build that this weekend (or next weekend, as this one is pretty full-up already with "Honey-Do" tasks).

 

Jim, one only needs an EPROM burner for this correct?



#1981 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,932 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 11:49 AM

On this one, I'd have to create a new UberGROM image for this, as anyone trying to update theirs would have to blank the program memory of their UberGROM and reprogram it with the new image. I'll see if I can get the time to build that this weekend (or next weekend, as this one is pretty full-up already with "Honey-Do" tasks).

 

shouldn't we be able to just load the grom from GROMCFG? 



#1982 Davvel OFFLINE  

Davvel

    Moonsweeper

  • 259 posts
  • Married
  • Location:Malta

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 12:35 PM

All,

 

For those who will be burning this onto GROM please use this attached file.

 

It has a friendlier menu title.

 

 

Attached Files



#1983 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,910 posts

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 4:48 PM

That works if you use a vanilla UberGROM, @arcadeshopper. That isn't the case here, as I blew the GROMCFG away when I built the image (on purpose).



#1984 jwild OFFLINE  

jwild

    Chopper Commander

  • 114 posts
  • Location:Loveland, Colorado USA

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 6:14 PM

349f4012ee16d02ade72db35786e1733.jpg

I was told a million times
Of all the troubles in my way
Mind you grow a little wiser
Little better every day

Now they say your folks are telling you
Be a super star
But I tell you just be satisfied
Stay right where you are

Keep yourself alive yeah
Keep yourself alive
Ooh, it’ll take you all your time and money
Honey you’ll survive

28158 level 4-1
Real TI



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Edited by jwild, Thu May 10, 2018 6:21 PM.


#1985 Davvel OFFLINE  

Davvel

    Moonsweeper

  • 259 posts
  • Married
  • Location:Malta

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 11:18 AM

349f4012ee16d02ade72db35786e1733.jpg

I was told a million times
Of all the troubles in my way
Mind you grow a little wiser
Little better every day

Now they say your folks are telling you
Be a super star
But I tell you just be satisfied
Stay right where you are

Keep yourself alive yeah
Keep yourself alive
Ooh, it’ll take you all your time and money
Honey you’ll survive

28158 level 4-1
Real TI



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Awesome Score, well done.



#1986 jwild OFFLINE  

jwild

    Chopper Commander

  • 114 posts
  • Location:Loveland, Colorado USA

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 12:31 PM

Awesome Score, well done.


Awesome game. The design of the six different levels, the power ups, the spider boss, the tribute to Queen, the flickering of the demon heads when you hit one of them (like pinball), the shout outs to the user groups, and the overall playability.. I can tell you put a lot of time, effort, and love into the game. Thank you for sharing it with all of us.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#1987 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,298 posts

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 11:11 PM

Are the files available in a format that can be used on real hardware with a gram/grom device, such as the gram kracker, hsgpl, or even a geneve?



#1988 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,932 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 11:52 PM

Are the files available in a format that can be used on real hardware with a gram/grom device, such as the gram kracker, hsgpl, or even a geneve?

 

not yet.. I am messing with trying to get it to work in classic99 where i can run CSAVE and save it as a gk file.. 

 

here's 1.5 loads into my gk fine.. need to get 1.5 converted over to uber to be able to save it as a gk file.. working on it

 

files are v9t9 format

Attached Files



#1989 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 9:23 AM

All,
 
For those who will be burning this onto GROM please use this attached file.
 
It has a friendlier menu title.
 
 

Is there also a FinalGrom .bin version. I tried yesterday this one, I see the selection screen, but then it blanks and game does not start.

Sent from my VIE-L29 using Tapatalk

#1990 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,932 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 9:30 AM

Is there also a FinalGrom .bin version. I tried yesterday this one, I see the selection screen, but then it blanks and game does not start.

Sent from my VIE-L29 using Tapatalk

 

the 1.5 version above works fine for me on my fg99 



#1991 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 1:41 PM

 
the 1.5 version above works fine for me on my fg99 

Okay I will troubleshoot it again, maybe the file did not transfer properly or the nanoPEB is interfering?

Sent from my VIE-L29 using Tapatalk

#1992 wolhess OFFLINE  

wolhess

    Space Invader

  • 32 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 2:06 PM

Okay I will troubleshoot it again, maybe the file did not transfer properly or the nanoPEB is interfering?

Sent from my VIE-L29 using Tapatalk

Hi, I had the same Trouble with my FG99. I started XB and did a CALL INIT. Then Change zo Break Free an it works fine.
I have a TI99 with FG99, Speech Syntheziser and nanoPEB v1 running.



#1993 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts

Posted Sun May 13, 2018 2:48 AM

Hi, I had the same Trouble with my FG99. I started XB and did a CALL INIT. Then Change zo Break Free an it works fine.
I have a TI99 with FG99, Speech Syntheziser and nanoPEB v1 running.

 

I just downloaded the file again and now it works  (I downloaded the .bin file) (and not the .zip file)

(maybe it's because I renamed the file on my PC).


Edited by globeron, Sun May 13, 2018 2:53 AM.


#1994 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,515 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Mon May 14, 2018 6:42 AM

OK. Here's my latest - Broke free twice, don't know what level i made it to after that - screen changed to high score screen too quickly.

With it taking a little over an hour to get here - it's going to be a little bit before my next play session.

 

EDIT:Real Iron w/SlikStik



Attached File  2018-05-14 08.36.51.jpg   418.23KB   9 downloads


Edited by Sinphaltimus, Mon May 14, 2018 6:42 AM.


#1995 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,189 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Mon May 14, 2018 9:50 AM

Nice!!

#1996 blackbox OFFLINE  

blackbox

    Chopper Commander

  • 105 posts
  • Location:England

Posted Mon May 14, 2018 1:44 PM

Just tried the 1.5 bin file on my FG99 and UK TI99/4A.

 

At first attempt opening title screen froze.

 

Did a TI reset using the button on the FG99 and then tried again- I can play for about ten seconds and then the image goes and becomes corrupt- usual crash condition on a TI. Definitely not stable on an FG99.

 

The XB tip above does work - exit XB with BYE to return to title screen, then hit the FG99 left hand button, then select Breakfree.

 

I use a standalone 32k ram plus speech synth plus FG99 and joystick, on a UK 9918A VDP. regards

 

Stephen


Edited by blackbox, Mon May 14, 2018 1:58 PM.


#1997 Davvel OFFLINE  

Davvel

    Moonsweeper

  • 259 posts
  • Married
  • Location:Malta

Posted Mon May 14, 2018 2:00 PM

Just tried the 1.5 bin file on my FG99 and UK TI99/4A.

 

At first attempt opening title screen froze.

 

Did a TI reset using the button on the FG99 and then tried again- I can play for about ten seconds and then the image goes and becomes corrupt- usual crash condition on a TI. Definitely not stable on an FG99.

 

The XB tip above does work - exit XB with BYE to return to title screen, then hit the FG99 left hand button, then select Breakfree.

 

I use a standalone 32k ram plus speech synth plus FG99 and joystick, on a UK 9918A VDP. regards

 

Stephen

Can you try removing everything and leave just FG99 cartridge. This game runs on an unexpanded machine and I am not sure if there is some device that it is interfering with.


Edited by Davvel, Mon May 14, 2018 2:00 PM.


#1998 blackbox OFFLINE  

blackbox

    Chopper Commander

  • 105 posts
  • Location:England

Posted Mon May 14, 2018 2:21 PM

Yep, no 32k and it works a treat with FG99. I seem to recall the docs mentioning this difficulty where bin files may assume a memory state that does not apply- which would explain why the CALL INIT in XBas does the trick. regards Stephen

#1999 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,549 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Thu May 17, 2018 12:24 PM

Hello Guys, half of the month is already past, Jwild seems to have the best, Challenges are still open ! :)

Highscores at 17052018
 
Jwild                028158
Sinphaltimus   024270
Vorticon           022749
Globeron         009124
Volhess            006043


#2000 jwild OFFLINE  

jwild

    Chopper Commander

  • 114 posts
  • Location:Loveland, Colorado USA

Posted Thu May 17, 2018 9:17 PM

3fd11e17aea77ea2a66bff56faa72e31.jpg

Oh, I’m burnin’ through the sky yeah
Two hundred degrees
That’s why they call me Mister Fahrenheit
I’m traveling at the speed of light
I wanna make a supersonic man out of you

Don’t stop me now
I’m having such a good time
I’m having a ball

35365 level 4.4
Real TI



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users