Jump to content

Photo

Starquake


25 replies to this topic

#1 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,813 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:45 AM

Here's a WIP - figured the a8 section has enough of them (waves at Fairlight!) so why not?

 

This one is utterly unplayable because I've not patched the joypad in yet, also has some palette issues, but it looks promising...  it's been a while since I did one of these but it's slowly coming back to me!

 

sq1.png sq2.png sq3.png sq4.png

 

Attached File  SQUAKE.ABS   467.46KB   177 downloads

 

 



#2 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,821 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:England

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:55 AM

:rolling: I loved this game back in the day :D.

#3 rdemming OFFLINE  

rdemming

    Stargunner

  • 1,227 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands, Amstelveen

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:33 AM

I played this game quite a lot on the Atari 8-bit but it was too hard for me even with the Freezer codes for unlimited shots, steps, etc. I figured out. Never played the ST version so when the JoyPad starts working I certainly give it a go.

 

Robert



#4 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ***Moon Patrol 5200*** *Moon Master2015* *Blue Max:Class 4*

  • 7,784 posts
  • *Star Raiders 2* **Captain -CL 2**
  • Location:*Star Raiders * *Star Commander -CL 1*

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:53 AM

Looks fun.  Loved these kind of games.



#5 Jagosaurus OFFLINE  

Jagosaurus

    Dragonstomper

  • 538 posts
  • Location:Houston, TEXAS

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:46 AM

On average how long does a ST Jag port take you these days?

#6 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,813 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:06 AM

On average how long does a ST Jag port take you these days?

 

From the time I start it until its done.



#7 janatari OFFLINE  

janatari

    Space Invader

  • 44 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:26 AM

Perfect ! thx

#8 Jagosaurus OFFLINE  

Jagosaurus

    Dragonstomper

  • 538 posts
  • Location:Houston, TEXAS

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:35 AM

Interesting response lol. Figured you'd have it down to a science.

#9 sh3-rg OFFLINE  

sh3-rg

    River Patroller

  • 3,397 posts
  • doge + tie = dothemath
  • Location:BOLTON, England

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:01 AM

Don't remember this one at all, but it does look like my kind of thing.



#10 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,821 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:England

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:14 AM

Don't remember this one at all, but it does look like my kind of thing.


Did it come with one of the Silica Shop bundles?

#11 sh3-rg OFFLINE  

sh3-rg

    River Patroller

  • 3,397 posts
  • doge + tie = dothemath
  • Location:BOLTON, England

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:34 AM

Did it come with one of the Silica Shop bundles?


Hmmm, not the thing we got... I think ours was the Super Pack or Summer Pack (which ever had Test Drive and Black Lamp). Maybe this game was on an early menu, I'm just drawing a blank.

Weird, I just googled and a post of Atari Forum suggested what I had was the Super Pack... and this game was part of it and on a disk with Xenon... but... nothing... and I only really remember playing Xenon from an Automation menu or something.

Edited by sh3-rg, Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:38 AM.


#12 swapd0 OFFLINE  

swapd0

    Moonsweeper

  • 414 posts

Posted Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:38 PM

I finished this game in my spectrum. I never liked the Atari ST version.



#13 ovalbugmann OFFLINE  

ovalbugmann

    River Patroller

  • 2,440 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, Arizona

Posted Sat Aug 22, 2015 1:15 PM

Cool! Thanks for putting time into this conversion man, looking forward to playing it. :)



#14 madman ONLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,858 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:35 PM

This one is utterly unplayable because I've not patched the joypad in yet

Probably still more playable than Black Out.



#15 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,813 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Aug 22, 2015 7:33 PM

Update time!

 

This one is quite interesting as it doesn't tie to the VBlank... instead it ties to the immediate HBL vector ($68) and reads the screen pointer address to know when to fire certain subroutines.  Tricky little fecker!

 

Anyway, got the title screen to display....

 

sq1.png

 

And the intro....

 

sq2.png

 

And sorted the pseudo raster split for correct colours....

 

sq3.png sq4.png

 

And got the controls working so you can play it....

 

But oh, don't go into the teleporter....

 

sq5.png

 

because you can't enter a code, or exit that screen yet!

 

Attached File  SQUAKE.ABS   467.28KB   156 downloads



#16 ovalbugmann OFFLINE  

ovalbugmann

    River Patroller

  • 2,440 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, Arizona

Posted Sun Aug 23, 2015 1:37 AM

Your making quite fast progress in understanding the code and making the 'redirection' to the cat, very impressive work - thanks for sharing man!!! :D



#17 Sporadic OFFLINE  

Sporadic

    Dragonstomper

  • 538 posts
  • Probably RB+ing
  • Location:UK

Posted Sun Aug 23, 2015 2:27 AM

This is awesome. I wish I had the knowledge to do this.



#18 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,813 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun Aug 23, 2015 6:29 AM

There's no need to understand what any of the code does (although that does help!)

 

It's a matter of finding:

 

 - The VSync routine and any interrupts

 - How the keyboard/joystick is scanned

 - Where the raster splits are

 

The rest is mainly NOPs ;)

 

Steem Boiler Room for the win!



#19 af0l OFFLINE  

af0l

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts

Posted Sun Aug 23, 2015 2:21 PM

Wow, I was just watching a local show on the beginnings of computer age in our little country (Slovenia, which at the time used to be Yugoslavia) the other day. One of the "gurus" that were interviewed in the documentary mentioned this game as his all time favorite and I didn't know about it.

 

Well, now I do. And I'm about to play it on my Jag, too :)

 

Thanks a bunch!



#20 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • 626 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:56 PM

Here are some deco:

 

DVD box sleeve:

VX11.jpg

CD Cover:

pOEZ.jpg

Here is the file ready to burn on CD-R: http://www.filedropper.com/squakejiffi



#21 JaguarBrett OFFLINE  

JaguarBrett

    Chopper Commander

  • 232 posts
  • Location:Newbury Park California

Posted Wed Feb 24, 2016 6:13 PM

Here are some deco:
 
DVD box sleeve:
VX11.jpg
CD Cover:
pOEZ.jpg
Here is the file ready to burn on CD-R: http://www.filedropper.com/squakejiffi


Thx as always Felyx!

#22 UHATEIT OFFLINE  

UHATEIT

    Dragonstomper

  • 629 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:24 PM

Seeing as there is a DVD case and CD print made above for this, was there a CD iso for this released or just the ABS format?



#23 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,813 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:44 PM

I've no idea why they were made. The port isnt finished or even working enough to be playable.

#24 Stephen ONLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,589 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:51 PM

I've no idea why they were made. The port isnt finished or even working enough to be playable.

I thought it was normal in the Jag scene to have shiny boxes and manuals done long before the actual game was complete?



#25 UHATEIT OFFLINE  

UHATEIT

    Dragonstomper

  • 629 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:56 PM

I've no idea why they were made. The port isnt finished or even working enough to be playable.


Thanks for the info. I commented on another ST port thread about the same thing. I saw a bunch of CD cases made for some of the ST ports and couldn't find the Isos for them. Thought it was weird. The others were Mercenary, Action Fighter, Carrier Command, Slam Racer, and this one Starquake.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users