Jump to content

Photo

Popeye Arcade 8-bit conversion

5200 8-bit Popeye

195 replies to this topic

#1 miker OFFLINE  

miker

    Stargunner

  • 1,904 posts
  • Stay Atari!
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland

Posted Tue Aug 25, 2015 10:25 AM

Courtesy of Homesoft.

 

popeye.png

 

Enjoy!

Attached Files


Edited by miker, Tue Aug 25, 2015 10:43 AM.


#2 adam242 OFFLINE  

adam242

    Stargunner

  • 1,016 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:18 AM

Nice! Can't let the 5200 guys have all the fun... ;)



#3 miker OFFLINE  

miker

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,904 posts
  • Stay Atari!
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland

Posted Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:27 AM

Some details regarding 5200 version can be found here: http://atariage.com/...-popeye-arcade/



#4 MrFish ONLINE  

MrFish

  • 5,474 posts

Posted Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:54 AM

Thanks Miker, and Homesoft.

 

As a side-note, this version of Popeye gets its Bluto graphic from this older 5200 hack: 5200 Popeye - New Bluto

 

There's an 8-bit conversion of this one as well, but I forget the source of it. I can post a copy if anyone is interested, although at this point it's just a lesser version of what you see here.



#5 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,951 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Aug 25, 2015 9:33 PM

Love everything about it except bluto has gone ginger!



#6 IndieRetroNews OFFLINE  

IndieRetroNews

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts

Posted Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:13 AM

I can't get the game to start in Altirra, just see the in game screen



#7 bfollett OFFLINE  

bfollett

    Dragonstomper

  • 568 posts

Posted Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:49 PM

I can't get the game to start in Altirra, just see the in game screen

Not trying to be a wise guy, but did you try the START key (F2 in Altirra).?

 

Bob



#8 IndieRetroNews OFFLINE  

IndieRetroNews

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts

Posted Thu Aug 27, 2015 4:47 AM

Not trying to be a wise guy, but did you try the START key (F2 in Altirra).?

 

Bob

 

I'm banging the F2 like a good'n nothing happening



#9 Goochman ONLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,988 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:54 AM

If this was converted from the 5200 maybe try the # or * key :)



#10 bfollett OFFLINE  

bfollett

    Dragonstomper

  • 568 posts

Posted Thu Aug 27, 2015 7:07 AM

 

I'm banging the F2 like a good'n nothing happening

Hmmm, F2 works for me.   What about others?

 

Bob



#11 IndieRetroNews OFFLINE  

IndieRetroNews

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts

Posted Thu Aug 27, 2015 7:32 AM

Hmmm, F2 works for me.   What about others?

 

Bob

 

Only F8 seems to do anything, and yes I've tried my Keyboard out :P

 

I'll try on my powerful PC later and see what happens.



#12 MARIO130XE OFFLINE  

MARIO130XE

    Chopper Commander

  • 189 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Aug 27, 2015 7:59 AM

Popeye... The Arcade Version was one of my very 1st Cabinets I was falling in love with. I really love the game but the Atari 8 bit version always had this sprite collision issue, if you try to punch the bottles. :_(  

At least it looks better than the C64 Version :D but I wish we could have the sprites from the NES Version. :D

 

Anyway, thanks for a very nice mod of a great classic game.  :thumbsup:

 

Greetings

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Popeye.png


#13 IndieRetroNews OFFLINE  

IndieRetroNews

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts

Posted Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:18 AM

All is well, working great on my Windows 10 home PC :)

 

http://www.indieretr...mprovement.html



#14 Centurion OFFLINE  

Centurion

    Chopper Commander

  • 186 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:15 PM

Awesome! I've been playing the Parker Bros. version lately and really enjoying it, but I can't wait to try this. Thanks in advance. :thumbsup:

#15 MARIO130XE OFFLINE  

MARIO130XE

    Chopper Commander

  • 189 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 29, 2015 12:01 AM

Just found this 'Let's compare' clip on youtube. 

 

 

Seems the XL/XE 5200 remake was one of the best.  :thumbsup:  :D


Edited by MARIO130XE, Sat Aug 29, 2015 12:01 AM.


#16 TwiliteZoner OFFLINE  

TwiliteZoner

    Dragonstomper

  • 693 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted Sun Sep 6, 2015 7:02 PM

Thanks to Homesoft and Miker.



#17 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 10,927 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Sun Sep 6, 2015 8:36 PM

Just found this 'Let's compare' clip on youtube. 

 

Seems the XL/XE 5200 remake was one of the best.  :thumbsup:  :D

Okay, Apple II Bluto runs like Conan in Pale Force 

 

https://youtu.be/B5z_Hv4NAAI?t=37



#18 McKong OFFLINE  

McKong

    River Patroller

  • 2,166 posts

Posted Tue Sep 8, 2015 12:48 AM

Nice work, we're playing this over in the A8-bit HSC


Edited by McKong, Tue Sep 8, 2015 12:57 AM.


#19 jblenkle OFFLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,937 posts

Posted Tue Sep 8, 2015 6:24 PM

Yeah, F2 works for me too.

 

Hmmm, F2 works for me.   What about others?

 

Bob



#20 jblenkle OFFLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,937 posts

Posted Tue Sep 8, 2015 6:25 PM

Popeye - 17,690

joe's popeye - 17,690.png



#21 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    High Score Club Overlord and Caretaker

  • 8,305 posts
  • still bl**dy assembling
  • Location:The Atariage High Score Club World HQ

Posted Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:03 AM

Popeye - 17,690

bet you meant to post this in the HSC thread eh? :-D

 

Had Popeye go through a heart or whatever the falling things are on the first screen (might have been two near each other) but more seriously: when waking left on the 2nd screen (on long plaftorm) with spinnach and Brutus was walking left, I went straight through him - usually I punch him but I wasn't paying attention and forgot! (Playing on PAL 130XE). How about improving that Olive signature too ;)



#22 jblenkle OFFLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,937 posts

Posted Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:20 AM

Ack! that's where I thought I had posted it.

 

bet you meant to post this in the HSC thread eh? :-D

 

Had Popeye go through a heart or whatever the falling things are on the first screen (might have been two near each other) but more seriously: when waking left on the 2nd screen (on long plaftorm) with spinnach and Brutus was walking left, I went straight through him - usually I punch him but I wasn't paying attention and forgot! (Playing on PAL 130XE). How about improving that Olive signature too ;)



#23 darryl1970 OFFLINE  

darryl1970

    Dragonstomper

  • 854 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:29 PM

I created a Brutus player a long time ago to replace the current A8.

(It wasn't very pretty back in the day, and I didn't change the color register; so black still didn't show up well)

I made this a few months ago.  I was thinking about hacking the A8 again (as well as some other system),

and I drew this with the A8 player maker.

 

I happened upon this thread and figured I would offer this up if interested.  I know I'd never take the time to reproduce such an awesome Popeye title screen.  That is impressive!

 

I only have the walking frames completed, but I would be more than happy finish off the other frames if these could be used.

I always hated that his head looked like an "S" or a number "5".

This uses two players.  When the brown and violet overlap, it produces a flesh color.

BrutusA8.gif

Popeye... The Arcade Version was one of my very 1st Cabinets I was falling in love with. I really love the game but the Atari 8 bit version always had this sprite collision issue, if you try to punch the bottles. :_(  

At least it looks better than the C64 Version :D but I wish we could have the sprites from the NES Version. :D

 

Anyway, thanks for a very nice mod of a great classic game.  :thumbsup:

 

Greetings

 

 


Edited by darryl1970, Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:33 PM.


#24 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,162 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:31 PM

I like that.  Looks pretty good.



#25 bfollett OFFLINE  

bfollett

    Dragonstomper

  • 568 posts

Posted Mon Sep 14, 2015 4:26 PM

attachicon.gifpopeye.png

 

Anyone else feel cheated that there's no "Toot Toot" when the opening graphic appears?

 

Bob


Edited by bfollett, Mon Sep 14, 2015 4:27 PM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 5200, 8-bit, Popeye

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users