Jump to content

Photo

The Wanderers WIP

C64 RPG new game WIP

85 replies to this topic

#76 Link6415 OFFLINE  

Link6415

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 131 posts
  • balls-deep in the 6502
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:50 AM

GREAT NEWS!

I'm done with graphics (although I'll make a new font soon, for now I'm using ATASCII), and more importantly, THE LEVEL GENERATOR IS COMPLETE! Yay!

It's not much, but I'm proud of it. :)

It took around 120 lines of code and only takes 32 seconds to generate a level. I'll have some pics up later today, but that's all for now.

#77 Link6415 OFFLINE  

Link6415

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 131 posts
  • balls-deep in the 6502
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:31 PM

Other than the font, I won't be changing the graphics anymore, though I have to make sprites for monsters still. Here's a mockup with filters:


Attached File  photostudio_1460942676995.jpg   107.93KB   1 downloads

Edited by Link6415, Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:32 PM.


#78 OmegaPrime OFFLINE  

OmegaPrime

    Star Raider

  • 53 posts

Posted Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:55 PM

Looking good can't wait to see some other assets.



#79 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 8,072 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:08 AM

Interesting patterns/colours. Which program do you use to create mock-ups? Also, is that a map mode or have you shrunk the rooms to that size?


Edited by carlsson, Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:08 AM.


#80 Link6415 OFFLINE  

Link6415

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 131 posts
  • balls-deep in the 6502
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:46 AM

Interesting patterns/colours. Which program do you use to create mock-ups? Also, is that a map mode or have you shrunk the rooms to that size?


I use Pixcen, a c64 bitmap editor for the mockups. First I take a screenshot in VICE, then I import it in Pixcen, and then I set Pixcen to "unrestricted" mode (which removes cell color restraints) to draw the sprites. And technically yes, I shrunk the rooms, but it's like Telengard in that you move between rooms, but not in them, so it doesn't effect gameplay too much. And you are told the room's contents and shown sprites that represent them.

Edited by Link6415, Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:47 AM.


#81 Link6415 OFFLINE  

Link6415

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 131 posts
  • balls-deep in the 6502
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:37 PM

Other than the font, I won't be changing the graphics anymore

I lied!
Attached File  photostudio_1461201500796.jpg   174.07KB   1 downloads
I decided that the graphics I had were (while nice and simple) a bit bland. This has more detail and color, and looks much better. It's supposed to be a hedge maze, I was inspired by the box art for "Adventure" on the 2600. I'll still have to do a new font in the future.

#82 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 8,072 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:44 AM

Hm, are you using extended colour mode with 64 definable characters? It looks like the outer border is yellow/green and then the inner room is red with a black outline, which in my book requires a such mode. You might get away with multicolour mode too, but at half the horizontal resolution. Will you use raster timing to switch graphics mode at the bottom for the text display?

 

Or... well, I sincerely hope you're not doing this in hires plotting mode.



#83 Link6415 OFFLINE  

Link6415

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 131 posts
  • balls-deep in the 6502
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:34 PM

are you using extended colour mode


Yes

#84 OmegaPrime OFFLINE  

OmegaPrime

    Star Raider

  • 53 posts

Posted Sat May 28, 2016 7:28 PM

Any update on this project Link?



#85 Link6415 OFFLINE  

Link6415

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 131 posts
  • balls-deep in the 6502
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Sat May 28, 2016 8:21 PM

I finished the actual game part (level generation, monster encounters, etc.) but found that it wasn't very hard or fun. Way too simple. I decided not to even bother with the scrolling text box, title screen, music, or anything beyond the basic framework until I could figure out a way to make it more interesting. Since I love the lo res PLOT functions and HLIN/VLIN of AppleSoft BASIC, I made my own versions for the C64. I finished that about a week ago. Just yesterday, I finished a random maze generator written in AppleSoft BASIC. I am currently working on converting the AppleSoft code to C64 code (with the help of my custom plotting routines).

I didn't want to post anything more until I had a demo of the maze generator up and running on the C64 with player and monster party movement plus objects (and even then, I was going to make a new thread) but those things shouldn't take to long to implement into the new version, so I may be able to show some stuff in the next few days. If anyone is interested in the maze generator (which generates an actual maze, not rooms that can branch off in random directions like my boring first version) I'd love to explain how it works, and could show you the completed AppleSoft version.

#86 Link6415 OFFLINE  

Link6415

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 131 posts
  • balls-deep in the 6502
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Wed Jun 1, 2016 4:48 PM

Alright, here's a cool update.

 

A few days ago, I finished converting the Applesoft code to C64 BASIC/machine code mishmash. But I thought the maze looked a bit too small. Today, I finished a routine to plot individual pixels onto an artificial bitmap (which is made up of characters). After making a new version of the maze generator, I'll be able to have a much larger maze (2*2 pixel blocks as opposed to 8*8 pixel characters.)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: C64, RPG, new game, WIP

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users