Jump to content

Photo

Cortex BASIC in 80 Column


83 replies to this topic

#51 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Sat Nov 28, 2015 7:19 PM

It is the same board as used with XB 2.7--and it works well with 512K images as well, but ONLY if it has one of the quarter-circle green stickers on it!  If it doesn't, all you have to do is change out the 25LS07 with a 74LS378 and test it that way to see if it starts in the first or last banks.

 

Is $1.70 a piece in a quantity of 5 a good deal on these, or have you sourced a better deal?

 

<< SOURCE HERE >>



#52 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Sat Nov 28, 2015 7:22 PM

This BASIC is a little weird... you have to type TEXT to get the same result as CALL CLEAR or CLS! deep-thinking-smiley-emoticon.gif

Hey, Authur..... try "COLOUR 15,4" it works in a program or in input mode.. neat.



#53 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,910 posts

Posted Sat Nov 28, 2015 9:34 PM

Here's one possibility, and here is another. I usually buy in larger quantities, so the price per chip is a little lower. The two I identified here are probably the best for low-volume buyers. . .



#54 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Sat Nov 28, 2015 9:44 PM

That first one looks pretty sweet, thanks.  I'm going to bookmark that one ... I can't say that I need 17 of them though (at least at the moment).



#55 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Sun Nov 29, 2015 12:25 PM

I made a quick little video as a way to grab attention to the TI... and Cortex BASIC became the star...

 



#56 aftyde OFFLINE  

aftyde

    Chopper Commander

  • 246 posts

Posted Tue Dec 8, 2015 12:20 AM

Yay - I made my Coretex 80 Cart!  You guys rock - and this is super cool!



#57 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,826 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Tue Dec 8, 2015 9:37 PM

Yay - I made my Coretex 80 Cart!  You guys rock - and this is super cool!

 

That's awesome! Congratulations!

 

This basic has some cool features like PLOT.  It reminds me more of the Apple II basic I used at school one year. That was the only other basic I spent any time on besides TI-XB. 



#58 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Tue Dec 8, 2015 9:47 PM

I'd still like to see some ready-made and ready to run programs for this BASIC showing off it's capabilities.



#59 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 803 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Wed Dec 9, 2015 3:36 AM

I'd still like to see some ready-made and ready to run programs for this BASIC showing off it's capabilities.

 

I've got a couple I can provide. What would be the best way to provide them? If you're using Classic99 then you could copy them from a text file and 'paste' them, but what would be a good solution for those using real hardware? A .tidisk disk image?



#60 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Wed Dec 9, 2015 4:08 AM

 

I've got a couple I can provide. What would be the best way to provide them? If you're using Classic99 then you could copy them from a text file and 'paste' them, but what would be a good solution for those using real hardware? A .tidisk disk image?

 

Thank you Stuart!  Any format that you want to use is fine, both Aftyde and I can use or convert just about anything.



#61 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 803 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Wed Dec 9, 2015 6:04 PM

Added a .zip file containing the program listings to my web page: <http://www.avjd51.ds...IC Programs.zip>.

 

See the @Program Descriptions.txt file within the zip file for program descriptions. All the programs were typed in or developed on my TM990 system but many will run on the TI-99/4A without modification. Those that interact with the hardware such as the SID chip will require modification to run on the TI-99/4A - I leave these for the reader to experiment with. You will have to work out a way to enter these listings on your system if you don't simply want to type them in (hint: if you're using the Classic99 simulator, copy the text listing to the clipboard then use the Edit > Paste command to 'type' them in).

 

Most of these will require you to use the cartridge version of Cortex BASIC - there won't be enough RAM available if you use the disk version.


Edited by Stuart, Wed Dec 9, 2015 6:38 PM.


#62 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Wed Dec 9, 2015 6:32 PM

Ran out of memory in CLASSIC 99 while trying to port Eliza over...

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  OOPS!.JPG   44.49KB   2 downloads
  • Attached File  RI.JPG   54.44KB   2 downloads


#63 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 803 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Wed Dec 9, 2015 6:39 PM

--- Ω ---, on 10 Dec 2015 - 12:32 AM, said:

Ran out of memory in CLASSIC 99 while trying to port Eliza over...

 

 

You need to use the cartridge version of Cortex BASIC - I'm guessing you're using the disk version. Have added that to my post above.



#64 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Wed Dec 9, 2015 6:57 PM

 

You need to use the cartridge version of Cortex BASIC - I'm guessing you're using the disk version. Have added that to my post above.

 

Yep, that's what I was using!  I'll download it.... THANKS!

 

Which post number?

Attached Files



#65 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,351 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Wed Dec 9, 2015 9:04 PM

Why is that a Classic99 memory limitation?

#66 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Wed Dec 9, 2015 10:30 PM

Why is that a Classic99 memory limitation?

 

Well, technically it's NOT a limitation of Classic99 now that you mention it.  I suppose I really should have been more clear. :dunce: 

 My BAD!  Begin yer pardon sir.  Actually if I had a simulated cartridge version, all would have been copacetic.  The memory limitation was due to me using the DISK VERSION of the Cortex BASIC which uses memory in such a way that it severely limits available space for programs.  



#67 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,936 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Jan 10, 2016 3:40 PM

Finally had time to make an 80col cart, boots without issue on my nanopeb f18a 4/a..

Greg


I've updated the Cortex BASIC program so it should now work in 80 column text mode on a 4A with the F18A. I've tested in Classic99 - anyone able to test on the "real iron" to save me having to dig my console out and strip it down?
 
Zip file attached with:
-- 40 and 80 column versions in TIFILES(?) and TiDisk formats. Should load with E/A option 3.
-- 40 and 80 column versions in binary format for burning to EPROM for a Guidry 64K cartridge (32K 27[C]256 EPROM and a 74LS379 ).
 
Program details here BUT I haven't updated the disk download on this page yet until I know the 80 column version works - use the zip file attached below: [http://www.avjd51.ds...ti.htm#programs].
 
attachicon.gifCortex BASIC 40 and 80 Column.zip



#68 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Tue Jan 12, 2016 11:05 AM

Stuart,

   I'm curious, since you're The Man when it comes to Cortex BASIC and you've also developed the amazing Internet browser, I'm wondering if both could be put into a cartridge and linked to work together in some way via a special command.

   I had this idea pop into my head that while connecting to a browser compatible webpage, clicking on a specific kind of link would download a program and then switch to Cortex BASIC that would run the program, when finished click an option in the program that would activate the specific command to instantly switch back to the browser.  If possible, oh man the possibilities!



#69 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 803 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:20 PM

It's on my list to do some sort of download-and-save-to-disk feature for program files. The browser and Basic could probably be put into the same cartridge but an awful lot of faffing about sorting out the source so it can still be updated and making umpteen different cartridge image formats. I'll have a think about it.

 

New version of the browser available soon. You might want to get some clean underwear ready, Ohm ... ;-)



#70 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:27 PM

 

New version of the browser available soon. You might want to get some clean underwear ready, Ohm ... ;-)

 

Ooooooh, that my friend say's a LOT!  It must be uber-fantastic if you think it'll make me soil myself!  You've just raised the bar of expectation higher than you could ever know!   :D

 

Care to give me a hint or two?   :)



#71 Willsy OFFLINE  

Willsy

    River Patroller

  • 3,086 posts
  • Location:Uzbekistan (no, really!)

Posted Wed Jan 13, 2016 3:25 AM

We're all waiting in antici......................pation!

#72 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 803 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Wed Jan 13, 2016 9:25 AM

We're all waiting in antici......................pation!

 

Another fan of the Rocky Horror Picture Show?



#73 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,910 posts

Posted Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:22 PM

Aren't we all? I even went to see the live stage version with the original London cast. . .


Edited by Ksarul, Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:22 PM.


#74 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 803 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:58 PM

Ksarul, on 14 Jan 2016 - 12:22 AM, said:

Aren't we all? I even went to see the live stage version with the original London cast. . .

 

I just have to ask, Jim, did you 'dress' for the event?  ;-)



#75 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,178 posts

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 10:15 AM

Stuart,

   I have a question concerning your Cortex BASIC.  I love the 80 column F18A compatibility, but the 14262 byte limitation...  

So, I was wondering, do you think it's possible for some kind of control program  to be written for the 1284P to work with the 1meg Super AMS Ksarul is making?   I'm currently using mine on a blue board, so I was thinking that *IF* it was possible, Cortex BASIC80 would be smokin' with who knows how much more memory to work with.. 64K, 128K, 512K, more?   Just another idea... 






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users