Jump to content

Photo

Atari ST Games Ported to the Jaguar


1159 replies to this topic

#1151 leech OFFLINE  

leech

    Stargunner

  • 1,202 posts

Posted Thu Aug 9, 2018 11:01 AM

 

The -skunk locked ones look for a Skunkboard, so won't work under emulation.

 

I'm not releasing unlocked ROMs due to them immediately appearing on ebay when I do. (First post updated)

I seriously hate how some few assholes have to spoil it for the rest of us.

So the other day I was looking through the for sale/wanted forums on atari-forums.com and saw an ST dev kit for the 2600, talk about looking like something fun to play with!  Pretty sure most people these days just use emulators for home brew 2600 games.  Just as I believe you're using VirtualJaguar, right?  Or do you have an actual Jaguar Dev kit? 

 

I know the original kits were done on the TT. 

 

I *still* need to actually use my skunkboard!  Been nervous using my Jaguar since I need the updated SCART cable for my OSSC first, most of the usually places say they haven't built up any new cables yet, but were working on them.



#1152 Sapicco OFFLINE  

Sapicco

    Dragonstomper

  • 725 posts

Posted Thu Aug 9, 2018 2:35 PM

Isnt it the people who are buying them thats the problem?

#1153 leech OFFLINE  

leech

    Stargunner

  • 1,202 posts

Posted Thu Aug 9, 2018 2:58 PM

Isnt it the people who are buying them thats the problem?


I wouldn't say that. If I didn't follow this thread, I would assume there is a new homebrew sold on eBay, not knowing that is just some jerk producing cartridges off of someone else's work.

#1154 Stage_1_Boss OFFLINE  

Stage_1_Boss

    Dragonstomper

  • 843 posts
  • The key is in the skull.
  • Location:U.S.

Posted Thu Aug 9, 2018 4:56 PM

Yeah, most people in my retro game circle that are into Jaguar or picking up games at times rarely check forums like this for releases.

#1155 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,317 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Thu Aug 9, 2018 10:41 PM

Just as I believe you're using VirtualJaguar, right?  Or do you have an actual Jaguar Dev kit? 

 

I use pretty much all methods to code and debug things.  VirtualJaguar, Skunkboard, BJL and Jagtopus :)



#1156 Stage_1_Boss OFFLINE  

Stage_1_Boss

    Dragonstomper

  • 843 posts
  • The key is in the skull.
  • Location:U.S.

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:42 AM

 

I use pretty much all methods to code and debug things.  VirtualJaguar, Skunkboard, BJL and Jagtopus :)

He even has one of those machines like in Willy Wonka where he can digitize himself and inspect the game in person..



#1157 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,317 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:55 AM

He even has one of those machines like in Willy Wonka where he can digitize himself and inspect the game in person..

 

Gotta be careful you don't get hit by the next frame, much easier to dodge that in Supercross, though ;)



#1158 LinkoVitch OFFLINE  

LinkoVitch

    River Patroller

  • 2,504 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:57 AM

See Reboot games could have much higher frame rates if the Jag wasn't spending so much of it's resources on digital CJ dodging frames, causing a frame tailback! :D



#1159 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,090 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:22 PM

See Reboot games could have much higher frame rates if the Jag wasn't spending so much of it's resources on digital CJ dodging frames, causing a frame tailback! :D

GPU in  Main­™ won't solve the framerate issue?



#1160 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,317 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:36 PM

GPU in  Main­™ won't solve the framerate issue?

 

No, but multi-threaded octa-buffering might help ramp it up ;)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users