Jump to content

Photo

Super TI-99 Mario Bros (F18A required)


88 replies to this topic

#26 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:10 PM

This background originates from Super Mario World for the SNES:

 

 

It looks a bit odd with the original clouds in the foreground layer, but I prefer to keep the original graphics intact so I can make an option to switch off the background. What do you think?

Attached Files



#27 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Fri Jan 29, 2016 6:37 PM

I think it is a nice touch.  But then, I am also not a Nintendo purist :)



#28 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 3,964 posts

Posted Fri Jan 29, 2016 7:21 PM

I like it with the multiple layers of clouds--some moving and some not.



#29 Imperious OFFLINE  

Imperious

    Chopper Commander

  • 169 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia

Posted Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:30 AM

The foreground clouds look unnatural moving the way they do at the same speed as the foreground level graphics. I imagine with them turned

off it would look a bit more real, or at least moving a bit slower.



#30 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 9,938 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Sun Jan 31, 2016 7:33 AM

The foreground clouds look unnatural moving the way they do at the same speed as the foreground level graphics. I imagine with them turned

off it would look a bit more real, or at least moving a bit slower.

 

 I find them a bit distracting. As the character moves, the clouds move or stop when the character stops or goes backwards. 



#31 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun Jan 31, 2016 11:15 AM

 

 I find them a bit distracting. As the character moves, the clouds move or stop when the character stops or goes backwards. 

 

Well, that's how the original game works. My plan is to add an option to disable the new background, but the foreground will stay as it is.  :)



#32 am1933 OFFLINE  

am1933

    Stargunner

  • 1,033 posts
  • Location:U.K

Posted Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:45 PM

Speaking as a person who has played the original and Mario World more than would be considered healthy-I think it looks good, the only thing I am not too sure about is the mixing of SNES back grounds with NES foregrounds and sprites, it looks a little "off" style wise.

Makes no difference though if it is to be a switchable option.

Still a great showcase of the F18 in action regardless.



#33 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Feb 6, 2016 6:08 PM

OMG, I tried to upload a new video to YouTube and the SMB music theme was matched to copyrighted material from Ni****do. Anyway, better you try it yourself. You can now become fire Mario + a lot of other fixes.

 

Pressing B will toggle the background. 

Attached Files



#34 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sat Feb 6, 2016 8:55 PM

OMG, I tried to upload a new video to YouTube and the SMB music theme was matched to copyrighted material from Ni****do.

 

Seems like a compliment.

 

I think I converted my videos to FLV to upload to AA.



#35 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Sun Feb 7, 2016 7:16 AM

Pretty much everything is matched these days... unless it was a copyright strike I'd say don't worry about it. :)

#36 TheMole OFFLINE  

TheMole

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Tue Feb 9, 2016 8:58 AM

Your player physics are spot on, by the way. I always hated how long it takes for Mario to gain/lose momentum, and I hate it in this version as much as in the original ;).



#37 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Tue Feb 9, 2016 12:23 PM

The latest version (attached) allows you to become invincible if you can find the star. 

Attached Files



#38 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 2,593 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Tue Feb 9, 2016 10:43 PM

Looking fantastic  :thumbsup:  Are you planning on implementing all  8 levels as well as the 4 sub-levels in each?



#39 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Tue Feb 9, 2016 11:52 PM

Looking fantastic  :thumbsup:  Are you planning on implementing all  8 levels as well as the 4 sub-levels in each?

 

Thanks. At this point I can only say that I intend to do more than I have already done, but I can't tell you exactly how much more.  ;)



#40 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Tue Feb 9, 2016 11:59 PM

Are you using the F18A sprite linking features?  The idea was to make doing larger sprites easier.  Are you planning to avoid the GPU?  If not, it might be a good candidate to do the collision detection calculations.

 

I do use the GPU now, to split tile layer 2 between a scrolling and a non-scrolling region (using the HSYNC trigger). This leaves tile layer 1 for the background, which is just show-off (of the F18A's capabilities, that is   :)) and has no real influence on the game play (except it makes a few things more difficult to see). I have left the background off by default but it can be toggled using the B key.



#41 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:56 PM

The latest version includes many more sound effects, a better ending, and additional points when you stomp multiple enemies. World 1-1 should now be close to complete except for the small bonus room, which is my next project. I'm almost at 8K of assembly program (excluding graphics), and a have about 3K of the 32K left in total. I do wonder how they managed on a NES system with only 2K onboard RAM?

 

I noticed that sometimes fire Mario cannot hit any enemies with his fire balls. Please let me know if you can reproduce this issue. 

 

Updates source code in post #1.

Attached Files



#42 TheMole OFFLINE  

TheMole

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Fri Feb 12, 2016 3:28 AM

I do wonder how they managed on a NES system with only 2K onboard RAM?


I'm guessing it was a lot more hard-coded than what you're doing. I found this, but not sure how usable it is: http://datacrystal.r...o_Bros.:RAM_map

#43 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Fri Feb 12, 2016 7:25 AM

The low memory was one reason for never being able to go backwards -- it only had to track the things currently on the screen. :)

#44 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Feb 12, 2016 9:26 AM

I'm guessing it was a lot more hard-coded than what you're doing. I found this, but not sure how usable it is: http://datacrystal.r...o_Bros.:RAM_map

 

Thanks, it's very interesting to me.



#45 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Feb 12, 2016 9:37 AM

The low memory was one reason for never being able to go backwards -- it only had to track the things currently on the screen. :)

 

I'm saving the changes to the metatiles in the map (in RAM), but I guess it could be avoided by reading from VDP memory for collision checking instead. But this breaks with a principle I always try to follow: the screen display is only a rendering of the model, the game should in theory run without it. So I never read from VDP RAM if I can avoid it - the only exception is the hardware sprite collision flag which you sometimes have to use for performance reasons.



#46 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Fri Feb 12, 2016 3:27 PM

Nothing wrong with that! The NES doesn't have tons of VDP RAM either.. I just meant they don't track any map changes once they leave the left edge of the screen. :)

#47 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:43 PM

Finally a new video, recorded with a pocket camera from the real hardware:

 



#48 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Feb 13, 2016 2:42 AM

Nothing wrong with that! The NES doesn't have tons of VDP RAM either.. I just meant they don't track any map changes once they leave the left edge of the screen. :)

 

According to this page the map was not even stored as a map but as a list of rectangles (x, y, w, h) of metatiles:

http://jul.rustedlog...ad.php?id=15239

 

Edit: After giving this more thought, storage as rectangles seems like a very awkward data structure for unpacking a column of map data. A vertical RLE would be much more appropriate.



#49 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:31 AM

Yeah, I thought it was vertical columns! I just can't remember where I read everything. No worries -- you have more than 2k, do what works for you. So far, it has worked well! ;)

#50 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,187 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:22 PM

i noted some lag when i jumped on top of the second group of baddies will try and reproduce (real hw)


Edited by arcadeshopper, Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:22 PM.





1 user(s) are browsing this forum

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users